1994 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 11 of 12

1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A great vehicle!

Faults:

Engine replacement at 28k. Cylinder bore was off and Chrysler replaced for free. Was a common problem, but technically not a recall.

Substantial water leak around driver side door. Mfg defect since I've had the truck.

Stock stereo died.

Rear wheel bearings replaced early - under warranty. No problems since.

Other minor problems not worth mentioning.

General Comments:

Generally, I like my Jeep. It's basic with no frills, but exactly my style. Yes, it has some problems, but mechanically it's sound for a vehicle with 130k miles. I plan to keep it until forever. I think Cherokee Sports from the early to mid-90s will be classics one day due to their edgy styling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

27th Apr 2005, 09:16

I also have a '94 Jeep and I also believe it will become a classic car in the future because of its unique style, like a box. I have many problems that are not worth mentioning. But, it is very stable and paid for!

27th Apr 2005, 11:13

By the time these vehicles are considered "classics" your grandchildren will be entering retirement homes!

1994 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carToyota Long bed pick-up

Summary:

An SUV tough enough to still be called a truck

Faults:

Heater Control Valve developed small leak easily fixed ($30).

Radio went, replaced with used one that works fine.

Track bar end wore out, but was easily fixed in a half hour ($150 for part).

Also basics such as brakes, plugs, wires, and weatherstripping on doors lets a little wind in.

Uses/leaks a little oil, but never enough to need to add between oil changes.

General Comments:

Overall I am very pleased with my Jeep. It is not some wimpy little car-like SUV.

4.0 L6 is powerful and reliable.

19-24 mpg.

Transfer case leaks a little fluid.

Very little rust after almost 10 years of salty roads.

Great in snow or off road, rear suspension could be heavier.

Seat gets a little uncomfortable on really long trips.

I had an old lady come to a complete stop on the freeway that resulted in a rear-ending. After an approximately 45 mph hit I drove out of traffic, and would have finished my trip except for a small leak in the cooling system. After that I feel I am driving a very safe vehicle.

One thing I would advise is always buy parts from the dealer. They are only a little more expensive, but fit just right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4x4 4.0L L6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L L6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance98054 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

The SUV that REALLY goes off road!

Faults:

Crank case breather tube snapped at 97,000 miles (my own dumb fault, I pulled on it too hard).

Nothing else so far, hopefully nothing in the future :)

General Comments:

I love the serious acceleration!

The torque is phenomenal!

The traction in the snow is life saving!

I love this car, it's a perfect on/off road vehicle. The only thing to think about is there is many parts that you can't get at your local "auto zone" which means you need to go to a dealer. The good news is that they had the parts in stock and for a lot less money than I thought ($30.00) if you need an off road vehicle... GET A JEEP!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A vehicle with style, but not built with quality

Faults:

Starter went out about 65,000.

Idler Pulley went out at about 125,000.

Radiator leaked at about 70,000 (spout where hose attaches is plastic and melted) I had already replaced three thermostats trying to stop the overheating problem and the Jeep dealership just kept telling me that "Jeeps run hot".

Repair on radiator wore through so the entire radiator had to be replaced at about 100,000.

Seat Belt latch has failed (currently part of a class action lawsuit for Gen 3 seat belts installed on Jeep/Chrysler 1993-2000) June 2002.

Oxygen sensor went out at about 80,000.

Rear seat squeaks awfully when upright since about 100,000.

Paint quality is mediocre and the trim strips disintegrated years ago.

Shifter knob disintegrated and fell off at about 40,000.

General Comments:

I bought this car brand new off the lot and have taken excellent care of it with maintenance because I knew it had to last awhile. I like being up a little higher to see out and yet still have a small enough vehicle to get around in traffic and park easily.

However, my husband also bought a brand new car that same week so we have compared the quality over the years, my Jeep has failed miserably compared to my husband's GEO Prizm which has 50,000 more miles than my Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1st Oct 2002, 23:40

Well of course... the GEO Prizm's (unlike other Geo's) have Toyota engines. Since Toyota is known to be pretty reliable I predict your husband's GEO will someday hit the 300,000 mile mark. That same day, your Jeep will be scrap metal in a junkyard.

10th Oct 2002, 15:16

Well first off a starter (like any other part) could go bad or was defective, or you just held the ignition too long!

How did an idler pulley "Go Out"? You probably mean the bearings and ANY bearing with 125,000 miles on it would fail! You need to take care of your cooling system (flush it and use the proper antifreeze). You need to check the TSB(Technical Service Bulleton) that will tell you about any recalls. oxygen sensors usually only last 75,000 miles. The seat has a hinge that needed grease (which is a normal thing) Do you ever wax the car? If not THAT is why the paint isn't nice and shimmering for you... As far as the shifter knob goes... that sometimes happens with drivers that constantly hold the knob (and never clean it off (i hope you clean your cars...)...I have the exact same jeep as you and when I take care of it nothing goes wrong.

23rd Jun 2003, 23:13

Well hate to say it you must suck at maintenance. I have a 91 Jeep inline 6, 243,4.3 and man I swear to ya IT HAS 273,000 miles on it! and it doesn't smoke sputter, sqweak it still drives at high speeds on the interstate. Great on gas water pump and alternator is only thing had to change engine wise.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 48 reviews