1987 Honda Accord Reviews - Page 4 of 23

1987 Honda Accord LXi from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired184000 miles
Most recent distance298000 miles

Summary:

Great car for the money, and saves you money in the long run

Faults:

No major problems with this car, have had to replace the alternator 3+ times, but that was coming from a poor rebuild manufacturer. I love this car!

General Comments:

Everything leaks on my car, but I still love it. It still gets great gas mileage, still runs and is reliable except for the leakings, I love it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd October, 2007

22nd Oct 2007, 14:26

I am an original owner of a 1986 Honda Accord LXI. I have maintained this car very well.

A/C does not work. Fan that comes on after engine is off does not work.

I am going to put this car for sale and am wondering what a fair asking price would be.

If anyone can answer,

I would appreciate the help.

Thanks

22nd Oct 2007, 19:43

Check out the video on you tube called "moon and back chronicles" vol 1-10. In these videos a man drives his Honda to 500,000 miles.

24th Oct 2007, 22:35

Hi my name is john sealey I will buy it off of you for $300.00 you can call me at any time phone number is (740) 319-1719 or (740) 753-1125, (740) 707-4813 thanks.

1987 Honda Accord LX from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

It is a reliable and great, but it's an old car!!!

Faults:

New battery -- 125000, 150000.

Oil leak -- 130,000.

Brake cylinder leak -- 135000.

Back brakes -- 140,000 miles.

Gas leak -- 140000.

New gas tank -- 150000.

General Comments:

I have had this car since 2004. It was my first car. I am buying a newer car very soon. Not because my honda has gone out, because it's a very reliable car, but the style is just getting too old! I have to catch up with everyone else. Besides the way it looks, OLD!!

It's a very reliable car; I've only had to put like $500 dollars in to this car. My boyfriend has fixed most of the things that I have listed above.

I only paid $1200 for this car, so I got a great deal! It lasted me a while, and now it can last someone else a while...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

1987 Honda Accord LXi 2.0 A20A3 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 A20A3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles

Summary:

19 years old? More like 19 years left on it!

Faults:

The car had an unusual hard-starting problem. Never solved this one. Did a Minor Tune-Up, replaced the Starter Motor and Solenoid and did not pursue (lost car before I had the chance to).

The sunroof leaked on a few occasions.

The old UNGO Alarm that came with it was a little quirky.

The windows moved at an incredibly slow speed, with the passenger side often getting jammed and stop moving completely.

General Comments:

This 87 Accord LXi was my very first car and though I may have overpaid the Blue Book value just slightly, it was in my opinion a great car and a great buy.

The most notable feature I can recall that I absolutely loved, was the steering. I could whip the steering wheel around like nothing, parking was TOO easy.

Even though my Accord had 164k miles on it (no engine swap), the thing drove like it was brand new. An old friend who used to buy and sell cars drove it for a bit and came back to me saying, "This car is EXTREMELY responsive for a 4 banger." When I was at a stop and I barely tapped on the pedal it felt like the car had muscle.. weird? It even handled freeway driving like it was NOTHING at all. I remember driving back home from my girlfriends house all the time, goin' 85, zooming by all the cars, just trying to get home on time.

My Accord had an automatic transmission and it had just enough kick from the tranny switching to make me happy. Though if there was anymore kick i'd of probably tried to fix it somehow.

It's handling around curves is definitely not one of it's best features, I'll leave that part of my review at that.

So in summary, what I am trying to say is that regardless of my car being 19 years old, I loved it. Honda truly makes beautiful cars, and the Accord may damn well be one of the finest economical cars out there. At 164k miles the Engine and Tranny were both strong. If not for the car getting totalled, I am sure it would have had a whole second life left in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2006

16th Dec 2006, 22:51

Sweet! I just bought an '87 accord lx-i today for 350 bucks... no rust at all and the engine runs like its brand new! The guy just wanted to get rid of it.

12th May 2007, 18:54

I bought a 87' Accord LX-i Hatch last week for $250 235k miles.

12th Apr 2008, 17:30

I'm about to take ownership of an 86' Accord LXi with 116k for $1000... can't wait. The car is in great shape and everything works! Only problems are passenger power mirror doesn't work and the rear bumper is coming loose, but that's an easy fix.

2nd Dec 2008, 22:36

Old school Accord's rule!!!

1st Sep 2009, 13:54

Just bought 86 Honda Accord Lxi June 09 @ 92,000 miles. First Honda car ever. Amazed! Also, seems way faster than advertised horse power? Just added silicone spray to slow moving power window track. Saw complaints about pwr windows moving slow or sticking?.. Silicone renewed the ease of roll up and down to window mechanism.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 75 reviews