1993 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews - Page 8 of 9

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired121700 miles
Most recent distance124100 miles

Summary:

A great fist car if you want performance and reliability

Faults:

This car as proven itself to be extremely reliable.

Though there is a little rust on the bottom of the doors the black paint still shines good.

I had to replace a TCC solenoid. (auto transmission). and a stater. both were at around 123000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has great get up and go. Also, the 3.1 V-6 is very reliable. A friend of mine has 190,000 miles on his 1990 Lumina Euro. and someone else form school has 250,000 on his 1991 Sunbird LE 3.1.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2002

18th Jun 2002, 23:54

I believe I'm having problems with my auto transmission. When I step on the gas, the engine boggs down and doesn't change gears. Is this the problem you had when you replaced the TCC?

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

Surprising performance

Faults:

Radiator leaked at about 75,000 miles, had to be replaced.

Water pump and coolant reservoir gaskets had to be replaced at 83,000 miles.

Alternator replaced at about 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

Being a 2.0L I4 mated to a 3spd automatic transmission, you'd think this car would be very slow, but this is far from the truth, my little Sunbird zips around with pretty good acceleration for a four cylinder.

Stock stereo system was a little odd when replacing with a DIN sized deck, but with some creativity it worked out very nicely.

Currently my Sunbird is at a little over 83,000 miles and I hope she last for quite a bit longer.

These cars can be had at a very reasonable price if you look around. Mine was purchased for $2000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2002

3rd Mar 2004, 11:13

My little Sunbird has a 2.0l in it 5 speed and its the fastest car on the road around my house. It is a sweet car itll go around 135 mph. I haven't lost a race yet in it. But I've also heard of parts goin wrong that should not. My friend has one that blew up after 2 weeks.

3rd Jun 2004, 18:57

I'm afraid to take my 1993 Sunbird over 70mph, in fear that it will blow up. I wouldn't be surprised if it did, it has once. how does your car get up to 135 mph? the speedometer only goes up to 100 on my car.

1993 Pontiac Sunbird 4 Door LE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles

Summary:

Great car for all ages

Faults:

Jumped time at 100,000 miles. Nothing happened, just had to replace the timing belt.

The head gasket blew at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

Great car! The head gasket blew, but that was because the fan relay went out.

Cost me $100 dollars to fix and runs great.

I recently drove cross country in it and everything was great. I got about 35 miles to the gallon with the A/C running (which works great by the way).

My first car. I changed all the fluid when I first bought it. Change the oil every 3,000 miles. And changed the coolant again after the head gasket blew.

Not the fastest of cars, but it can hold it's own for being a 4 cylinder automatic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2002

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance60321 miles

Summary:

A somewhat reliable first car

Faults:

The transmission needed a replacement at 57,000 miles.

The serpentine belt needed replacement at 58,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is my first car which I received from my Uncle.

It is in very good condition and is superbly clean.

I think that it is a shame that the transmission went at such low mileage because my overall opinion would be much higher if it had not.

I really enjoy my times in my awesome little blue Sunbird coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L 4-cylinder OHC from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4-cylinder OHC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A mid performance bargain with possibilities

Faults:

My head gasket and water pump blew at 115,000 miles.

My tensioner pulley's bearings went bad at 125,000.

General Comments:

This car has great handling and a great turning radius.

The bucket seats in this car are an outstanding design and very comfortable.

There are so many modification possibilities for this car that it can be customized for any driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 43 reviews