1988 Jeep Comanche 2wd Longbed Pioneer 4.0 liter from North America


Best vehicle I will ever own


Rear differential went out due to not changing the fluid.

The clear coat failed after 10 years.

Nothing major other than normal wear and tear items. Changing the oil every 2000 miles since I have owned it does not hurt.

General Comments:

Great vehicle.

From long distance trips to hauling heavy loads.

Has only failed to start twice... both times the lights were left on overnight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0 High Output from North America


Worth its weight in paper


Starter has had to be replaced 5 times.

Alternator has been replaced 2 times.

Engine replaced 1 time.

Automatic transmission about to be replaced.

General Comments:

The truck however seems to be a good one. The particular one I had purchased a year and almost 6 months ago is still running and I only paid 750 for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2005

1988 Jeep Comanche Laredo 4.0L from North America


An outstanding truck for the money!!


PCV valve faulty, so oily blow-by is back-feeding into air filter.

Leaky valve cover gasket.

A/C not working (needs R12 boost).

Cruise control not working (servo unit needs replacing).

Replaced catalytic converter at 196,800 miles.

Previous owner replaced starter, radiator and windshield.

General Comments:

I paid only $775 for a truck worth several times that much!!

Outstanding durability for a truck of it's age and mileage. The AMC-built 4.0L six is as solid and reliable of a engine as you will find and, despite it's mileage, still runs very well.

Handling is a bit vague, as with most 4x4 trucks, but is responsive.

The incredible low-end torque on this truck makes for a good trailer-puller.

Despite showing some effects of age and high mileage, this truck has always got me where I needed to go without complaining and outperforms many of the newer trucks on the road today.

In my opinion Chrysler made a huge mistake in dropping the Comanche in order to protect sales of the Dodge Dakota. Hopefully, as DaimlerChrysler seeks to expand the Jeep offerings in coming years, they will reconsider offering this type of sturdy mid-size pickup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

6th Jul 2004, 20:33

Amen brother, There is no other vehicle like the Jeep Comanche. If Chrysler would just listen to the public, they would design a New Jeep Comanche, just like the "Originals", with some modern updates, but LEAVE ths basic style the same.

9th Jul 2004, 19:07

Totally agree, what a truck! Where is the American ingenuity to build a reliable, strong truck like Jeep did with the Comanche? Bring it back, admit the mistake of the Dakota, and move on!

1988 Jeep Comanche pioneer 2.5L. 4 cylinder. from North America


Jeep has had some hit and miss concepts, but this is definitely a hit!


I had a blown head gasket at about 247000 miles, but I drove it plenty hard enough to cause that.

The headliner cloth had to be removed because it was sagging, but I don't spend a lot of time looking at the roof anyways.

General Comments:

This truck has ton of get up and go, and enough low end torque to pull my buddies 4x4 Toyota uphill.

This truck is the ultimate work horse and the majority of the ones I see on the road have had ladder racks added and turned into work trucks.

The bench seat is not the most comfortable thing I've ever sat on, but that's about the only thing I would change.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0L I6 from North America


A member of the family


I've replaced the starter twice.

The radiator was replaced at around 170K miles.

The clutch was replaced at 180K miles.

Other than normal wear, I can't think of anything else this truck has had go wrong.

General Comments:

This truck is a loyal friend, even a member of the family.

It cranks in all weather, gets me from A to B comfortably and inexpensively.

Possibly the greatest little pickup ever built.

I will never sell this truck. It's that good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th August, 2003

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0L 6I from North America


Never been sorry I bought it!


Replaced power steering pump once.

Replaced radiator once.

I had a little work done on the rear main seal.

Replaced Catalytic converter once.

All minor repairs for the amount of miles. I have used this truck as a work horse form day 1.

General Comments:

I bought this truck off the showroom floor with six miles on it.

I have hauled everything from furniture to cords of wood.

I towed a boat for two years that I swear weighed more than the truck. Other than being pulled down the dock a bit, she worked like a champ!

I have a new Ford Windstar now, but my Comanche is still going like crazy.

After all these years and all the miles, this truck still has the power that it did on day one.

I love this truck! I am now getting ready to start refurbishing it.

I can't imagine life without it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

22nd Nov 2004, 01:20

I feel the same way about that little truck. All my friends keep telling me it's old and should be shipped off to the wreckers because of all the things that are going wrong with it. However, I feel it's just general maintenance, and I'm not willing to give it up until that motor goes. It's been used and abused and it's still going.