2001 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America


Quiet, powerful cruiser


Nothing to date.

General Comments:

I picked the car up used and had the windows tinted and a full leather (not just trimmed) interior installed. Turned the base model into a sport/luxury cruiser (I wish I would've got the manual transmission).

Great power, smooth deliver, competent handling, high quality fit and finish. Nice growl from the exhaust.

It's great to own a sedan that is 100% reliable and isn't a Toyota Camry or Honda Accord (not bad cars, but a little too common for my liking). Fuel mileage could be better, but as long as I keep a light touch on the throttle it is acceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 20th Anniversary Ed. 3.0L from North America


My 2001 Nissan Maxima SE Aniv Ed. Sucks!


Needed new starter, needed new ABS sensor, still have other sensor problems on the car, the car revs from 1 - 2 RPMS on its own - took it to the dealership 3 TIMES and they still can't fix the problem, needs a new clutch (didn't tell me that when I bought the car), car jerks when I drive in 1st gear.

General Comments:

This car looks nice at first glance, but don't be fooled! You are asking for MANY electrical/mechanical problems if you buy a Nissan Maxima. Dealer service and Nissan Canada Head office service is terrible! Both places are giving me the run-around. PROCEED WITH CAUTION IF BUYING A NISSAN!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

15th Oct 2005, 11:30

It sounds as though the car was abused prior to your purchase. That would make it a problem with the previous owner and the used car lot you bought it from. Next time when purchasing a used car, take it to a qualified and trusted mechanic for inspection before you purchase. It will you save you in the long run.

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America


Best sports sedan for the money. Bulletproof


Engine light came on due to malfunctioned catalytic converter at 55000. No replacement due to not needing to pass emission test. Likely cat blew due to prior owner being less than perfect at maintenance and not running premium fuel.

Original Tires which were Bridgestone Potenza's were mediocre.

General Comments:

Engine and Transmission performance is phenomenal.

Plush appointments.

Bose stereo is as good as a Bose can be, meaning you can't push too much power before distortion.

Roomy backseat and trunk.

Handling is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2005

2001 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 6 Cylinder from North America


Nice car, but not very reliable


Transmission shifts very rough.

Service engine soon light illuminates frequently.

Bose stereo sub rattles horribly.

Leather seats crack easily.

Front power windows squeak and are extremely slow.

Ticking noise from engine.

Sometimes rough idle.

General Comments:

I love this car and it's very comfortable. The ride is smooth, powerful, and refined.

However, the reliability is something I worry about with this car. I have had numerous problems with the car since I purchased it a few months ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

5th Apr 2006, 00:29

The engine ticking will usually stop if you put a 91 octane rated fuel or higher in it and drive it hard for about a half hour on the highway. The front windows can be greased and this will resolve the slow window problem and the squeaking.

2001 Nissan Maxima SE Anniversary Edition from North America


I enjoy my Maxima, but the service at Nissan sucks!


The SE Service Engine light comes on almost every month (FYI: Ignore it and it will go away within a few trips, its just a ploy to get you into the dealership everytime your car is close to an oil change)

I was also just recently told that my alternator is going out.

General Comments:

The Nissan Service Department is very unprofessional and from reading some of these postings, I have realized that they must make a commission off of the services that they sell off to people. I am a woman, and every time I come there, the same service guy helps me and adds about 3 more "fixes" than what I originally came for. This includes oil changes too. The last time I came to change a battery, it cost me $175! After I declined to get my alternator replaced for $600! I am so disgusted with the service that Nissan has, it takes away from the value of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2004

17th Oct 2004, 15:05

No one says you have to use dealer for service. Go to an independent garage like Goodyear, City Garage, Pep boys etc (ask friends or co-workers for recommendations). I no longer use dealers, even for new cars. Worst service and highest prices.

28th Jun 2005, 10:56

I own a maxima. I should have never bought its the worst car ever. I bought it used and it woked real good for a couple of months. Then I had the whole engine just shut off in the middle of a turn in a major intersection. I had to replace the ignition control valve about 500.00. so now its been 5 months the car was running well and it happened again it just shut down wouldn't turn over at all. so now it sounds like it's the fuel pump or something. this car SUCKS I should have kept my Toyota Corrola I could have drove that thing with one wheel while on fire and it would have still drove fine.