1993 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews - Page 2 of 9

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 kilometres
Most recent distance201500 kilometres

Summary:

Great starter car, and reliable and gas friendly

Faults:

Brakes hoses needed to be replaced.

Brake shoes replaced. (both at 194000km)

CV boot replaced.

General Comments:

Well for the most part this car has been good to me since I bought it. And to have bought a '93 in 2007 for my first car, it has gotten me where I need to go.

It is quick and good looking car. Decent for a first car.

Handles great and is cheap on gas. Interior is still looking good, and is well maintained on my part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th April, 2008

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 3.1 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired44000 kilometres
Most recent distance204000 kilometres
Previous carEagle COLT

Summary:

Best car I've owned so far

Faults:

Cv boots and arms replaced.

Drivers side window wouldn't roll down.

Transmission sensor.

Air condition was revamped; it was under warranty at the time.

General Comments:

I purchased this car from a dealer. It was of a lease back in 1996.

This car more than paid for itself, in fact I'm still driving it 48 kilometers everyday. Extremely reliable, and I can do most work on it myself.

Had it painted 3 years ago; looks awesome with new summer wheels. Everything else still stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2008

1993 Pontiac Sunbird 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Laser

Summary:

Overall, for its age, it's been a pretty reliable car

Faults:

Replaced the starter at 45000 miles.

Car kept overheating last summer; needed a new radiator. I've been adding a little coolant this summer now and then, even though replaced.

It's been a good car most days. The air conditioning doesn't work, but I haven't bothered to get it fixed.

Engine misses, and the check engine light came on. Then the light went out.

Idles rough and loses power going up hills.

Took it to a different shop last week and had a complete tuneup done, and they replaced the ERG valve. Check engine light off; now has only come on once since then. Mechanic says it's running rich. Car runs no better. Mechanic knocked 200.00 off bill, no fix.

One morning after driving to work, only four miles, I heard a loud buzzing, but when I restarted it, it was gone. Don't know what that was? Hopefully, a different garage may find the problem of the miss and rough idle, and the power loss going up hills.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

4th Oct 2007, 11:18

I have a 1992 with 2.0 double overhead cam and I am getting the same problem with back firing when I give it lots of throttle. I have changed the temp sensor, the crank sensor, the coil pack, wires and plugs. I am still getting the back firing. What do you suggest might be my problem? Should I change the ERG?

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 3.1MPI from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.1MPI Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The tie rod bushings on both sides have went out twice, the rotors had to be replaced, brakes and brake lines have been replaced, and headlight were rewired.

General Comments:

The car is very quick. I love the car to death it is absolutely amazing. The car is extremely comfortable and reliable. With my lead foot the car has held up and probably will hold up to me. The wiring is very easy to do and I had the headlights rewired in less than 1 hour.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2006

1993 Pontiac Sunbird 2.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired135223 miles
Most recent distance135405 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Sweet car, Hate thieves

Faults:

Replaced spark plugs, replaced alternator, timing belt, v-belt, idler pulley, full exhaust, 4 tires, full front brakes, rear seat, trunk lid, hood, radiator drain plug, new clutch, recently had the timing belt come off and had to reset the timing the car ran fine after that, someone stole the car and the same thing happened, I haven't fixed it again yet.

General Comments:

I loved that car it drove awesome and the 5 speed was flawless. This car had pretty good tork at high rpm's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2006

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance195000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Great cheap, reliable transportation on the cheap

Faults:

Had to replace fuel pump and strainer at 140,000 miles.

Had to replace blower motor and relay at 175,000 miles.

Dashboard has separated above radio.

Passenger seat will not stay in set position, slides back.

Water is finding its way into the car, cannot pinpoint the location though.

Squeaking from engine compartment due to belt tensioners most likely needing replacement.

General Comments:

Bought this car in early 2003 to hold me over until I had the means to buy something better, that was 2 years and about 100,000 miles ago.

The 2.0L in this car is absolutely bulletproof, haven't so much as had to give it a tune-up, though I've cleaned and re-gapped the spark plugs.

Standard transmission in this car is efficient, but I'm not in love with it. That's probably due to the fact that it was ready for a clutch when I bought it, and I've been able to baby it for as long as I've had it with no replacement. CV boots are worn and have been for awhile.

As far as maintenance goes, the car has only let me down once and that was when the fuel pump failed, luckily I was home at the time. Aside from that, I've only had to do routine maintenance, and I've maintained the car poorly in general.

I had to replace the front seats with one out of a late model Cavalier because the factory seats killed my back, though the seats I replaced them with aren't much better.

Fuel economy is great, I get 32 mpg highway with it.

Overall, I'd recommend the car as I believe it is indestructible, as I've hit three deer in it and have been on the receiving end of three collisions in it. The car just will not die. I bought this car with the intention of using it temporarily and have been driving 100 miles a day in it for 2 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2005

27th Mar 2007, 09:48

I have the same car and all the same problems. but minehas a bug in the electrical system.

2nd Jun 2007, 13:22

I started having the same water problem with my 1993 Sun-bird in fall 2006. It was not fun Scraping both sides of the windshield every morning during the winter. Finally found the problem in spring 2007, there was a ring finger sized hole at the bottom of the firewall behind the gas pedal. You can only find it from the inside unfortunately. I tarred the hole and haven't had a water problem since.

25th Sep 2008, 02:56

I have the same problem with the water. One time I fixed it with silicon.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 43 reviews