2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE1 3.4L from North America


Poor quality for the money


I have had this car for 14 months and had three sets of rotors on it. The manufacturer states this is not unusual... right, like I believe that! I intend on persuing this issue under the lemon law. Would never buy another Pontiac!!!

General Comments:

Poor quality parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th September, 2001

21st May 2003, 12:45

I have had the rotors replaced on my 1999 Grand Am twice- due to them being 'warped'. Three weeks after having the latest set put on along with new brake pads, the rotor is already warped and the pads need to be replaced. I am not happy at all and I think the car makers need to be paying to correct this problem!!!

15th Oct 2016, 15:28

Nope. I had a Grand Am with the same braking issue. No other car I had before or since had those problems.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4L L4 from North America


Good mass-market sedan, get an SE (the GT is no faster)

General Comments:

Good rental car. OK/ average comfort and handling.

Very slow, but at least the overmatched but roaring 4-cylinder doesn't get short-shifted by the tranny. Smooth steering. Decent stereos if you get the high end ones.

Horrible and complex ergonomics for the stereo and automatic door locks. Very annoying.

Save yourself the money and get a 4-cylinder SE, forget the GT. Even with the 3.4L V-6, it feels no faster at all partly due to a horribly-shifting automatic, and nor is it more responsive-handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

12th Jul 2002, 10:32

I seriously disagree with this review. I recently purchased a Grand Am SE1, 3.4L v6. I did try the v4 engine at the dealership at first and wasn't impressed with the power. But when I tried the v6, it was a huge difference. The acceleration on this vehicle is amazing. Grand Ams have a high torque rating which makes it powerful from a standstill to acceleration. It does lack some power when you reach top speed, but I can go from 0-60 in 7 seconds easily. I already plan on making my next car purchase to be the GT1 model. Same torque rating, same v6 but a much higher horsepower.

The seat contour does bother me a little and long trips can get slightly uncomfortable. My legs are long and so my seat sits back a little making the steering wheel feel a little far. I wish the CD player would play CD-RWs.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE2 3.4 from North America


Poor execution of a good idea..


Braking system on this automobile is horrible. Has been to the dealer 3 times for braking problems (vibration/scraping/grinding). Combination of resurfacing/replacing is a temporary fix only, problems come back within a few thousand miles. Last trip to the dealer, was told not to bring the car back for brake problems again??!!

General Comments:

Poor quality/construction of the braking system combined with even poorer dealer support make this a car to avoid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd July, 2001

6th Sep 2001, 14:03

I have had the same problem. Intend to pursue the lemon law.

21st Jun 2002, 01:25

I also agree that the braking systems are horrible. I have a 2000 GA and have had to replace the front routers and brake pads already at 35,000 miles. My front-left strut bearing also just blew out for no reason.

2000 Pontiac Grand Am SE 2.4 from North America


A definite reason not to buy another one


Car would not start at 11,000 and 15,000 miles.

Freeze plug around the driver's door has expanded times 4.

Radio display lights are jumbled when the vehicle first starts and for the first five minutes of driving.

Many other minor defects a new vehicle should not have.

General Comments:

I am very unhappy with this vehicle.

I have never had to wonder if my new vehicle will start in the morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

13th Oct 2016, 21:39

I disagree, I have a 2001 Grand Am SE 2.4 and it is a very good car, not a good highway car though. In city or town it's a very reliable car, good enough to get you from A to B safety, and pretty quick if you wanted to go a little faster. Not very many problems, runs good, turning radius is great. Very roomy car also minus the back seat. Once down, it doesn't sound very appealing, a little loud. I've had it for almost 3 years and the only problem is I have an ABS light with almost 200,000 miles on it. Also doesn't do as good on gas as it's said to do maybe 20 city and 28 highway.

15th Oct 2016, 00:48

Any problems with the freeze plug around the driver's door?