2001 Seat Leon 1.6 from Turkey


Very good value for money


At one stage while I had the headlight switch turned off, the beeper alarm kept beeping warning me that the lights were on, but they were not.

General Comments:

The car is very sporty and catchy to people's eyes. The engine sound is quiet and the steering is magnificent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2001

2001 Seat Leon Cupra 1.8 20vT from UK and Ireland


An absolute bargain, for a car that leaves a big grin on your face every time you drive it


Nothing has gone wrong with the car. However I've only owned it for a couple of months.

General Comments:

This car is very quick, you're upto law breaking speeds before you realise it.

The handling is great, the brakes are sharp and responsive, and the overall equipment levels are fantastic, considering the £15K price tag.

The only bad point about this car is the rear visibility, which makes parking a little tricky. Hey, who cares.

I test drove the VW Golf 1.8T and an Alfa 147 2.0TS. Both of which fail to give you the equipment levels and exitement that the Leon gives you, and for a lot less money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2001

23rd Sep 2001, 15:25

I am getting me one on Wednesday and would like to know roughly how many miles to the tank it does on mainly motorway journeys?

P.S. Couldn't agree with you more about the grin-factor.

4th Oct 2001, 05:26

Yep, getting one next week after waiting 6 months.. This is a 2002 model which means some minor improvements..

Leon20VT / Helsinki, Finland.

18th Oct 2001, 02:15

I just replaced my A3 1.8T Sport on Saturday with a Leon Cupra. The Cupra holds the family better, has a larger boot, is miles faster (could tell this in the first 10 meters of driving), handling is so much better that I could not believe the difference & the Toys list included in the cheap price is endless.

Regrets, why did I not buy it a year earlier instead of the A3.

17th Dec 2001, 15:11

My Cupra costs around £38 - £40 to fill and I get around 350 miles from that mostly on motor-ways. Thing is, the cars so fast I seem to fill it up every other day! Oh well, there's worse things in life...

2001 Seat Leon 20VT 1.8 turbo from Greece


A must-have for quick drivers


The only thing that wasn't in place were the headphone sockets for the rear passengers. The holes were in place but the sockets were absent. I will have it fixed at the next service.

General Comments:

A raging bull... a real bargain. I can't believe that this power can be available at such a price. My car has already made 7500 kilometers and it is unbelievable. I drive it for hours at the speed of 180 km/h and it still doesn't make any sound to complain about it.

A slight press on the pedal pops the speed up to 220 km/h and it easily can reach the top speed of 235 km/h while the brakes feel like opening a parachute: The car slows down at once without bending on its knees and the Anti-Block System works only when really needed.

I tortured my car in many ways; Incredible power while overtaking or climbing on the difficult hills and mountains of Greece makes the passengers feel that the Newton's Law isn't a fact for this car. It simply flies wherever you want it to.

While driving it on gravel I noticed that it is very low, though there are some protecting plastic pieces underneath that keep rocks away. At a speed higher than 50 km/h on gravel the car seems to push its tail out at the slightest bend and the brakes are useless in case of an emergency. Back on a normal road, I found it impossible to make it lose traction as the Traction Control System does its magic unless you suspend it - something rather dangerous if you forget it's suspended for a long time and try to be fast in bends.

The Pirelli P6000 tyres I put on my car perform very well and the suspension could have been a little harder in order to maximize the driver's enjoyment.

I see cars costing twice the price and of brands that rule the market left behind, the drivers scratching their heads and trying to work out what was this thing they cannot overtake, I feel proud about my choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

11th Aug 2002, 10:03

I don't believe there is a road in the whole of Greece where you can reach 220 km/h without hitting a goat or a taxi, so, or you made this story up or you are allowed to use the runway of the new international airport.

16th Sep 2002, 06:26

In case you have been Lost in Time.

Today, September 2002, there are at least 8 major routes in which the speed can reach 200 - 250 Km/h, and some places for the one who dare to reach 280 Km/h.

You'll be surprised! Come and visit us!

17th Sep 2002, 04:43

What? 8 runways for one airport?

Now serious, I would drive a little slower if I where you, because the way the Leon is screwed together you will never live to tell what part fell off with that kind of speed.