1993 Pontiac Sunbird SE 3.1L V6 from North America


Not bad for a first car, if you have the money. Work on this car and it will treat you well.


Emergency Brake got loose every 2 months.

Windshield wiper arms became loose and had no "press" against the windshield.

Battery kept on draining even if the car was off.

Power steering hose blew.

Front suspension doesn't last long, the car bottoms out all the time.

Starter had to be replaced.

Thermostat also had to be replaced.

General Comments:

Even with all of the problems, the car itself is very comfortable.

The car had lots of acceleration with the V6 engine.

Very fun to drive and looks really sharp if it has the GT package on it.

It sounds very loud "in a good way"

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

22nd Aug 2011, 07:40

Everything you described as "faults" on this vehicle are the direct result of poor maintenance or neglect. E-brake gets loose on every car if you use it constantly, that's not really abnormal. The other stuff makes me think you don't slow down much for speed bumps, don't do regular maintenance on the car to keep the other stuff in proper working order, and you probably park it outside in the sun all day, every day. Treat your car well and it will return the favor.

1993 Pontiac Sunbird 2.0 from North America




I haven't had any problems with this car.

General Comments:

It's a nice car I haven't had any problems with it. If you take care of it you won't have any problems with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2005

1993 Pontiac Sunbird 2.0 from Israel


Don't buy Pontiac anymore


Too much water and heating problems.

There were a lot leakages.

The motor almost got burnt several times.

Alternator was changed several times.

Transmission failed totally.

Selling the car as scrap.

General Comments:

How can an American car make so much problems? Now I understand why everybody buys Japanese cars. I am not going to buy anymore Pontiac/GM cars.

They drive good, but very unreliable and the repairs cost a lot! I hope GM CEO will read this. But do they care really?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2004

1993 Pontiac Sunbird 2.0 from North America


Not a reliable car


The car is stalling within an allotted time of 20-30 minutes and as well as stalling at high speeds, such as 90.

General Comments:

Ever since, I had purchased this car, I quickly became aware of the butcher job the previous owners had done to the exhaust manifold, spark plug treads, head, wiring, thermostat etc.

After replacing the intake manifold, new manifold gasket, thermostat, head gasket, new spark plugs and fuel filter. It is still stalling, after three service technician at Canadian Tire told me:

"They just don't know." I'm running out of ideas to fix this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th July, 2004

23rd Mar 2005, 23:45

Sounds to me like your fuel pump/pressure is at fault here. Leave the car with your service dealer and make sure they diagnose the problem (properly) before you spend your money. I also suggest that you keep your gas level above 1/4 tank full to prevent crap from the bottom of the tank fouling your engine.

18th Apr 2005, 19:38

Try taking your car somewhere other than Canadian Tire. I know they have licensed technicians, but I have received nothing but brutal service with my vehicles there. They are handy because they are open longer hours than my regular mechanic, but I try to avoid them.

16th Dec 2014, 04:23

It all depends on the Canadian Tire you take the vehicle to be serviced at. I work at Canadian Tire, and we have little to no complaints about customer service or service quality from my foreman. It's a small shop with a mechanic and me as his student/apprentice, and two tire techs... Since I've been there only two vehicles came back with issues that weren't fixed... one was an intake gasket, and the other was a starter that was missing a nut so the ground cable came off... it was a 5 minute fix. The customer was happy and understands we make mistakes here and there... find a smaller shop; big Canadian Tire shops tend to get confused about who is working on what vehicle.