1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 4 cylinder from North America


Great college student car


It always idled rather hard.

It had the struts replaced.

The alternator died twice and had to be replaced.

I had to have the belts replaced in it.

I had to replace the speakers on the dash because the sun dried them out.

The dash started to come away from above the radio.

Also, the odometer stopped at 100,000, so it is an estimate that it was at 150,000, though I really think it was around that.

General Comments:

I loved this car. Someone pulled out in front of me two weeks ago and totaled it, but I am fine. My little Sunny took care of me.

It was not a super quick car, nor was it super slow, but I really liked the way it handled.

Everything inside it was easy to access.

I would recommend this car to others, and I miss mine.

It was still going fine when the wreck happened.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.2 4 cylinder from North America


It is crap


My head gasket blew at 54,000 kilometers.

Everything that could go wrong, went wrong.

General Comments:

The car sucked. I spent about $4,000 on it in 2 months.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 from North America


I've owned this car since day one. It's been a fairly reliable car, good on gas, etc. However I must warn anyone purchasing a Pontiac! Check to see if it has *headgasket* problems! I've had to repair mine after 85,000 km, and now once AGAIN at 116,000. $2000.00 each repair... the car isn't even worth that much! Talk about a migraine and a nightmare!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th March, 2003

28th Jul 2003, 15:57

A $2000.00 Head Gasket???

Someone really overcharged you, big time!!!

The most costly repair I had done on my Sunbird was having a cracked head replaced, which was $ 519.00, parts and labor.

The head gasket cost about $50.00 at Auto-Zone, it was complete head gasket kit, manufactured by Fel-Pro.

My latest problem is the vehicle runs hot, hot, hot. I had to wire the cooling fan to a toggle switch, so the fan can run all the time.

The only problem with that is if you forget to turn the toggle off, = dead battery.

Peace, and find a new mechanic!!!


1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE from North America


Nice cruising car


I needed to put a new Timing Belt in around 80,000 miles.

The car stalled out when I first bought the car. I was very heated and got it fixed.

My idol is a little rough, but managable.

I just put a alignment on my Sunbird.

My right strut is terrible and makes the car vibrate a lot. I need to fix that badley.

Brand spanking new tires. Dayton's to be exact.

I have done 2 Oil Changes. Also eats a lot of Motor Oil.

General Comments:

This car is okay. I mean I am a 19 year old college student and it gets me where I want to go. I wash it a lot and take care of it. The car looks like 5 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L I-4 from North America



Valve job.

General Comments:

I had to get some things done to my car at first. It was like a $500 car I got from my friend, and it needed a new head, but I got one fairly cheap, and it hasn't acted up since.

Although I must admit aftermarket parts are far and few between, you can go to J-Body.org and there are tons of people there who know stuff for it.

I personally love my little Sunbird, and I'll drive it till it dies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 from North America


Bottom line - it was a nightmare!


Head gasket blew at 90,000 clicks.

Changed alternator twice.

Changed radiator at 60,000 km.

Needed suspension repair at around 50,000 km. Quite a shock when I was told I needed new shocks AND struts!

Brakes needed replacing around the same time

Car required wheel alignments every 20000 km, killed two sets of tires!

Interior has slowly been falling apart since I got it. Cheap plastic design caused various panels around the dash to open or fall off.

Tape player doesn't work any more.

Poor engine design means high labor costs when fixing even smaller things like alternators and serpentine belts.

General Comments:

Sorry, but I don't have too many kind words. The bad far outweighed the good, which was namely this:

This car has decent power for a 4-cylinder and decent fuel economy, especially after having cleaned the fuel system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

21st Mar 2004, 20:37

Where the hell do you drive? The struts in most cars are the same design (ie this is not a radical, crappy design, all small cars have the same front suspension) going through 2 sets of tires and needing alignment every 20000 kilometers? None of that is a fault of the cars, where/how do you drive, holy crap.

30th Sep 2005, 14:40

Doesn't matter what kind of road you drive this car on. Struts and shocks are out in my Sunbird as well. Repair is in the $ 1,000 range for parts and labor.

In general, this car is a never ending money pit!

Be prepared to replace heads constantly.

Be smart-- Avoid this car. It's evil.

Also be ready for rack and pinion to go out. I've talked to countless Sunbird owners that have had all the problems I've had with mine. The list is endless... Hunk of junk.