2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America


If you like to drive a fun, roomy, and stylish car, you will love the Nissan Maxima


General maintenance is all I have had to do thus far.

General Comments:

All the good things you have heard about this car are true.

This is one of the best cars ever made. Reliable, quick, comfortable, and affordable.

The BOSE sound system is exceptional. Engine/tire noise are almost unnoticeable.

I am 6'3" and I have no trouble fitting inside the car (front or back seats). Leg room is aplenty! Trunk space is above average.

Don't buy an Accord or Camry without giving the Maxima a chance. You will also appreciate Nissan service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

20th Jun 2005, 16:29

This car sucks and so does the dealer for service.

19th Sep 2007, 22:45

Whoever says this car sucks must have ended up with a faulty one b/c ours are doing great, mine's at 156,000, and running smooth.

2001 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.5L V6 from North America


Good value for fast medium sized car


1st recall: accelerator pedal stopper. Work had to be done twice because dealer replaced stopper w/wrong one (found out the hard way while on a track).

2nd recall: pins that hold lower control arms to the frame could break (pins didn't break on me, but my car was in affected group, so I had work done).

I've had assorted buzzes and rattles, which is a bit disconcerting for a car this age.

Paint chips easily, ended up getting clear bra on front of car to prevent further chipping.

Other than above issues, car has been trouble free.

General Comments:

This is actually for a 2002 Maxima GXE (but I bought it on 2001).

I love the amount of power the car has and the overall smoothness of the ride. Handling is decent. Car is definitely fun to drive (unlike my old 91 Camry). I like the controls on the steering wheel for both the stereo and cruise control. Stock stereo sounds pretty decent. I'm overall pretty happy w/the ergonomics.

HID headlights are very nice, but I wish they were aimed a bit further forward/up.

Seats are pretty comfortable, but I dislike the amount of tension built into the front seat belts. I wish they were a bit looser.

I'm a little disappointed by the amount of rattles and buzzes I have already and a bit concerned about having two recalls already. But, overall, I'm still quite happy w/the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2003

2001 Nissan Maxima ST 3.0 V6 from Australia and New Zealand


Absolute bargain for a luxury import


Dealer adjusted the front seats by adding spacers to the rear mounting bolts. This raised the rear of the seat to improve lumbar support functionality and thereby minimise lower back pain.

General Comments:

Handling, acceleration and drive train refinement all excellent.

Price at $33,000 before on-road costs is excellent (for Australia) bearing in mind this car rates as a luxury import (e.g. a VW Passat V6 costs $55,000).

Rear suspension too "floaty" on poor road surfaces. Needs more rigid rear coil springs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2001

9th Dec 2002, 05:27

$33000? Gee... good deal!

I find the rear suspension a little stiff (when sitting in the rear seats).

1st May 2003, 12:49

I had the rear on my 2001 GXE bottom-out once when LOADED with 4 adults and a trunk full of luggage.

The ride did seem smoother though, and there was no loss of power, handling or braking - can't say that about any other car I've driven.

Maxima is the Maximus. Finally though, the 2003 Accord V6 has caught up with the 2000 Maxima in power and room, but fails in handling and a balky tranny, IMHO.

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L DOHC V-6, 5-spd from North America


World's best sports sedan - HARDLY!!

General Comments:

I wanted to test drive the sportiest of the sedans under $30,000 to see if I could live with any of them. So I went to what has been touted as the best sports sedan anywhere for like the last 7 years or something. What a disappointment.

Comfort and ergonomics are very weird and awkward.

Feels light, but that's the only kind of feeling you'll get. How can a "sport sedan" be so disconnected from the road?! It was like a coffin it was so insulated!

Steering is way too light even though Nissan calls it "firm".

Very slow acceleration, handling nothing special. Clutch grabs way too high.

Car will put you to sleep it is so boring and quiet and insulated.

Very expensive, very ugly, and 5-spd models are very rare.

The only thing I liked was the variable assist steering that makes parking a breeze.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

22nd Jun 2006, 08:38

These are all things which should become apparent BEFORE you buy the car. This is why you test drive vehicles before you purchase. A proper test drive would have made all these "complaints" of yours come to light right off the bat.

1st Feb 2007, 16:34

I'm not sure what kind of large sedans your used to, but slow acceleration??? is 6.5 seconds too slow...that's funny.

19th Jun 2007, 03:21

The clutch grabs too high? All clutches are different. Why do you think the friction point changes when you get the clutch replaced in a car. I happen to have a 5 speed Maxima, and the friction point is right in the middle.

26th Apr 2010, 12:48

So did you decide it was ugly before or after you bought it? That's a lot of money to pay for a car you thought was ugly.

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 Liter from North America


Afforable luxury with definite POWER


Nothing at all!

General Comments:

The car is absolutely great. Runs great, feels great, and looks great!

Very minimal cabin noise, I can hardly hear the engine.

Handling is great, steering wheel adjusts at different speeds to let driver have maximum control. This one is really a road hugger! Though heavier and wider than the previous 90-99 models, it handles itself the way a Maxima should: very nicely!

Completes the quarter mile in 15.1 seconds, no other car can compete! That's not also including it's 0-60 mph in 6.7 seconds, and 60-0 mph in 3.1 seconds! I love this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2000

9th Mar 2001, 22:18

People throw around words like "high-performance" way too freely. For those who are reading, please don't be mislead - a 15.1 second quartermile is very poor for a car advertised on performance. Compare it to a Mustang GT's 14 second quartermile flat, or a Camaro SS' 13.5 quartermile (cheaper cars with more standard luxury features and better handling). Who takes front wheel drive cars to dragstrips, I don't know, but I felt the need to confront his "no car can beat it" which was a very hasty remark.