1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 12 of 29

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7L V8 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Stylish, luxurious SUV, but it will cost you to maintain it

Faults:

Transmission began shifting harshly at 8000 miles.

Front brakes needed replacement at 27,000 miles.

Rear drive shaft needed replacement at 28,000 miles (found to be contributing to harsh transmission shifting).

Seat belt buckles both needed replacement at 32,000 miles.

Driver door secondary hinge (the black plastic one) began popping and needed replacement at 40,000 miles.

Began idling very bumpy at 40,000 miles or so. $800 worth of tuning-up and fuel injection services failed to fix.

Rear differential bearings went out at 45,000 miles.

Muffler began rattling at 50,000 miles and vehicle lost a noticeable amount of low end power.

General Comments:

It is a beautiful SUV, which is the main reason why I purchased it. The interior is well appointed and designed, and the engine had plenty of power before it mysteriously lost some low-end torque. The Infinity sound system is to die for, much better than the Bose in my other car. The electronics are all still functioning properly after 55,000 miles and 6 years.

I have had issues with Jeep dealers. They can never seem to diagnose my problems properly. The transmission is still shifting abruptly at times and the dealer tells me they cannot fix it (they told me this when the truck was under warranty too). They seem to dance around the issues and charge me for stuff that doesn't even make a difference.

The vehicle does not seem to hold an alignment very long. Aside from these issues, it has been reliable (never broken down on me) and it is quite comfortable for long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

29th Jan 2006, 12:52

This describes my experience almost exactly - same failures, same problems with dealers. Never again will a Jeep be in my garage.

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

I love my jeep, thank God I had money to fix all the problems

Faults:

Heater was only blowing out of center console.

Brake rotors warped, had to replace.

Rear gate lock solenoid is broke.

Transmission slams in to 2nd gear.

Driver seat heater inoperative.

General Comments:

My 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited has.

Cost me about 1800.00 in repairs, most.

Importantly, the heater damper problem.

This is a service issue and you have to.

Replace the whole assembly. At a.

Dealership it would have cost me 800.00.

I had it done for 600.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2005

26th Jul 2005, 08:40

Fellow Jeep owner:

I have a 99, Grand Cherokee Limited and have had all of the problems that you stated, and more. I have spent over $8500.00 in the past year on parts for my truck. You were lucky with the heater, mine cost $1100.00. I have also had both axles replaced, including hubs and differentials, all four rotors and pads, the power steering system, starter, battery, and the transfer case was rebuilt and the TCM, Transmission Control Module, had to be reprogrammed, which cleared up my "slamming" into gears issue. Although, this is the second 1999 Jeep that I have owned, I can honestly say that I would never buy a Jeep again! Make sure that if you are brazen enough to purchase one, PLEASE GET A CREDIT CARD WITH A $10K LIMIT!

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance107000 miles
Previous carBentley Eight

Summary:

Why not, it's a jeep

Faults:

Wheel bearing went.

Side wall damage to tire (son did that)

Breaks vibrate.

General Comments:

Haven't had too many problems with this one. It still looks and drives very good. Nice SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Loredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carBricklin SV-1

Summary:

Clean and neat

Faults:

Wheel bearings.

Side wall damage! (my son's fault)

General Comments:

This is a very nice vehicle.

The interior, paint and body are in very good condition.

Performance is a little low, but I could have gotten a V8.

Simply a nice vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L I-6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles

Summary:

Reliable, nice interior, and fun to drive

Faults:

Nothing do far except that the brakes squeak, and will probably have to replace them in the near future.

General Comments:

The Jeep handles great, tight turing radius.

Selec-trac is a great feature, once in 4-wheel drive it can get through just about anything.

Would not suggest getting a 2X4 Jeep because the back end is very light and spins quickly, 4-wheel drive is a must.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2005

8th Apr 2005, 17:51

I've heard of 4x4 Jeeps, even 4X2 Jeeps, but this is the first time I've heard of a 2x4 Jeep. Is this a Jeep made out of wooden planks?

9th Dec 2009, 22:36

They do exist, I have one a 99 Cherokee Sport and I love Jeeps, even the 2x4. It's a fun ride around town, but try taking it off road or driving during the winter, you're in for challenge.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 106 reviews