2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 10

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carAcura CL

Faults:

Help please... My Jeep 2004, now 4,000 km, which I buy new on June 2003, had begin to emit a strident noise when I start the engine.

The noise come from the front of the car very near of the fan and also repeat again when I push on the pedal to accelerate; when I release the pedal, the loud whistling just stop.

My Jeep has been at the car dealer for four days now and they just can't find what it is... They had replace the alternator, the belt, and nothing change...

Maybe somebody had experience the same trouble? Thanks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

17th Jan 2004, 08:18

It sounds like the fan clutch is going bad.

12th Jul 2004, 21:16

Its not the fan clutch. jeep is aware of the problem and has no solution to the problem. I have the same problem in my 2003 laredo.

30th Sep 2005, 09:35

I have a 1994 Dodge Caravan that does the same thing. No idea what it is.

10th Oct 2005, 16:41

I herd this problem in my 2002 grand cherokee and on my sister jeep. when I lifted my jeep it went away. She still has the problem.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee laredo vermont 2.7 CRD from Spain

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.7 CRD Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance1000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A very good improvement on the previous model

Faults:

So far nothing touch wood.

General Comments:

There is a big difference between this engine and the old engine. The 2.7 CRD is a lot quieter and gear change is a lot smoother. The Quadra-trac system is also a very good addition to the car. The new engine possesses 23 hp more than the previous engine and is noticeable. The 2003 model still retains its comfort aspect with more than enough leg-room for passengers in the back. I own the 2.7 CRD Laredo Vermont the car still maintainsd its style and is a head turner wherever you go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

29th Jul 2004, 02:08

Have just purchased used 2003 CRD Grand Cherokee, it has 18,000klms on it and I have only had it for a few days, but so far no problems, I love it so far, will let you know if I have any problems!

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7 HO from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance6155 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A stylish SUV with savage power

Faults:

The back seat belts do not tack down like my previous Limited did.

Did not have all of the badging on the new car that my previous Limited did.

General Comments:

The car is very stylish and it literally flies down the road.

Braking is much improved along with the handling.

Does not have as much sway from side to side as my older 1999 Limited did.

Workmanship is much more refinded than my older 1999 Limited.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2003

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance1100 miles

Summary:

Nice car with real motor noise problem

Faults:

Excessive motor noise when tachometer reaches 1500 RPM.

Poor gas mileage.

General Comments:

I recently purchased the 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee equipped with a V8 engine. When we test-drove the car, my wife commented that it sounded like (not felt like) the car stayed in 2nd gear for a long time. We didn't think much of that comment until after we purchased the car. Subsequently, we realized that it was the sound of the motor when the tachometer got about 1500 RPM that was what we heard. This sound is very annoying, especially since it is almost constant around town. It's a whining, droning sound that can be unbearable in a tunnel. Nobody at the dealership acknowledged that there was any unusual noise. It wasn't unusual because it is usual in the Grand Cherokee, and from what I learned, in the Jeep Liberty also.

If I had my druthers, I'd return the car for that reason only.

Other than that, the car is powerful and well appointed. The heated seats with memory are great and dual heater/air conditioning controls are perfect for us. The car rides very nicely, although I can compare it only to our 1996 Ford Explorer.

I wouldn't be too sure of the mileage claims. After about 1100 miles, my message center says I'm getting about 13.5 mpg with 80% local driving and 20% long distance.

What I thought was interesting was that we needed to fit golf clubs from side to side in the rear storage area. The Jeep Grand Cherokee was one of only two mid-sized SUVs that permitted this. The 2003 Ford Explorer, although 5" wider overall than its predecessors, is actually 4" narrower in the storage area from side to side. Finally, we think that the Grand Cherokee is the best looking of the SUVs, and the silver color we chose, always looks good no matter how dirty the car.

So I'd advise a long test drive before purchasing the car. You really don't realize the noise problem immediately, until it has been pointed out to you and you pay attention to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

8th May 2003, 13:50

Good Luck. Just wait until you have the pay the service bills. Judy.

6th Dec 2003, 20:39

I Just bought a 2004 Overland. My 1994 has 10 years 200,00+ miles runs flawlessly and had only normal repairs and maintenance, I still drive it every day and intend to keep it. I had a 1987 American Motors Jeep Cherokee that I also bought new. Great vehicle it went 287,000 miles and 12 years before someone drove into the back of it when it was parked, totaled it. Jeeps are great, but you need to equip them well, use all synthetic lubricants, engine, transmission, transfer case, differentials. You 'take care' of your Jeep, and it'll 'Take Care' of you.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews