2001 Nissan Maxima 3.0 from North America


Engine service light problem


Engine service light came on. Replaced O2 sensors for $300.

2 months later, engine service light on again, don't know how much it will cost now.

General Comments:

The car is nice, but requires too much maintenance.

Instead buy a more reliable car like a Camry V6 or Accord V6. Trust me, it will be much better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2006

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 liter from North America


Get ready to pay big bucks for fixes!


Service engine soon light came on at 52K miles.

Catalytic converter and O2 sensors replaced at 53K miles.

At 83K miles dealer wants to replace same parts again at my cost - $1200.

General Comments:

Loved the car when new, has good handling and ample power.

Cannot trust Nissan service department. Will go to independent service if necessary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2006

1st Dec 2006, 21:43

I too own a 2001 Nissan Maxima and I'm having issues with the "Service Engine Soon" light. It seems that light has been on through most of the life of the vehicle. I took my car to the dealer and they were able to turn the light off on three occasions, but within a few days the light was back on. When I took it in again for the forth time I was told the catalytic converter needed to be replaced. After they informed me it would cost $1,300 to replace and I told them not to touch it. What's interesting here is I had an extended warranty (100,000 miles) and it was not until I was over the miles on the warranty they announced what the problem was. Why didn't they tell me what the problem was while it was still under the warranty? Perhaps Nissan does not pay the dealership enough on the warranty claim so they waited for the miles to be exceeded and let me pay for it.

When the car is running it's a delight to drive. When it's in the shop it costs a fortune to repair. The Escort GT I owned prior to the Maxima was MUCH more reliable and MUCH less costly to repair. I have spent at least $7,000 in repairs (Not including the maintenance) to keep the Maxima on the road.

I will NEVER buy another Nissan!

4th Dec 2006, 08:36

$7,000?! What the hell did you do, take it to the dealer?

In my experience, you only go to the dealer, if no one else has the tools to do the work (not likely). Otherwise, you either take it somewhere else, or do it yourself.

30th Dec 2006, 17:49

I agree with above comment: Don't take the car to a dealer unless you have to. Get an estimate from a good shop first. You may save a lot of money. My Service light went on, too. I took it to Autozone for a free light test, and they turned the light off for me for free. (The light possibly came on for a gas cap I did not put on and turn for three clicks. The light test was inconclusive. However, the light did not go off, as it is supposed to in a few runs with the car after I corrected the possible gas-cap malfunction.) It must not have been any serious problem, because I took the car for an inspection sticker a few weeks later, and it passed all the tests, including a stiff emissions one.

2001 Nissan Maxima from North America


I could have done a lot better


O2 sensor causes the check engine soon light to come on randomly.

Start up problems.

Seats wear badly.

Front end steering is inconsistent.

General Comments:

Normally a reliable car. however this mysterious O2 sensor problem is costly and annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th November, 2006

2001 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 V6 from North America


Have been disappointed in this over-rated, and over-priced car


2 Oxyten sensors bad at 92,507

Oxygen sensor and Catalytic Converter bad at 105,344

Catalytic converter bad again at 145,000

Knocking in front end since about 80,000; just found out about recall; no dealers have ever mentioned a recall

Rotors had to be resurfaced at 20,000 miles, have replaced them a couple times, and have been resurfaced several times. While owning this care, have had very limited time with smooth braking action due to ongoing issues with warped rotors, even though mostly highway driving and nothing to cause abnormal wear or warping.

General Comments:

Some aspects very good--comfort, power, features.

Some bad--front end issues, catalytic converter and Oxygen sensors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2006

16th Jul 2007, 14:47

I also have a 2001 Maxima Se, and in general have really enjoyed the car, but have had a continuous, frustrating problem with the brake rotors. We have had them either resurfaced or replaced at least 4 times, at significant cost each time, and there's only 65,000 miles on the car! We live in town, no dirt roads, do not jam on brakes or drive the car hard, so why is this?? The dealer tells us and everyone else that has this problem that it's driving habits, but have Never had this problem on any other vehicle we have owned. In fact, own a 1999 GMC pickup with More miles on it with the original brakes. On the NHTSA website there are a bunch of other complaints about the same problem as well. We are taking it to be fixed, yet again, tomorrow to throw our money down the drain only to do this again in another 12,000-15,000 miles! I also notice that the Infiniti, just a fancy Nissan, has a class action lawsuit because of THEIR brake problems.. anybody else have this problem?