1988 Jeep Comanche Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0 straight six from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 straight six Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 kilometres
Most recent distance250000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairlane

Summary:

This was an amazing truck in its day

Faults:

The fuel pump blew two months ago due to tremendous burn-outs.

The material on the inside of the roof is falling off.

General Comments:

Even though this truck is now thirteen it will still blow away most trucks of the same size today. It accelerates well and is solid and strong.

For a small truck it pulls like an ox and even though it is only two wheel drive, it is fairly hard to get stuck in foot deep snow.

The steering is pretty worn and the brakes are becoming a bit spongy.

Other than the fuel pump I have done nearly nothing to this truck in the past three years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

26th May 2001, 19:36

What a great review, I agree with the quality of the comanche completely.

30th May 2001, 22:29

When you say that the steering is worn, do you mean when you hit a bump a certain way it shimmys in the front end?

4th Jun 2001, 15:40

I just rolled 200K on my '88. Being the original owner I know how hard I have driven (punished) this vehicle. Only two clutches, three brake jobs, the original paint, and one headliner missing in action. I updated the wheels with '90 Jeep alloy wheels. It really looks great. I am surprised they aren't more popular considering how rare they are. Why aren't they collectible like the CJ7s and 8s? I would rather own a Comanche than a Ford, Dodge, or Chevy. I have been approached on the street and asked if this was really a Jeep. Are there any Comanche Clubs out there? Send comments to mickey.walker@prodigy.net.

1st Nov 2002, 19:53

We have a 88 jeep Comanche and its still running, but starts really hard. Sometimes when cold out it won't run it turns over till the battery is dead. Its got over 300,000 but when it starts it runs great. A little bit rusty, but not too bad. Any one that can help me on figuring the problem with it not starting would be great. my email is auntie_65@yahoo.com... thanks.. lisa.

11th Jun 2005, 00:51

I own a 1992 Jeep Comanche. I love This truck so much. I have not had a single problem with it so far. It has a little over 106,000 miles on it. This is the best truck ever made and I am planning on keeping it till I die. The low end torque is great. The stock 4.0 inline six could use more power. I am going to do some work to the inline six to get more power out of it. "IT is not a vehicle unless it is a Jeep"

5th Sep 2005, 13:14

I own a 1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer " olympic Edition " I bought it from my brother who was the original owner. This truck is the best. It has 79,000 original miles is rusted to hell, but runs like the wind. I've owned it for two years and it has been a solid performer for it's age. The 4.0 liter engine is very strong for this size vehicle. Then 4x4 system is great in the harsh Buffalo winters. I haven't been stuck once. Everything is mechanically sound. I added a Pioneer C-D player, Pioneer 4 channel amp, 6x9's behind the seat, and co-axial component speakers in the doors, it pumps!! I love owning a Jeep and especially my Comanche pickup.

1988 Jeep Comanche Pioneer 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

Best impulse buy I ever made

Faults:

There has always been quite a bit of oil leakage on the engine, the exhaust system went on it too.

General Comments:

I bought this truck brand new off the showroom floor in '88 without really shopping for it. Man it was the best impulse buy I ever made, I got the one ton model and let me tell you that thing hauls everything imaginable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2001

25th Oct 2004, 03:23

I have a 1988 Comanche SB with the 4.0L I6 which now has just over 240,000 miles on it. I must say that this truck is the most awsome thing ever built, it is somewhat beat up and I need to do some body work on it, but am have trouble finding parts in decent shape. Anyone with any suggestions?

26th Sep 2005, 10:07

Try some scrapped cherokees.

26th Apr 2006, 01:19

I think the One Ton Metric Long Bed, 4X4, 4.0ltr, 5 spd XLS, is about the rarest Comanche I have ever seen... I now own it and can't imagine ever selling it as I now have 225K miles on it. Just a great Vehicle!

1988 Jeep Comanche 4.0L inline 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0L inline 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres

Summary:

Sporty, reliable truck

Faults:

- Starter went, replaced it myself, $200.00.

- Window crank keeps busting, $13.00 each time.

- Rear end (axle gears), my fault. Trying to do a chewy in reverse - $1,100.

General Comments:

It is a great first vehicle. It is a sports truck and has lots of low end power. It takes nothing at all to light 'em up. Easy to throw around in the dirt and snow. I don't have 4x4 which kind of sucks. But for a 2 wheel drive it will take you almost anywhere you want to go.

The bucket seats are comfortable and when they are set way back you have lots of leg room.

I have experienced a major loss in power. It is partly my fault for driving it so hard. It started with 190hp brand new, now I estimate that it has around 125hp. Overall it is a reliable, sporty truck.

I have tinted the window and added fox stickers on the fog lights and rear window. It is a sporty truck and I am hoping to get at least $5,000 for it, but I am willing to go lower. For pictures and other questions e-mail me at, Bud_yser@budweiser.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 29 reviews