2001 Saturn L300 Reviews

2001 Saturn L300 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2013
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance159325 miles
Previous carSaturn L300

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Well at 100,000 miles the right rear strut broke.

Fuel pump.

Fuel sensor.

Water pump.

General Comments:

Well I'm a roofer and a mason, so in other words I treat my Saturn like a pickup truck. I go out with the big trucks out on gravel roads and hill hop in it, and it handles like a champ. And when in town, it still looks super sharp.

It's the V-6 3.0, and it's faster than a buddy's 2012 Camaro, which is saying something. But I gotta say, due to it being my first car and it still running strong after everything I have put it through, I would never change it for anything.

So needless to say, I am very happy in my Saturn, and if I could, I would go back and buy it brand new off the lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2013

19th Jun 2013, 08:16

Either your buddy can't drive worth anything, or there's something wrong with his car. Even the automatic V-6 Camaro convertible from that year does 0-60 in low 7 seconds, and your L300 when new couldn't do any better than low 8s.

2001 Saturn L300 LS V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

It's good but costly

Faults:

Tail light assembly replaced twice in the first year. Bulbs are fairly expensive to get now to replace the upper brake light.

Replaced tires every two years because of wear along with brakes. Seats very worn, seat covers now. AC went out at 70k, heater core went out at 90k, very expensive to replace; that's if you can find the part.

Oil leak at 100k, can't repair - too costly.

Replaced A/C compressor, water pump, timing belt, radiator, gas tank, struts, bearings, and other things I can't think of right now.

General Comments:

I purchased the car because it gave me the amenities and guarantees of the Honda without the price, but I'm paying for it in repairs.

Parts are very costly and difficult to find. Labor is even more expensive. Have a gas leak that still hasn't been repaired because I'm out of money trying to fix it thus far.

I loved the car while under warranty, but once the warranty was gone, it has been a headache.

On a positive, it's still powerful, and once I get the money, I will get the other necessary repairs and keep the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2012

2001 Saturn L300 Sedan 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired119000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carBuick Riviera

Summary:

Good quality vehicle with dependable security

Faults:

Flasher relay went bad, front oxygen sensor, and regular front brake pads / rotors replaced.

General Comments:

The car has all the options I enjoy; leather, heated seats, powered moon roof, etc.

The car has a great V motor with plenty of power with good gas mileage. This vehicle is pretty much maintenance free with no major faults, it hugs the road like a European sports car, and has room for 4.

The only problem I incurred that could not figure out, was small amount of accumulation of water in the trunk; still trying to figure that one out.

There is a shaking problem when I reach 70 mph, but that’s probably tire balancing problem.

Other than that, the car is fun to drive and one of the best cars I’ve owned, and I’ve owned plenty (30+). It’s too bad they are not making Saturns anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2011

14th Mar 2013, 22:51

I've enjoyed your review of the L300. I've just picked up a 2001 at a very good price, and just love the car. The shake at 70 mph is also shared with my car, since I put new tires on it a week ago. Getting alignment this Saturday and hope that will fix problem. I have a SL2 I've owned for 5 years, and it has about 450 thousand miles on it and it still runs me to and from work everyday 25 miles one way. I fell in love with that, and hope my love for the L300 grows for the next several years. I am a #1 Saturn Fan.

15th Mar 2013, 16:05

The Saturns were very good cars. It's a shame they are no longer made. They offered a very good and affordable car that has proven to be very solid and reliable. The LS and LS wagons are especially nice, and used ones are usually very affordable.

26th Mar 2013, 13:38

I just bought a L300, it had no shake or wobble, cars do that firstly because of tires, crud (ice, mud, etc in wheel well), alignment, then brake pads, then rotors, then calipers, next tie rods inner and outer, shocks and struts. Just to name a few. Especially happens in the winter. Get the car in a warm garage and get it washed.

27th Mar 2013, 15:08

A few years back I encountered a very odd shake in my Pontiac Grand Am. At times it would be smooth as silk, then start shaking suddenly. Then it would smooth out again for a few miles. It was baffling because it would vary even at the same speed on the freeway. I took it to my tire shop, and they discovered that when I had repaired a flat tire with a large can of Fix-a-flat, it had formed a big rubber ball inside the tire that was rolling around at random.

2nd May 2013, 19:48

I have had the same problem with shaking in the front end at over 75mph. I have been told it is everything from the tire balance to front end work like tie rods, sway link bars, and alignment. None of the above have really cured the problem. Love the car, but a little baffled that no one can identify the real problem.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews