2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Special Edition 4 litre inline 6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 litre inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance21877 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz S-Class

Summary:

Great

Faults:

What faults?

General Comments:

Jeep is our first American built vehicle too!

We bought our 04 Grand Cherokee Special Edition inline 6 new in November 2003. After my wife test drove the JGC and a few cars/SUVs from various brands, she wanted the aggressive looking yet stylish JGC. Our JGC has many options

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I-6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance25550 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

The brake rotors warped after 10,000 miles.

Motor mount needed to be replaced about 6 months after we purchased it.

Cruise control went out during a long trip over the holidays, which the dealer later said a hose just came off.

The Jeep Grand Cherokee with the I-6 is greatly under powered and is not a good solution to the V-8.

General Comments:

The Jeep Grand Cherokee looks good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2005

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7 V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2567 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A true JEEP built for both on and challenging off-road use!

Faults:

No repairs.

Warranty or otherwise!

Has Chrome front grille & wheels that would look appropriate on a 59 Caddy!

Like the Cherokees and Grand Cherokees before it this vehicle has too little rear seat leg room for America's Super-Sized adults.

This is the Top-Of-The-Line Model, the most expensive JEEP one can buy.

General Comments:

Has every option except adjustable pedals and an engine heater, thanks to numerous sales incentives I paid 32 K + tax delivered New.

Has a solid front axle, superior for off-Road use over independent suspension.

Has an old tried and true design from a design that made the phrase SUV possible.

Has more visibility and larger windows than the newer 'high belt line' design.

Geared very low to pull trailer.

Rides great off road, but is a bit rougher than the shopping mall/generous tush folks will appreciate. They should buy the Alabama-Benz AWD minivan instead.

This is my 3rd Jeep since 87, and I still drive my 94 Limited with over 200K miles on it. An excellent vehicle that prompted me to buy another before Daimler 'soccer mom'd' it for 05!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2005

2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7 litre from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance2457 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A n SUV perfectly balanced between Off-Road and On!

Faults:

After one year I have had no repairs at all.

General Comments:

Comfortable for an off-road vehicle.

Big, but not too big SUV.

Full Size Spare tire.

Very low gearing, probably because it came with the trailer hitch.

Ride has improved over my 94 Limited model, but the seats in 94 (waffle leather optional Luxury seats) are still more comfortable.

Excellent visibility.

Solid (Off-Road) front axle.

Pearlescent Red paint looks amazing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th January, 2005

19th Jan 2005, 17:36

Check out the 2005 Grand Cherokees. They are amazing.

The ride and handling is fantastic.

21st Jan 2005, 14:04

My 2004 Overland was bought to avoid having to settle for a 2005. The 2005 has much smaller windows/less visibility, a 'Soccer Mom' front suspension similar to Daimlers Shopping Mall SUV, the 'Alabama-Benz '. The 05 Quadra drive uses a brake applied/traction contorl just like the Alabama Benz. I recall one car magazine reviewer who used it on a slush covered road saying that while his BAMA-Benz SUV was applying its brakes in a search for traction, a rusted out FORD Escort Blew right by him! THAT is why I own an 04!

26th Jun 2005, 22:45

Don't get me wrong... I own and love an 04 Grand Cherokee. However, I'm sorry, the 2005 Grand Cherokee does NOT use brake applied/traction control for its Quadra-drive. They are completely unrelated. You might mean that the 05 Grand cherokee offers Four-Wheel Brake Traction Control, along with standard Electronic Stability Program. (which can be disabled)

The Quadra-drive system has actually been improved upon. It still effectively shifts torque to any of the four wheels as needed for maximum traction without ANYTHING else needing to be done.

There is NO WAY most SUV's can blow past any 2005 Grand Cherokee with Quadra Drive much less some escort.

27th Dec 2005, 20:25

Come on people, am I the only one having hundreds of problems with these grand cherokees??? I have a 2003 and it's a nightmare!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 32 reviews