1988 Jeep Comanche from North America

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Well the only thing that has really happened to it is that it doesn't like cold weather.

She has major rust going on on the bed and the tail gate.

General Comments:

I love this truck honestly. it is reliable, it is unstoppable, it is a amazing vehicle.

Its comfortable because it feels like there's a couch in the cab, and couches are sweet.

Amazing truck, won't sell it ever, I will drive it off a cliff and still get home.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th June, 2006

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 150ci 2.5L 4 Cylinder from North America

Summary:

I wouldn't trade this truck for anything!

Faults:

Purchased the truck with a blown motor.

Replaced the transmission and the motor.

Replaced brakes, shocks, track bar, and sway bar ends.

Painted it and got Line-X spray on bed-liner.

New carpet, headliner, stereo and windshield.

A lot of other parts replaced as well.

General Comments:

This truck never lets me down!

I only wish that it had the 4.0L straight 6.

It performs superbly on every 4-wheel drive trail I've had it on!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

1988 Jeep Comanche 2x4 4.0 straight 6 from North America

Summary:

Outstanding little truck

Faults:

When I first bought the truck, it was necessary to replace the entire exhaust system and fuel tank.

Other initial problems included bad ball joints, and a rusty floor pan.

The truck had not been run in 5 years, so it needed the usual tune up and battery.

After all that, the automatic transmission is a little haywire, incorrectly shifting occasionally.

General Comments:

I am continually impressed by the raw durability of this truck.

I replaced and repaired all the pressing problems, and it has been completely reliable since then.

I towed a trailer that exceeded the max tow weight by a factor of 2 into new york city from providence, and the truck shrugged it off.

I intend to throw a 5 speed manual into her, and some bucket seats, the bench seat is somewhat flattened.

This truck is a keeper, small, decent fuel consumption, maneuverable, reliable, and durable. the perfect work truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

1988 Jeep Comanche 2wd Longbed Pioneer 4.0 liter from North America

Summary:

Best vehicle I will ever own

Faults:

Rear differential went out due to not changing the fluid.

The clear coat failed after 10 years.

Nothing major other than normal wear and tear items. Changing the oil every 2000 miles since I have owned it does not hurt.

General Comments:

Great vehicle.

From long distance trips to hauling heavy loads.

Has only failed to start twice... both times the lights were left on overnight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0 High Output from North America

Summary:

Worth its weight in paper

Faults:

Starter has had to be replaced 5 times.

Alternator has been replaced 2 times.

Engine replaced 1 time.

Automatic transmission about to be replaced.

General Comments:

The truck however seems to be a good one. The particular one I had purchased a year and almost 6 months ago is still running and I only paid 750 for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th July, 2005

1988 Jeep Comanche Laredo 4.0L from North America

Summary:

An outstanding truck for the money!!

Faults:

PCV valve faulty, so oily blow-by is back-feeding into air filter.

Leaky valve cover gasket.

A/C not working (needs R12 boost).

Cruise control not working (servo unit needs replacing).

Replaced catalytic converter at 196,800 miles.

Previous owner replaced starter, radiator and windshield.

General Comments:

I paid only $775 for a truck worth several times that much!!

Outstanding durability for a truck of it's age and mileage. The AMC-built 4.0L six is as solid and reliable of a engine as you will find and, despite it's mileage, still runs very well.

Handling is a bit vague, as with most 4x4 trucks, but is responsive.

The incredible low-end torque on this truck makes for a good trailer-puller.

Despite showing some effects of age and high mileage, this truck has always got me where I needed to go without complaining and outperforms many of the newer trucks on the road today.

In my opinion Chrysler made a huge mistake in dropping the Comanche in order to protect sales of the Dodge Dakota. Hopefully, as DaimlerChrysler seeks to expand the Jeep offerings in coming years, they will reconsider offering this type of sturdy mid-size pickup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2004

6th Jul 2004, 20:33

Amen brother, There is no other vehicle like the Jeep Comanche. If Chrysler would just listen to the public, they would design a New Jeep Comanche, just like the "Originals", with some modern updates, but LEAVE ths basic style the same.

9th Jul 2004, 19:07

Totally agree, what a truck! Where is the American ingenuity to build a reliable, strong truck like Jeep did with the Comanche? Bring it back, admit the mistake of the Dakota, and move on!