2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L from North America


Well built-sports sedan


Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I recently bought a 2001 Maxima after searching around for a good sized V6. I chose the Maxima because of its roomy interior and well-built engine. I also test-drove a Mazda Millenia S, and a V6 Honda Accord. I went with the Maxima because it has more standard HP, and it handles beautifully.

My model Maxima is equipped with leather seats, Bose audio, and 17 inch wheels. I have never felt uncomfortable, nor have I ever felt my car slip, as the wheels grip the ground very well. And the Bose audio is simply heaven to a music lover like myself.

The only possible problem that I have heard about the Maxima, is that the transmission is a little suspect. I myself have never known a person to have any problems, and my friend has owned one for years and never had a problem with his.

I recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a well-made V6 sporty sedan, which also performs like a larger engined car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

4th Aug 2005, 10:24

Referring to the last comment, if you're going to the dealer to get your car fixed there's your first problem. Dealers are in the business to make money. ESPECIALLY the service departments. The more they can get you to bring your car back the more they stand to make so a quality fix the first time is not the norm.

2001 Nissan Maxima GXE 6 cylinder from North America


A terrific car at a very good price


I've had this car for 2 years now and I can't think of a single thing that has gone wrong. I will need new wiper blades soon though.

General Comments:

I believe this car is the best all around automotive value available today. It has an amazing engine, It handles very well and is quite quiet and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

2001 Nissan Maxima SE from North America


This automobile is junk..


4 tires replaced at 30,000 miles. cost over 200 dollars each.

02 sensor at 15,000 miles.

Front right wheel bearing at 70,000 miles over 400 dollars.

Brakes, front and rear ever 15,000 miles.

Cabin filter cost 70 dollars to replace.

General Comments:

The Automobile is junk.There's no other automobile on the market in this price range I believe as bad as this automobile. Guest What, the manufacturer will not stand behind this pile of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

9th Mar 2004, 19:14

Having owned 4 Maxima's I would disagree somewhat with your overall review, I do admit the quality level of Max's has gone down just like almost everything else in our marketplace today just to stay in business. But in the long run, your car will be a very reliable and fun car to drive, just get all your bugs out first. My model is a 2002 and it looks like a lot of your problems have been addressed except for my skipping BOSE. Best of luck to you.

12th May 2004, 20:34

Junk? Try reading Passat reviews and see how many things can go wrong with modern cars. Your problems are few. OEM tires often wear out by 30k so that's normal.

22nd Sep 2004, 19:39

My Nissan 2002 Maxima Problem Report:

1. Right Front Wheel bearing failed at 40K

2. Left Front Wheel bearing failed at 70K

3. Bose Left channel drop out on CD began at 35K

4. Front Brakes gone at 50K

5. Tires gone at 25-30K

6. transmission sifting use to be abrupt, but dealer updated program I believe.. much better now.

2 recalls: transverse link and headlight anti theft.

Not the Japanese reliability that I was accustomed to.

29th Mar 2005, 10:36

I have a 2001 Maxima, SE model Anniversay Addition. I have wanted a Maxima for years, & bought mine right off the showroom floor. I LOVE it! I had to replace tires @ approx 40,000 miles, which I felt was normal. I shopped around & got them for less than $200 a piece. Now, at 50,000 miles I'm having to replace the O2 sensor. So that seems to be the one major problem. I am having a little problem with my steering wheel radio controls, but that doesn't surprise me. The more bells & whistles you have, the more to go wrong. Still, I love my Maxima & hope to be driving it for a long time. It's the best car I've had, & I love driving it.