2001 Nissan Maxima GLE 3.0L from North America


Anthing but a Nissan


In the last 2 months, I've had to pay out over two grand in repair costs.

Catalytic converter, mass air flow sensor, idle air controller, and yesterday it was the electronic control modulator. It's aggravating that you have to buy all parts from Nissan, and on some you have to go back to the the dealer to get that component reprogrammed at $108.

They get you coming and going, and the attitude the service area has is "they don't care". I though I was buying something that would last me for a while, but not now. I've spent more in the last two months on my Nissan than my 1992 GMC truck with 187000 miles and still going strong.

If you look at nissanhelp.com on my car, there are 2 recall items and 49 service bulletins on how to fix your car, and most of them are sensor related problems (big ticket items) to repair. I SAY NO TO NISSAN!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th March, 2007

15th Mar 2007, 09:17

2001 Nissan Maxima

I am on my second catalytic converter because the service engine soon light keeps coming on. It has been about a year since the light was on, and I'm waiting until next month when my '07 sticker is due. I'm also having problem with the car starting, since I bought it new in April 2002, but the dealer couldn't find anything wrong. The oxygen sensor has been replaced twice so far, the struts on the back and now I need shocks on the front. I have about 140K miles, so I guess it's doing better than other. I wonder if the catalytic converter on an earlier model 2002 - 2005 will fit the 2001 and it is works better?

2001 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 from North America


I will never buy a Nissan again


O2 sensor

Idle Air Control Valve



General Comments:

Reliability is horrible.

Nissan will not stand behind their product.

This car has serious problems and the electical system should be recalled as it is dangerous.

Computer is known to burn up and will cause the steering and brakes to not work.

Nissan should take responsibility for the defective nature of this car's electrical system.

According to Nissan's own techs the IACV and ECU are defective and should be recalled and still Nissan does nothing. Nissan should be held accountable for any accidents that this causes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2007

30th Oct 2007, 00:11

Not to be rude, but how does the computer cause your brakes not to work. That is something I have never in my million mile driving experiance heard of.

5th Jul 2008, 11:05

The burning ECU feels like it causes the steering and brakes to go bad because the car will fail on the street while driving. When the IACV goes and while the ECU is burning the RPM is erratic and thus causes the vacuum in the power booster to stop, and the power steering pump not to pump enough fluid. Max 2000-2003 were definite lemons, only a few were OK. After 100k, IACV causes ECM because of no safety fuse, coil packs always go - beware if one or more goes, the rich fuel condition will cause your CATS to go out quickly, even after 20k from new OEM CATS!

23rd May 2009, 07:42

Well I too have an 01' Maxima, which I've only put about 13,000 miles on since I bought it used, and have replaced the alternator that went out with no warning at all, most of the time you can tell if they're going out with a little warning, and of course the IACV, along with the ECM, and this happened while driving. I too think Nissan needs to step up for a recall because this is expensive non-maintenance repairs.

2001 Nissan Maxima 3.0 from North America


Muffler - $170

121 000miles.

02 Sensor - $180

123 000miles.

Nothing More! Just tires and oil, regular maintenance.

General Comments:

Absolutely love the car. I've been through 5 cars before this one, and none of them compare. The Altima I had was garbage with some plastic around it when compared to the Maxima. Performance is amazing, topped out at 140mph, handling is superb, why buy a BMW and pay more money for bad reliability, gas mileage and ridiculous maintenance costs?

The interior is very spacious in the front seats as well as the back.

Am upgrading to a 2003 or 2002, if you do the research you'll see that the 2004 models are no good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2006

29th Jan 2007, 20:27

Update from the writer of this review.

Now at 143 000 miles (trips to florida from NY)

The car still drives brand new, only oil change (synthetic, definetly) and a new set of tires.