2001 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0 from North America


Vehicle is not worth the the $ 30,000 I paid


My cruise control surges. The vehicle was taken to two dealers and problem was not corrected. One dealer kept the vehicle for two weeks. They advised they could duplicate the problem, but could not repair. Another dealer advised that this is normal condition.

When vehicle had less than 1000 miles, had to return to dealer twice for wiper insert.

The engine knocks on startup. Dealer was unable to duplicate.

General Comments:

I love the performance of this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2003

14th Dec 2003, 17:41

I believe you have a lemon.

Write a letter to Nissan America, and they will almost certainly honor your complaints and do something about it. Nissan Dealerships have a nasty reputation for being very hesitant to correct small issues like the ones you are experiencing. Even here in Australia they are a pain to deal with.

However, back on topic, if Nissan America does not help you (this is very unlikely) send a letter to Nissan Head Office in Japan. They will undoubtedly do what they can to help you. As I mentioned, I believe this will be unnecessary as Nissan America will almost definitely help you.

Cheers from Australia.

24th May 2007, 07:00

I have a 2001 20th with No issues. Bought new & now has 42k miles. Are you using quality gas? Chevron is what I have heard is the best. Be sure to use 91 octane, it is mandatory!

2001 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America


Performance and luxury in one solid package


Problem free.

General Comments:

This car is a luxury car with an engine of a sports car.

The only major complaint with it is I wish the suspension were a little better at handling bumps, but it handles road inclines and responds to every move of the steering wheel.

Has a reasonable turning radius for its size and good acceleration with a 5-speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2003

2001 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 V6 from North America


Power and Grace, Leather and Lace


Spokane, WA 5-1-2003 my age: 42, male.

The paint has chipped too easily, especially on the hood.

The front end alignment went off when my wife hit a curb hard in a snowstorm.

The engine smells when driving up hill.

The paint on the inside door trim rubs off too easily.

The brakes chatter badly when stopping fast.

General Comments:

The Maxima is our choice when shopping between the Accord, Camry or Intrigue. Maxima has the best combination of POWER, room, ride and quality of construction and durability.

We have been disappointed in the paint, however.

The power and overall silky-smoothness are incredible. I was passing cars on a recent trip @ 100 MPH without trying. WHOOSH, and you're all alone on the highway. This car goes SO fast before you even realize what happened. The Maxima does so in quiet and comfort.

Some nice features we have never had on a car before:

Automatic headlights

Automatic dimming mirror

6 speaker stereo with CD and cassette

Built-in garage remote

Dome light that dims like theater lighting.

Our Maxima has 50-series low profile, high speed tires which we will be changing. We will go to a 60-series for a softer ride and more wet/snow traction. We will report on the difference we notice at that time. Our freeways are rutted causing rivers that we hydroplane in. The city streets are full of potholes and patches which explains why trucks are preferred by redneck and royalty alike. The weather in winter is awful with frequent snow. We need good all-season tires so will sacrifice some high speed performance.

The Maxima is your best bet if you are shopping for a roomy sedan that is reliable and comfortable. The Maxima has more power than any comparable automobile available, a fact that street racers in their little civics try to test daily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2003

19th Oct 2004, 20:16

Geez, when you described the condition of your streets (and the rednecks and royalty), I had to flip up to the top to see where you are living--thought it must be New Orleans, pot-hole city, u.s.a.

I need strut and brake work--about $1500 or more; thinking of getting another Maxima (used) or something like an Acura Legend because can't afford BMW 325 cic which is what I really want.

My sensors are always acting up, and from checking the 2000, I see the problem continues. Car is hard to start, sensor replaced, stopped down the road, same problem. They can't fix it--it's intermittently failing. But I must say, rattled and rattly she be, the ole girl has never failed to start. This is the longest I have kept a car in my life ('95 GXE w/all the packages) --on our way back from evacuating for Ivan, I hit 100,000. But the ole girl's wearing out all over from living in pothole-city, u.s.a.

18th Jul 2008, 09:28

Well people tend to overlook the engine in this car. which to me is its biggest draw. The VQ series are award winning engines. The revised twin turbo version of the same engine in this Maxima used to power Super GT Skylines and Nissan Zs in japan.

23rd Aug 2010, 18:40

The car has a squeak in the right front suspension that Les Schwab can't find and can't resolve. I am also from Spokane, Pothole Capital of the West.

The paint has been brittle and chips easily. I have the pearl color. Black paint on the doors chips easily too.

It has no mechanical problems to speak of. Amazing acceleration and power from the 3.0.

Love it! Don't love using Premium gas though.