1994 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L from North America


A SUV with a sporty attitude


My water-pump went out, but was not a big repair.

I also replaced all cooling hoses and the belt while replacing the pump. (Just to be on the safe side)

General Comments:

Very quick acceleration and good as far as reliability.

Not noticeably top heavy while corning.

Fairly good gas mileage.

Unbleaveable performance on snow and ice with normal highway tires. Great 4 wheel drive system, quickly locks into and out of 4 wheel drive. The best I've every seen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1994 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 from North America


The best car I have ever owned


During the ownership of this Jeep the only problem I had was the Transfer case. It was replaced at 175,000.

Very weak paint job. Starting to tarnish.

General Comments:

Engine,4.0 is very peppy.

Interior is very comfortable. I enter and exit at least 20 times per day and the covers are holding up well.

Sound system is nothing great, but OK for a Jeep'

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

7th Oct 2002, 11:36

I own a 94 SE. Its bone bare. 2.5l 5-speed. No power anything, but brakes and steering. I have had no major problems with it the 4 wheel drive is bullet proof and will go anywhere. I have 29" mud kings on it and they are perfect. I wouldn't trade my jeep for anything.


1994 Jeep Cherokee SE 4-Door 2.5L from North America


4x4 with no doors!


Folding rear seat rattles when in upright position, making squeaking noise.

The window seal on the drivers side door has small space that allows water inside of the door. This was not fun in the winter time when the door would not shut because the linkage was frozen.

The drivers side door fell off! This has actually happened twice to me now. I talked to the dealer and they said it is common on the Cherokee and the new models,2001+, have fixed this problem. I just keep having to pay $45 a hinge until I get rid of it.

The windshield leaks water inside the vehicle sometimes.

General Comments:

This vehicle has been really good to me overall. The performance is lacking a little because of the 2.5L, but besides that, it starts everyday.

The only real worry I have with every buying one again is the door falling off thing. The door fell off my 1993 Cherokee and now this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

27th Apr 2004, 20:31

My door falls off too! but what a damn great car.

15th Jul 2004, 15:55

The door fell off of my Jeep too! The good news is, that even though the warranty had long expired, I contacted the president of the company and received a reimbursement for the parts and labor. They stand behind their product.

1994 Jeep Cherokee from North America


Overated nightmare!


You name it, it broke... Electrical, rear end steering..

General Comments:

Nightmare from the start, worst service I've ever had from any dealership, I mean I thought Ford was bad but these people had Ford beat, now that's BAD! This Jeep had so many problems I was considering contacting the Chrysler corp. and having this thing declared a lemon. Luckily I traded it off for a Sportage, considering I've heard so many bad things about Kia.. Ive not had a problem yet with mine. The first year into my Cherokee I was already 1500 dollars in it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2000

30th Dec 2000, 04:19

I have a 1994 Cherokee Sport and I haven't had any problems with it. Also, whenever I had to do something with the dealership they were nice and prompt in dealing with the problem. I love my Cherokee and I strongly suggest that you reconsider your feelings twoards Jeep and their cars.