2000 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 from North America


Will not buy another Honda


I have so many false CEL problems with this Honda Odyssey.

First CEL for P1456, replaced catalytic converter, still did not fix the problem.

Then CEL P17xx for transmission, replaced a new trans. for $3k, and still not fixed the CEL.

Now it's time for inspection again, and it failed. Well, this will be my last Honda I own in my life.

General Comments:

Stuck with the car, so I have to suck it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2010

2000 Honda Odyssey EX from North America


Very good van


I own a 2000 Odyssey EX.

Two weeks ago we had snow in Georgia, it was very cold. My wife tried to open the driver's side sliding door with the control inside the van; the one on the left side of the driver side, but because it didn't open, she tried to open it manually, and after that we were not able to open it, until I had to replace the EGR valve, so I unplugged the battery, and after I finished, one of my kids opened the door, and it opened beautifully. So unplugging the battery can fix several problems that the onboard computer produces as a safety future, so thank you, and GOD bless the internet. Take care.

General Comments:

Great car for traveling with your family.

Good on gas.

However it's too low to the ground with three people in the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2010

2000 Honda Odyssey EX 3.5 from North America


The engine light keeps coming on. This is the third time the engine light has come on after twice my dealer replaced parts that they said are causing the problem. I insisted that this time I should not be charge because the engine light is back on. They did not agree. I was very mad, but then I realized my car battery is already 5-1/2 years old and I felt the engine start is not smooth. So I went out to buy a new car battery.

Bingo! The engine light is not coming on again. That was the problem. It makes sense now because if the battery is low, the car computer is getting messed up because it cannot get a good signal from all the sensor points. So somehow the computer gives up and makes the engine light turn on.

So do not waste your time and money, try replacing your car battery (if not new) first when your engine light comes on before you go to see your alligator dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2009

2000 Honda Odyssey EX from North America




Nothing, that wasn't covered by warranty or required by the scheduled maintenance.

General Comments:

By far the best vehicle we have ever owned. After having 8 others made by 'North American' manufacturers.

Superb space (driver and passengers AND cargo), comfort, ride, performance (like get up and go on those short highway on ramps), finish and fit, looks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2009

2000 Honda Odyssey LX 3.5 from North America


Good, but not great


Replaced alternator.

Brakes are noisy. Especially rear.

Sliding doors stick.

Transmission is beginning hesitate, clunks into gear.

Cloth panels on doors separating from cardboard backing.

Radio light burned out.

Clock light burned out.

Original speaker system was poor.

General Comments:

I am concerned about the transmission, since I am out of any extended warranty period.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2009

2000 Honda Odyssey EX 3.6 from North America


A very bad car, I will never buy/drive another Honda again


At around 100,000 miles the timing belt had to be replaced.

Fuel pump quit at 60,000 miles.

Interior cloth parts have fallen off.

Sliding doors stick when they get wet and will not open.

Speedometer stopped working at 107,000 miles.

Clock light burns out often.

At around 70,000 miles the AC no longer would get cold.

Randomly will crank but not start.

Has stalled out on freeway once.

Cassette player stopped working.

Passenger power window stopped working.

General Comments:

This car has been an absolute lemon. For years I was told that Honda's were reliable cars and would last you for life, and I can tell you that I will never be buying another Honda again.

This car ran fine until around 60,000 miles, then it all went downhill from there. It has been expensive to repair.

Fuel economy was never great and it only could manage about 21 highway (with cruse control on).

Very uncomfortable seats to sit in for over an hour.

All the plastic feels cheaply made, and the driver side door panel has cracked.

When the engine was running good, it had ample power and drove alright, but once the timing belt was replaced it would shudder if you tried to accelerate.

I am actually very surprised that this car has never had a transmission problem that supposedly plagues these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2009

11th May 2009, 12:49

Your engine shuddered upon acceleration since you had the timing belt replaced? If what you claim is true, why didn't you take the van back to the garage that replaced the timing belt? Some mechanics are super stupid, take it to a reputable place and quit pointing the fault at Honda. BTW, I don't own a Honda, never did, I just read your review out of curiosity, so I am not pro Honda. I drive Buicks.

22nd May 2009, 21:25

We HAVE had experience with Honda. The word "lemon" is a gross UNDERSTATEMENT. I've never seen a more poorly built, under-engineered vehicle. We are now back to Fords. They are flawless.

25th Apr 2011, 20:25

I bought my 2000 Honda Odyssey used in 2003, and have put 198,000 miles on it. The only time I took it to the dealership was to have a cracked windshield replaced. I change the oils and fluids regularly, and it has never broken down even once. I have a '99 Accord LX too with no problem. I don't believe all that crap about the first two writers. If it's true, they must have abused their rides so bad. Go to Africa and see 1989 and '90 Honda Accords still riding strong, in spite of sub-quality oil and parts.