2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

Outstanding value, luxury, and performance. What more can you ask for?

Faults:

Oxygen sensor.

Air and fuel sensor replaced at 87000 miles.

Replaced entire braking system at 145000 miles (my fault - aggressive driving).

General Comments:

This car runs like I just purchased it yesterday.

The cabin is clean and functional.

This car still puts a smile on my face.

If you punch the gas, you will sink into the seat as the world flies by!

I will never buy any other car other than a Nissan Maxima.

It handles like a dream and is as fast as any other sedan.

I've had minimal problems with the car, and it feels like it's new. With proper maintenance and service the Maxima is hard to beat for value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2009

2001 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Summary:

It is unreliable after the service engine light comes on

Faults:

My 2001 Maxima ignition coil #4 failed at the 142000 mile mark. I replaced it; fortunately I did not pay as much as some people have after taking it to a Nissan dealer; they are ripping off people.

I then discovered that the oxygen sensor was bad too. Fortunately I own a very sophisticated scanner, and I just cleared the ECM and the light went off. (By the way, I did replace the O2 sensor.)

But now it is indicating that the pre-cat in bank 2 is bad, too.

I guess I'm done with Nissan vehicles. They don't make the way they used too.

General Comments:

My Maxima runs great. It doesn't seem to have anything wrong, but about 2 to 3 weeks after clearing the E.C.M. it just shuts off on a stop light and the light appears again.

The car is OK I guess, but it has become too unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2008

5th Apr 2014, 22:35

Coil failure, then oxygen sensor, then catalytic converter failure is common, in that order.

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Expensive to buy... expensive to repair

Faults:

I've had to replace the starter, alternator, radiator, water pump, exhaust, catalytic converter and muffler. The "Service Engine Soon" light bulb is very reliable and has been illuminated for at least half the life of the car. At times the car is a delight to drive; smooth, powerfull etc. Other times it sputters, shakes and quivers. This cars' reliability is like the box of chocolates from Forest Gump; you never know what you're gonna get.

General Comments:

At times this car is a blast to drive. Other times, it will expand your vocabulary when it needs another repair. I've spent at least $7,000 in repairs alone on this vehicle. I'm very disapointed with Nissan and would not buy another one again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th November, 2007

2001 Nissan Maxima from North America

Summary:

A poor excuse for Japanese engineering

Faults:

Check engine light always on.

Idle control issue for last 40k miles.

Code P0505.

Air/heat temps are not variable, either very cold or very hot.

General Comments:

Don't fool yourself by thinking you are getting more car for the money. The premium you pay for this car is not worth it.

Once you have a P0505 code, it is like herpes, you will never get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

10th Dec 2008, 15:23

P0505 - that's a $1600 repair... IACV + ECU.

2001 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America

Summary:

Better than most cars I have owned

Faults:

Check engine light has come on numerous times over the years.

Drivers seat started to wear from day one and is now is quite worn.

General Comments:

The car is compfortable to ride on both short and long trips. The truck is quite roomy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2007

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 20th Anniversary V6 from North America

Summary:

Nice design... expensive to maintain

Faults:

OK EVERYONE PLEASE LISTEN!!! IF YOUR 2000-2002 Maxima has issue with stalling in park or while idle DO NOT TAKE TO NISSAN DEALERSHIP!!! They will try to tell you that either you need Mass Air Flow Sensor ($650), Ignition Coils ($1,000), or 02 sensors ($500).

All you need to do is take the car to a local mechanic and tell them to please clean the throttle body & mass air flow.

Cost me $69.00 and car runs like its brand new again. The mechanic mentioned that they will not clean the throttle body for you at Nissan because they want to lure you into replacing all these other parts. The Maxima especially gets a lot of build up of this black gunk inside the throttle body.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2007

10th Mar 2009, 16:28

I am wanting to know if you had any other sensors out while this was happening?