2001 Renault Clio Expression 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A reliable second car

Faults:

Had a problem with a leaky sun roof earlier this year. If you are quite handy at DIY, then it's quite easy to pull down the head lining and loosen the bolts securing the sun roof frame. I used some silicone sealer on the outer edge of the frame and nipped the bolts up again - problem solved.

Now having a problem with the ECU warning light. I'm booked in with the dealer for a diagnostics check, which will set me back £76, even though they have said it is more than likely the oxygen sensor? Judging by other reviews, I'm not confident they are going to fix this at the first attempt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2007

2001 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Rubbish!!!

Faults:

Engine management fault light came on when the engine idles, and car would lose power and revs would go up and down like a yo yo. Then the car would just die; eventually found out to be a sensor in the gearbox.

Rear wheel bearings went at 45000 miles, and are on the way out again (80,000 miles).

Sunroof squeaks like a well used bed!!!

Gearbox failed after 75000 miles.

Drivers window 'scrapes' when going down or up.

Airbag light comes on intermittently.

Handbrake light comes on when going round right hand corners.

'Stop' light comes on when braking.

ABS works when it feels like.

Bonnet 'pops up' at motorway speeds.

Goes through oil like its going out of fashion.

General Comments:

Car handles brilliantly and goes like the clappers and, the seats are really comfy during long distances.

However these positives are seriously outweighed by the negatives.

Renault know about a lot of the faults on this car, but won't do anything about it.

I won't be buying from Renault again!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2007

2001 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.5 Dci from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Sips the fuel

Faults:

Seats are a little rubbed up, though the previous owner was bigger than me.

Gear selector rod bent and broke with no explanation from anyone; fixed at a local garage for just £40.

General Comments:

The car is great for the money and the performance is good for the size.

The rear ain't great, but as I drive, I don't care.

Cruises at 80 on the motorway great, and still does over 55mpg. Buying this car has halved my trips to the filling station. 626 miles from the last tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2007

2001 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Not very good

Faults:

Only starts when it feels likes it, and also cuts out all the time, like when you are about to pull out of junction, so you always have to keep revving car.

Also has a squeaky sunroof and windows, and recently a squeaky drivers seat.

Have changed the coil pack, spark plugs, and oil and fuel filters, and am about to change the TDC and crank sensor (is this same thing?)

General Comments:

Nice to look at, quite nippy, and cheap to run and insure, but unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2007

2001 Renault Clio Alize 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Well appointed and roomy little car

Faults:

Five ignition coils in 7313 miles, and Renault says it's fair wear and tear !

General Comments:

This car is a very nice car for my wife to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2007

2001 Renault Clio Grande 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

OK - would buy another one

Faults:

Accelerator cable snapped.

TDC sensor.

Squeaky brakes,

General Comments:

Car is OK, I've been quite happy with it for the 6 years that I have had it from new.

Only recently I've had trouble starting the car. 3 times now it fails to fire up. It turns over OK, but fails to fire up. A problem with the TDC sensor I have heard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th June, 2007

2001 Renault Clio 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

I have a Renault Clio for the past few years now, and had no problems at all with it until recently.

When I was driving to work one morning, the orange coil light - indicating an electric fault - came on. The car immediately slowed down and seem to just roll. No power at all in it.

I had it towed to the main dealer (upon advice from my own mechanic as it was an electric fault). The main dealer had the car for 3 weeks. They said initially that it was the throttle (the fault showed up on some computer) and got a new one for me. They put in it, but it didn't work. They then got a second one, but that didn't work either.

Eventually they re-programed something and that apparently sorted it. I had the car back for 2 weeks and the exact same thing happened again. It was towed back to them. the main mechanic just informed me that it still appears that the throttle isn't functioning (according to the computer) but he cannot guarantee this.

If he tries it, it will cost me between €300 and €400. If this doesn't work, they will have to do a bigger job with reprogramming which will cost in the region of €700-800. He's telling me that it's just basically a chance they are taking with the throttle and cannot guarantee anything!!! I'm so annoyed now as I feel I'm left with no option but to go with this.

I'm surprised that main dealers treat people in this way. You rely and pay them for their expertise, and hope they can solve the problem, instead of paying out a fortune on something that they won't even guarantee will work. Has anyone else had this experience?? I love this car, but the whole thing is stressing me out at this point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

9th Aug 2007, 09:18

Hello, I am having the exact same problem!!! I have a 1.2 16v 2001 Clio. This coil light started coming on about a month ago now so I had a service, as it was due one, to see if this would help. Initially the light did stop coming on, but now it has returned. It seems to happen in low gears (1st sometimes 2nd) edging along in traffic or if I am idle in traffic or at the lights etc. Initially the coil light just came on and I lost power, but if I revved the engine the power would come back and the light went out. Now the coil light comes on and then it stalls completely. I restart it fine and then rev and the light goes out. I really cannot afford to get this fixed if it is as bigger problem as you have described. I'm wondering whether I should just cut my losses and get rid. I have seen loads of similar stories, but not as exact as you describe and loads of possibilities have been mentioned such as needing new leads to needing whole new ECUs. Please keep me updated on your progress, as will I.