2001 Saturn L300 Reviews - Page 2 of 14

2001 Saturn L300 3.0 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Previous carSaturn L300

Faults:

I have had only one extraordinary problem with my 2001 Saturn L300. At about 56 thousand kilometers, it began to exhibit a trace of low amplitude seal chatter from the steering rack when backing into my tight parking spot in an underground garage. I had an independent mechanic replace it with a rack that I ordered from car steering dot com, and have not had a problem with the car since.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th November, 2010

2001 Saturn L300 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission  
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carSaturn L300

Summary:

If the car is almost 10 years old, get ready for it to start breaking down

Faults:

I'm listening to these horror stories on this site.

I bought my 2001 L in 12/09 for 800.00. The car had a odometer reading at 400,000 and some odd miles. The car ran like crap. But I bought it knowing that if it wasn't the motor or transmission, my brother can fix it.

I replaced the BCM, tie rod, 3 O2 sensors, tires, compressor, you name it.

Service engine light is still on after 3 sensors. Auto part store sold me the wrong part number for the O2 sensor. Now I'm getting antifreeze on the floor, had the hose bypassed, and was told I need a heater coil. I have no heat or air.

General Comments:

I thought I was getting a deal, the joke is on me. Thinking about selling it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2010

7th Nov 2010, 22:51

Wow, I can't believe your Saturn made it to 400000 miles! They rarely make it past 100000 usually.

If your car has high mileage, expect many problems. You get what you pay for.

I would be pretty impressed with any car or truck that makes it to that many miles, the car is at the end of its lifespan for sure at this point, obviously.

10th Aug 2011, 23:30

Problems at 400K? No kidding. That's like saying your 92 year old wife doesn't look good in a bikini any more.

24th Mar 2012, 14:13

I just said goodbye to my 2001 Saturn L300. I got it in May 2001 with 45 miles on it. It left with 190,091 miles on it. I suppose the car no longer knew whether it was coming or going :)

The only reason that I had to get rid of that car, was because a technician I went to in 2006 did serious damage to one of the wiring harnesses going to the PCM. The dealer that employed that technician is out of business now, so there is no reason to identify him.

I managed to squeeze another 120,000 miles out of that car since that wiring fiasco. The engine has had nothing but Mobil1 put in it, and when you open the oil filler cap, it still looks like a new engine inside.

I was also getting excellent gas mileage with that Saturn. Over the last 12,000 miles, I averaged 27.7 MPG in a mix of City/HWY driving. Not bad considering it was rated 20/26 when I bought it in 2001 (18/24 according to the 2008 MPG standards).

I just replaced that Saturn with a 2012 Honda Civic. I will be happy if the Civic is as good a car as the Saturn was. I will be even happier if that technician that messed up my Saturn never so much as looks at my Civic.

2001 Saturn L300 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired120 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Will never own another Saturn vehicle

Faults:

Front strut.

Oil coolant unit.

Electrical (rear lights).

Coolant leak.

AC unit.

Driver's side window.

General Comments:

Has decent power and handles fairly well, but not a well-built car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2010

2001 Saturn L300 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

This car is JUNK

Faults:

People, I am having problems with my 2001 L300; actually I bought it used with only 25,000 miles on it, and within 2 weeks I had to call GM and complain about a problem that was going to cost 3,000 to repair. This all started happening in 2006, and since then I have experienced the same exact problems others have, including the car being parked one day and refusing to start-up, until I had it towed to the Saturn dealer and paid over 200.00 dollars to have the ignition repaired.

However, because of being "BROKE", I can't afford to have any repairs done on the vehicle, so I continue to drive it and it's doing fine.

Believe me, this winter I had a car full of rich orange anti-freeze all over the floor of the front passenger side - Radiator core is dead.

Car sputters sometime - not sure what that is.

Car is sluggish when driving - not sure what that is.

Car jerks when take off - Believe the trans is having problems.

In Illinois we have to have an "emissions test"; it failed and was told the O2 sensor and some other sensor is bad. These will be the only thing I will repair, and I will repair it on my own to save money.

The problems I have been experiencing have been a part of the vehicle since I bought it. Never even got the first problem fixed. Sorry others spent so much money, but I will continue to drive it until it simply stops.

The car looks brand new, and I only have 65,000 miles on it, but it is a mechanical wreck and I just don't have the dollars to pay for it, so maybe it would have been better had you all not put the money into it. Perhaps it's like some people who are ill all their lives, but still kicking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st May, 2010

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews