2001 Renault Laguna Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2001 Renault Laguna SPORTS TOURER 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

In 30 years of driving this is by far the worst car I have ever had!!!

Faults:

After picking the car up "new" from the Renault dealership, within 5 miles the engine lost all power, and the on-board systems informed me of a fuel injection fault. Over the next 5 months the car had this problem occurring up to 10-12 times a day! The car was returned for repair 6 times, (days/weeks at a time), with Renault UK Ltd.knowledge. Yet, even after all this the problem was not resolved. In the end I had no choice, but to sell the car at a £3500 loss, as the dealer & Renault UK after some 5 months, were proving to be of no help what so ever.

General Comments:

If this were not bad enough, this was the 2nd.Laguna I have had, after the 1st.one was replaced by Renault for a engine fault.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2002

1st Nov 2002, 12:26

I totally agree. I have had a Laguna dCi since March 2002, and it has been off the road for 5 months. "Fuel Injection Warning" is all I get if I try and drive it. Renault don't want to know. The dealer is useless, worst than useless - awful. Please note that this problem was first highlighted by "Which" magazine and then reported in "The Guardian", so Renault know all about it - and they have so little respect for their customers, that they just ignore us.

Let's hope Top Gear, or 5th Gear, or one of the TV motoring programs has the guts to report on this shameful behavior and awful car.

Check this out - http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk_news/story/0%2C3604%2C727970%2C00.html.

2001 Renault Laguna Sports tourer 3.0 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8800 miles

Summary:

I consider I have been unlucky as the car has good looks, is comfortable and an excellent ride

Faults:

From new, car would start intermittently.

Bad gear changing.

Car would die at low rev's.

General Comments:

So far the car has been off the road for 15 weeks in first year.

I don't believe the dealer mechanics understand the technology to sort problems and repair.

Very poor back up and response from Renault. Until I employed a solicitor no one seemed interested.

Have replaced main computer (UCH). Starter Motor, Ignition System, new keys,

Navigation System and other parts involving computers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

29th Jun 2003, 22:50

Hmmmm...some things never change. When they sold Renaults in my country (USA, and thankfully, they don't sell'em here anymore), quality control was AWFUL! The overall design and engineering was fine, but the horrid assembly and low quality of parts used sabotaged the vehicles. The name Renault is no longer taken seriously in the automotive world in North America, and that's not only unfair, but really too bad, but Renault has only itself to blame.

2001 Renault Laguna GrandTour Initiale V6-24v from France

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V6-24v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance25500 kilometres
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

A comfortable, powerful and reliable car

Faults:

Trouble with engine electricity at 15000 km

Troubles with front disks brakes at 7500, 14000 and 23000 kilometers.

General Comments:

I got several little troubles with this car at the beginning, but it is a very comfortable and powerful car.

I often make long trips all over France roads and it is a real pleasure.

Concerning front brakes, there is a known problem on disks that are not enough strong to support the weight of the V6 model.

There is no problem to change it by Renault dealer for free.

Concerning this point, each contact I had with Renault was very good and repairs where done quickly and correctly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2002

2001 Renault Laguna Dynamique 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Depreciation will kill you! But then who cares? I don't

Faults:

New wheel was leaking around valve.

Power Steering Leak

Drivers lumbar support cable broke

Lock mechanism on petrol cap broke.

General Comments:

Apart from the above minor points the car has been great, with 210bhp on tap you never have to worry about lack of power.

Unlike some of my previous cars Renault have introduced a new type of Air-con unit that from what I can tell doesn't sap any noticeable power when it's on.

Huge difference in dealer support, the one I bought from is useless for service, but the two I now use are fantastic, so good that I have bought another Renault from one of them.

I previously had a Laguna 1, which again also had a few minor problems, but it did 80k miles in three years and the main mechanics were perfect.

This version comes with the part cow interior which so far is holding up well - even with three rug-rats.

More toys than toys'r'us.

My only concern long term is those tyre pressure sensors - will they stand the test of time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2002

2001 Renault Laguna privilage 1900dci from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1900dci Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5400 miles
Most recent distance5900 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Car has potential, aftercare non-existent

Faults:

Brakes cause steering to vibrate

Loud rattling from exhaust

Tyre pressure sensor failure (replace twice in a week)

Gearbox failure

All within a week of purchase.

General Comments:

Although this car has a lot going for it on paper, the fact of the matter is that if anything goes wrong, Renault customer service are not interested. Dealer knowledge is also lacking. It's a shame as the car is a fine looking and comfortable alternative to the likes of the Mondeo and Vectra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2002

2001 Renault Laguna Dyanamique 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Good motorway cruiser

Faults:

Power Steering failure

Brakes not properly bleed when new

Engine surging

Lots of minor things.

General Comments:

The car, although looking good, the reliability is not as I would expect from a brand new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2002

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 49 reviews