1993 Pontiac Sunbird Reviews - Page 6 of 9

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 Overhead Cam from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Overhead Cam Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired228000 kilometres
Most recent distance235680 kilometres
Previous carChrysler New Yorker

Summary:

A great deal for less than a grand

Faults:

It had a not-so-healthy "tick" noise in the engine when I bought it, so I replaced the camshaft, lifters and rocker arms myself, fixed the problem.

The driver's seat rocks back and forth, needs a little bearing replaced.

The engine mounts are soft therefore the engine rocks a little.

General Comments:

Despite the high mileage, this car still performs really well.

It gives about 35 miles per gallon on the highway and roughly 23 in the city.

It's odd radio setup makes it rather difficult to place an aftermarket stereo in it, but it can be done with patience and creativity.

I paid 800 dollars for this car and it was originally from Alberta.

The body is in excellent shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.0 Gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

Wonderful, economic, sharp looking cruiser!

Faults:

The hydraulic valve compensators were stuck.

Needed new rocker arms because of stuck compensators.

Needed a new alternator.

Needed a new convertible top.

General Comments:

This is the first convertible I have ever owned and I have to say that I couldn't have picked a better one!

This is a very comfortable car to drive.

Though not meant to be a real performer, it is probably the best cruising car I have ever owned.

Fuel mileage is around 35 MPG.

The 2 liter engine is just adequate to power the car, but the pseudo 4th gear tends to engage too soon causing a lugging feeling.

Thankfully the engine is very similar to my old Le Mans' 1.6 liter engine to the point of sharing valve train components that it was easily repaired with spare parts from that one.

I absolutely love the ABS braking system. It's very crisp and accurate.

Steering is tight and positive.

The "sprung in the middle" ride of a convertible takes some getting used to.

Putting a new convertible top on it soon.

This costs about $930.00 U.S. but will be worth the investment as I plan to keep the car a long time.

This should prove to be a reliable, smooth running car for many years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2003

16th Mar 2005, 19:28

OK first of all unless I'm wrong the sunbird only came with 3 gears.

21st Apr 2009, 20:02

The 5 speed makes a huge diff in these cars when they have a 2.0 engine.

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

Great college student car

Faults:

It always idled rather hard.

It had the struts replaced.

The alternator died twice and had to be replaced.

I had to have the belts replaced in it.

I had to replace the speakers on the dash because the sun dried them out.

The dash started to come away from above the radio.

Also, the odometer stopped at 100,000, so it is an estimate that it was at 150,000, though I really think it was around that.

General Comments:

I loved this car. Someone pulled out in front of me two weeks ago and totaled it, but I am fine. My little Sunny took care of me.

It was not a super quick car, nor was it super slow, but I really liked the way it handled.

Everything inside it was easy to access.

I would recommend this car to others, and I miss mine.

It was still going fine when the wreck happened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.2 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres

Summary:

It is crap

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 54,000 kilometers.

Everything that could go wrong, went wrong.

General Comments:

The car sucked. I spent about $4,000 on it in 2 months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance116000 kilometres

Faults:

I've owned this car since day one. It's been a fairly reliable car, good on gas, etc. However I must warn anyone purchasing a Pontiac! Check to see if it has *headgasket* problems! I've had to repair mine after 85,000 km, and now once AGAIN at 116,000. $2000.00 each repair... the car isn't even worth that much! Talk about a migraine and a nightmare!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2003

28th Jul 2003, 15:57

A $2000.00 Head Gasket???

Someone really overcharged you, big time!!!

The most costly repair I had done on my Sunbird was having a cracked head replaced, which was $ 519.00, parts and labor.

The head gasket cost about $50.00 at Auto-Zone, it was complete head gasket kit, manufactured by Fel-Pro.

My latest problem is the vehicle runs hot, hot, hot. I had to wire the cooling fan to a toggle switch, so the fan can run all the time.

The only problem with that is if you forget to turn the toggle off, = dead battery.

Peace, and find a new mechanic!!!

Brandi.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 43 reviews