2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 10

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Rocky Mountain 4.7 HO from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.7 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Grand National

Summary:

Hold on tight, this gas-hog pulls hard!

Faults:

Plastic intake manifold.

Bad brakes.

Heated seat not working.

Strange transmission shift.

Leaky seals (driveshaft).

Low quality stereo, expected better from infinity.

General Comments:

The 4.7 HO will blow your head off. Passengers wearing a loose hat will see it fly off when floored!

Keep in mind I owned an '87 Buick Grand National, this truck moves nice.

I complain, but the car has been great with not too many problems.

Gas is bad, but I put regular in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2006

9th Sep 2006, 02:54

Certainly not a trouble free rig, but after many rides with rented cars, I am always happy to jump in and enjoy true ruggedness, rattle-free rigid body. Of course, like many, would have to complain about annoying minor problems, but overall I am happy with the beast. I consider that Jeep is greater than life and since 1941 have inspired the world. But today's SUV challenge is to hold the road...

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7L 265 hp V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.7L 265 hp V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired41906 miles
Most recent distance42022 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Tailgating has never been so fun!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Bought the Jeep used as an upgrade from my 97 Chevrolet Blazer.

I loved the Overland edition when it came out in late 2002, and now I could finally afford one.

I cannot say enough good things about the engine. With 265 horsepower and 325 lbs of torque, it's a tailgater's dream! Puny little Civic or Jetta in the way? No problem!

The interior is spacious and comfortable as well, not to mention it's very usuable and durable. I've gone on several trips in it already and loaded all kinds of junk in the back, and it has passed every test so far.

Not surprisingly, the fuel economy stinks like a Banquet on Fear Factor. 13-18 city highway are optimistic figures.

All in all, it's a respectable and classy SUV that will achieve mostly every purpose and, more importantly, it's a Jeep. My only concern was long-term reliability, and we'll have to wait and see about that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2006

13th Jul 2006, 04:29

Tailgating is not fun, it's stupid.

20th Jul 2006, 03:54

If this reviewer's "idiosyncrasy" (I wouldn't like to use any other term...) on tailgating is not sufficient to delete this review I don't know what is.

22nd Jul 2006, 01:06

My only concern is your I.Q. Tailgating is idiotic.

23rd Jul 2006, 19:38

For the above 3 commenters... there are least two kinds of tailgating. I'm guessing this reviewer is talking about the kind that has to do with football games, beer, picnic food, and lots of hot women in sundresses.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6 Cyliner from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 6 Cyliner Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired39600 miles
Most recent distance39850 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Disappointed so far

Faults:

Constant "tapping" noise while idling.

General Comments:

I just bought a 2003 Grand Cherokee with 39000 miles on it. I am very disappointed with the 6 cylinder performance; it feels like a small 4 cylinder engine. I hope the overhead computer showing gas mileage is wrong - it says I'm getting about 8.5 mpg. The main thing that concerns me is the constant engine "tapping" when idling... is this normal? I purchased a Chrysler warranty for it - I wonder if I'll be using it sooner than later...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

8th May 2006, 21:54

I have a 2003 Grand Cherokee with around 47 thousand miles on it. The reader says 18 mpg, and my 6 cylinder engine, although not high performance, definitely feels more powerful than a 4 cylinder engine. I'm sorry to say, but whoever you bought it from abused the poor thing beyond cruelty. I've owned mine since it came out around 2003. With normal maintenance and not "flooring it" (for lack of better vocabulary), it's made a great vehicle.

9th Sep 2006, 02:18

Don't buy a jeep if mileage is an issue. They just like to be push hard. I service it myself, and after changing 200 $ of suspension bushings, it just ride like a dream. Potholes eater thanks to solid structure.

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7 V8 from Mexico

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

I woke up, and my nightmare is still there

Faults:

The week after I bought it (brand new) the a/c wouldn't work anymore. Took it to the dealer, got it fixed under the warranty, then 5000 kms later, the power steering was leaking some fluid. Fixed it under the warranty.

15000 kms, the first transmission was blown, fixed under the warranty.

23000 kms, the 4wd system started to make a lot of noise. I took it to the dealer and they told me that some parts needed to be changed, still under warranty.

27000 kms, a/c won't work again, fixed under warranty, then the happiness began, no more problems until 40000 kms. The second transmission was blown (thank god I bought extended warranty) fixed under warranty.

At 50000 kms I changed all of the brake discs. They told me that warranty wouldn't take care of that.

70000 kms, the third transmission had blown, now I had to pay for it 3,000 dlls.

Right now it has 80,000 kms and everything seems to be OK.

I miss my Ford Explorer. I had it from 1998 to 2003, with no major problems. I curse the day I traded my Explorer for this piece of junksler.

General Comments:

I got a lemon, and Chrysler doesn't care about that. I will never never buy another Chrysler product again. I'm going to trade this SUV for the brand new Explorer. I hope this new Explorer is as good as the old one I used to drive.

I think that if it wasn't for the warranty I would be poor right now from spending thousands of dollars fixing problems.

I also have some nice comments about the SUV:

The seats are comfortable.

The sound system is great.

The engine is pretty fast.

The design of the truck is beautiful.

That's it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2005

17th Dec 2005, 01:38

Funny how reading that someone is having similar problems with their Jeep makes me feel better. Good thing I am leasing this junk, so I can look forward to returning it to the dealership.

9th Sep 2006, 02:36

Come and try my 1999. With minimum maintenance it drive like new. By the way, to kill a 45rfe Chrysler's transmission, you just need a dealer. Otherwise a 39,99 sensor will make it new.

You probably went home with the same transmission, repaint. The should have reprogrammed it.

11th May 2007, 14:29

You just had bad luck with this one because Ford Explorers are not really good cars either. I had one myself and the engine rattled a lot, the windows weren't working properly, wobbled too much to the side when going over bumps. I would personally rather stick with A Jeep Liberty-that's the only SUV Consumer reports reccomended from Jeep. The only thing good about Ford are their trucks!

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews