1994 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 12

1994 Jeep Cherokee from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance198500 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Never expected it to be so good for so long

Faults:

Recently replaced original starter at 180,000 miles. Trans sensor problem at 50,000 miles was hard to diagnose.

General Comments:

Absolute best vehicle for the money.

Almost at 200,000 miles now, still starts everytime, paint still has a mirror finish and it has set outside since purchased... and I live in Michigan!

Not super comfortable, but it is not meant to be in the luxury division.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2005

1994 Jeep Cherokee 2WD from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

If you are looking for a car that will never die on you, Cherokee is, then, one you should choose

Faults:

I have had my baby for about one year. Ever since I bought this car, I have had no problems at all. The only bad thing about this car is the air condition. If the car is not running air condition won't work. Though, supposedly, it's because this one is bit of old.

General Comments:

Since I bought my Cherokee, I have abused it many times on off-road. Eventhough, performance of this car is literally sux on off-road (unless you do some modification on it). However, I do believe Jeep Cherokee 1994 is one of the most reliable and dependable car ever built. You won't imagine how much I have abused and mistreated my baby on off-road. Still, nothing went wrong; Runs just like new ones. I am fully satisfied with the dependability of Cherokeee 1994. On highways or freeways, it drives smoothly. But, when it comes to major highways, it does not exceed 85mph. Not a fast one comparing to other SUVs, but again! Most reliable machine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2005

29th Jan 2005, 19:22

The air conditioning will not not work on any vehicle unless the engine is running. It never has and never will.

2nd Mar 2006, 08:23

I guess because the speedometer only goes to 85 is why one would think that's as fast at it will go, because that's as far as the speedometer WILL go. I bet it goes well above 85mph even with a tired 4 banger, eventually it would get above 85. Jeep made it so the needle stops when it reaches max speed indicated on the speedo. Anyone remember older cars that the speedometer went to 120 and would continue past that point when reached and WOULD eventually break and no longer work at all? I do. I broke a few of them in my time.

1994 Jeep Cherokee ES 2.5 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired131000 miles
Most recent distance132000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

This vehicle is a great alternative to the minivan

Faults:

I replaced the water pump, and the heater valve. There is a strange knocking sound emanating from the engine. The driver's door lock cannot be unlocked with a key. The back hatch lock has come loose inside of the hatch, and barely locks at all. The hood release lever has separated from the pulley wire.

General Comments:

The vehicle seems to consume too much gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

1994 Jeep Cherokee 6 cylinder. from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance199598 miles
Previous carNissan 200SX

Summary:

Best car of my life

Faults:

Needed a new radiator at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

Bought my 1994 Jeep Cherokee brand new, have owned it for over 10 years now and it's about to hit 200,000 miles. I love this vehicle, with proper maintenance it will go on forever! We've camped in it, slept in the back on an air mattress, driven it all over the country, and it performs wonderfully. It gets better gas mileage than the ratings say, and much better than most SUV's nowadays. You won't go wrong with this vehicle; although I've heard that the newer ones aren't as reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2004

1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 High output from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 High output Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance168500 miles
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

Great SUV!

Faults:

Starter sensor was bad when we bought it. The alternator also went out after 162,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great SUV. Very quick and strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2004

1994 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance151000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

The best dependable SUV out there!

Faults:

O2 sensor and neutral safety switch. These are typical minor problems.

General Comments:

The only lemon Jeeps out there are the ones that were mistreated or not maintained, and then resold to some poor schmuck.

I have owned 4 Jeeps in the last 16 years; a 75 CJ5, 87 Cherokee, 91 Cherokee, and a current 94 Cherokee. There is a reason for their consumer rating and their resale value. They are one of the best, and always will be!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 48 reviews