1994 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 12

1994 Jeep Cherokee 4.0L Strait 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Strait 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired140852 miles
Most recent distance144562 miles

Summary:

A good car, cheap to buy and cheap to maintain

Faults:

Radiator blew, but that was the factory one.

Tires wore out due to alignment.

Tenting has ripped off.

Roof upholstery had all, but fallen off.

Breaks locked easily.

General Comments:

I bought this Jeep for $2400, paid cash. Nothing went wrong for 6 months which astonished me, but after 6 months the radiator blew on me, the tires finally wore out, and the break showed their age.

The car was totaled in an accident caused by the brakes locking and the vehicle sliding into a stopped car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2003

1994 Jeep Cherokee limited 4.0 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 kilometres
Most recent distance190000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Commodore

Summary:

A good looking lemon

Faults:

Air conditioner died.

Rear diff replaced.

Transmission started to fall apart.

Exhaust manifold cracked.

Welsh plugs rusted.

Front bearing assembly had to be replaced.

Fuel pump burnt out.

Crank engine sensor failed.

Engine mount cracked.

Paint flaked.

General Comments:

This car has been a series of headaches.

It was nice inside, the leather seats were comfortable. On the outside it looked attractive, but turn the key and the problems start.

It drove roughly, broke down a lot and cost me lots of money to keep driving.

Every time I got it back from the mechanics I thought I'd gotten past the problems, but they didn't stop.

It was a great off road vehicle, but I'm sorry to say it's tendency to be unreliable forced me to get rid of it thousands of dollars in repair bills later.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd May, 2003

16th Nov 2004, 20:29

In my humble opinion, you purchased a true lemon. I own a 94 Sport with a total mileage count of around 180,000+, and it's still going strong, just as it was when purchased in 1995. Yes it's taken a bit of money to keep it on the road, but that didn't happen until recently (last 20k miles) and it was only in the range of two to three hundred dollars. It's had three sets of tires, the set that it had when purchased which were less than fifty percent, a set that lasted from 96' to latter 02' and the set that it currently has. The jeep is now driven daily by and older lady for on highway driving and does great. One in a thousand could be a lemon, mine isn't and I'm looking for another.

20th Jun 2010, 14:22

It could be that bad because you didn't look after yours. I've done 250,000 miles in mine, and it has not died yet, and I've only replaced a few parts because I look after it.

5th Mar 2011, 01:12

I have one. It's done 200000 klms and still going strong. Just redone rear diff extreme 4x4.

25th Mar 2011, 22:15

I recently purchased a 1994 XJ Cherokee. It has done two hundred and sixteen thousand miles, and I did not realise how good these vehicles are. I naturally test drove it before I bought it. It does not blow smoke, lifters are a little noisy at idle when hot, but I cannot fault the vehicle, wish I had bought it new... brilliant vehicle.

1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carDodge Diplomat

Summary:

A stout reliable vehicle

Faults:

Changed flywheel at 148000, could have been from running through flood waters.

Changed water pump at 177576 miles.

A/C Clutch failed at 187000 miles. Replaced clutch, compressor, and drier.

Replaced rear seal on transmission at 188800 miles due to small leak. Rear main was changed when flywheel was changed.

Water pump failed again at 187055 miles. Replacement was under warranty.

Car involved in accident at 191259 miles. Insurance totaled it, but I bought it back and replaced exhaust manifold, O2 sensor, transmission speed sensor, fuel tank, fuel pump, and rear bumper.

Starter failed at 209790 miles.

Radiator upper hose manifold disintegrated at 214600 miles... replaced radiator.

General Comments:

I wonder if this jeep will last forever... I have 225K miles and it doesn't burn or leak any oil. My goal is to drive it to 300K.

I have performed oil changes every 5000 to 7000 miles and added oil treatment every 50K miles. Other maintenance items were routine in my opinion.

Great Car! I wish they hadn't come up with the Liberty model, because it is not a good substitute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2003

29th Apr 2004, 09:26

What kind of oil additive did you use and what weight oil.

I reciently bought a "94" Cherokee Sport with one hundred thousand six hundred miles on it. My first impression was really impressed. I notice oil in the air filter box and got to checking and oil was being sucked through to the air filter. I informed my dealer and now they are replacing the engine. I just want to make sure this new engine will last. I would like to recieve any tips to make this vehicle last forever. I am really impressed with the handling, etc.

John.

29th Jun 2004, 17:44

I agree, the Liberty is NOT a worthy replacement. It is a girly jeep.

29th Jul 2004, 18:03

I own a 1995 Cherokee auto, I also discovered oil in the air filter box, which they inform me means a new motor.

The check engine light used to come on, but they could never figure out what it was for!

I am actually disappointed with the Jeep at only 100k.

My previous vehicle was a 1988 land-cruiser which wasn't great off road, but a lot better than the jeep.

I thought the Jeep was a go anywhere vehicle, I don't agree, a bit embarrassing.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 48 reviews