2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L from North America


This car is junk


I am absolutely shocked at the low level of quality of this car. Even more shocked at the level of service at the dealerships. Let see.. what we wrong (so far)

1. ABS Sensor needed to be replaced

2. 2 O2 sensors needed to be replaced

3. Faulty wiring in the front headlight

4. Recently took my car for an oil change (at the dealership), now its leaking oil.

5. Clutch is gone

6. Steering audio controls don't work

7. Needed a new starter

8. Leather is VERY poor quality, seats already tearing even with weekly applications of leather conditioner.

9. My slave and master cylinders might need to be replaced.

There are other problems I've had with this car as well as with the dealership. Nissan Canada (and its dealerships) will not stand behind their product. I WOULD NEVER BUY A NISSAN IN MY LIFE AGAIN!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2006

23rd Oct 2006, 18:07

I'm sorry to inform you, but either you're a careless driver or you are being taken for a ride at the dealership with this car!

13th Dec 2006, 11:17

I'm sorry too because my maxima has 115500 miles on it and I have NEVER had a problem.

17th Feb 2007, 09:56

I too fell victim to buying this beauty of a problematic car, Nissan does need a recall.

Front right headlight problem, Ignition coils, wheel alignment. Front right wheel problem.

17th Jul 2007, 03:18

Front wheel problem?

Quit running into curbs while drunk and doing 70 mph!

2001 Nissan Maxima from North America


Nice ride few problems


My My maxima recently had a hard time starting, and when accelerating it hesitated, check engine light on, much like the complaints I'm reading about coils going bad, I took it to a shop that only does electronic diagnostics on cars, they found it to be a Cam SHAFT POSITION SENSOR on the car. I looked at recalls for my i30 since its just a dressed up maxima, and sure enough there are recalls for the 2002 i30 cam shaft position sensors both front and rear, so check the recalls I don't believe there were any on the maxima, but double check. sensors are $70 -$90 at auto parts stores, if there is a recall take it to dealer and have them do it for free, they will even give you a free loaner car.

General Comments:

Good car every car has something wrong with it from, FORD, Chrysler, infiniti, to Bentley. weigh pros and cons good car for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2006

2001 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0L 6 Cylinder from North America


A great family four door sedan with the ability to raise your adrenaline with a smash of the gas!


Only two things: The A/C compressor failed and was replaced under warranty. The Mass Air Flow sensor failed and was replaced at a cost of nearly $500 at the dealer. This is a part that can be purchased through a parts house and installed by anyone who can turn a screwdriver.

General Comments:


With the right tires this car handles nearly like a BMW 5 series.

It is quite on the inside.

Low maintenance costs.

Very powerful engine. Mine has done 135 MPH.

Excellent stereo system with the Bose upgrade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

2001 Nissan Maxima Anniversary edition 3.0 from North America


This car will rock your socks off on your way to fifth avenue


-Leather seat (driver side) ripped

-Daytime running lights don't work

-headlights and interior lights flicker.

General Comments:

I really like this car overall - it has excellent power and looks great inside and out. I have never driven a car with an engine so smooth and powerful at the same time. However it does have some problems that I wouldn't expect from this caliber of automobile.

The wiring is a serious problem that I think will cost me big $$ pretty soon.

The drivers side power window is extremely underpowered and barely opens or closes when it is below freezing outside. The leather seat (drivers side) recently began to tear (I saw a few others with this problem when I was car shopping so it must be a quality issue)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2005