2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT 3.4L V6 from North America


Good for an American car


I have had the car for 48 hours and it is already in the shop for a dab fuel injector. Luckily, the warranty is still good. Otherwise I like the car a lot and I think it runs real well. One thing that could change is the seats, they are not very comfortable.

General Comments:

I think the car handles really well. I like the inside especially at night with the red accents. I haven't got a real chance to see what it can do performance wise, but it seems to be a good quick car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2002

29th Sep 2002, 16:26

This person just bought the car. How can this person have a valid opinion?

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.2 from North America


It is a poorly designed vehicle


The rotors needed replaced/turned three times so far. The first time being at 5,000 miles, second at 21,000 miles, then again at 29,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is unsafe. To have to replace/turn rotors in a car three times under two years is a very poorly designed braking system.

The brakes tend to vibrate causing the entire car to shake regardless of the speed being traveled.

Pontiac-General Motors Company has not been a "customer friendly" company towards my problems with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2002

12th Nov 2002, 20:43

My 2000 Grand am is a piece of junk!!! I had the car only 3 months and had to take it in 3 times due to the radio (when you turned down the volume, it just kept going up. I had the brakes and rotors repaired 4 times in the last 2 years and my power steering hose broke on the freeway during rush hour.Also, my motors for my windows have gone bad. The thing is, I am the original owner.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT from North America


Not worth your time or money


My rotors have been replaced 6 times in less than 2 years. My brakes 2 with in 1 year. Also just a number of minor things that have gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

I would never again buy another Grand Am, it was not worth my time or money. The company does not want to cover anything on it, or do they care, all I got was they would replace my rotors one time, then I have to pay for it, well that won't happen. It handles poorly in snow and rain. And I would not tell anyone to buy their car, especially if they can't stand behind their product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2002

9th Jul 2002, 09:51

I agree. I have a 2000 Grand Am and have had nothing but problems. I had to have the fuel pump replaced after having the car a year and a half, I had to have the rotors replaced (they were recalled) within 8 months of purchasing the car, and for the past 9 months, I have had to have it towed 6 times because it would not start. A mechanic told me that all the fuel pumps that were made to replace the original one on the 2000 Grand Am are defective, so if the most recent one that I had replaced goes bad, I am pretty much out of luck. I have spent more on towing in one month than what my car payment is!

2000 Pontiac Grand Am GT1 3.4 Ram Air from North America


Runs nice when it runs


Service Engine Soon light kept coming on. Eight trips to the dealer to fix.

Tire was 'plugged' when I purchased the car. Plug failed. I had to pay to replace the tire.

Both headlights fogged and were replaced.

Both outside mirrors became chalky and were replaced.

Brake disks out of true and were replaced.

The lower radiator support broke while it was in the shop having something else repaired.

General Comments:

The car is quick and fun to drive, but it is not comfortable for long drives.

It has 40,000 miles on it and has seen the shop more that it should in twice that mileage. The dealer cannot seem to fix problems without repeated trips. Calls to Pontiac haven't helped. I finally talked to the owner of the dealership who told me, "Don't call Pontiac, they really don't care." After he told me that, I realized for once someone was telling me the truth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2002

16th Aug 2002, 13:36

I agree with your article. I have had so many problems with my 2000 grandam gt until I could write a book. I've had problems ranging from transmission to service engine soon lights, and the calls to the pontiac customer care service dept are a joke. they recently offered 1,500 dollars off on my next pontiac or gm. I was willing to accept that offer, as long as it was for a TOYOTA OR NISSAN!