1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America


A somewhat reliable first car


The transmission needed a replacement at 57,000 miles.

The serpentine belt needed replacement at 58,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is my first car which I received from my Uncle.

It is in very good condition and is superbly clean.

I think that it is a shame that the transmission went at such low mileage because my overall opinion would be much higher if it had not.

I really enjoy my times in my awesome little blue Sunbird coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0L 4-cylinder OHC from North America


A mid performance bargain with possibilities


My head gasket and water pump blew at 115,000 miles.

My tensioner pulley's bearings went bad at 125,000.

General Comments:

This car has great handling and a great turning radius.

The bucket seats in this car are an outstanding design and very comfortable.

There are so many modification possibilities for this car that it can be customized for any driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

1993 Pontiac Sunbird LE 2.0 from Puerto Rico


It is a great car. I will keep it for as long as possible!


The alternator has been changed 2 times.

The radiator once started to leak (about 2 years ago) and I had it replaced.

The fan has also been replaced 2 times.

General Comments:

This car has never let me down. It is very reliable. Where I live I travel some 30 miles daily to my office. The weather is always scorching hot, there are always traffic jams, and I travel quite confidently in my '93 Sunbird.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

11th May 2002, 20:57

I have a 1994 Pontiac Sunbird LE, and I have to say it is a very reliable car, and I wish that they still made the same ones, because I would definitely buy another one. I definitely recommend it as a used purchase to anyone.

29th Dec 2003, 11:31

I own a 1993 Sunbird LE. It is a good little car with only 64,000 miles on it, but the only problems I have with it are that the dome light is duct taped to the ceiling and one of the wires is cut so the doesn't even work. Also if the car gets up to 60mph, it starts to shake. But if Pontiac still made Sunbirds, I would most likely buy one brand new. This is my first car and I have had it less than a year. It gets up and goes pretty well for a 4 cylinder. I like how simple yet comfortable it is.


1993 Pontiac Sunbird SE 2.0 from North America


Cheap piece of crap


Trunk leaks.

Radiator went out around 92000 miles.

Replaced the alternator 2 times.

Impossible to install a radio or CD player, no one manufactures a wiring harness to fit.

2.0 litre engine has no power.

Do not attempt to work on it yourself!! Leave it to the pros. This has to be the worst designed automobile ever.

General Comments:

If this will help save one poor unfortunate person who is considering buying a Sunbird reconsider, then it is worth it. This car is a total pain, if I ever was introduced to the person who was responsible for designing and engineering this car I would punch him in the face. I would rather own a 78 Pinto, at least you can work on a pinto.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2001

11th Jul 2001, 13:16

Your comments about the '93 Pontiac Sunbird are incorrect. I understand you have an opinion, and I'm not trying to say your opinion is incorrect, but I just want to let everyone know that despite that you said "there is no way to install a CD player/tape deck in this car", there actually is a relatively easy way to do this. Any car stereo installation place can do this quite simply, just removed the oddly shaped square (stock) radio from the car, in its place you can put a small square piece of plastic (same color as interior) to cover the hole, or have some custom work done and turn it into a sunglass holder "pocket". Then, you can have a CD player/tape deck installed UNDER the A/C / Heating control area. It works out quite nicely and gives it a clean professional look.