2001 Seat Leon Reviews - Page 9 of 14

2001 Seat Leon Cupra 1.8T from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8T Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carNissan Primera

Summary:

Excellent performance, but poor reliability

Faults:

Breakdown in January 02 with an electrical fault, 4 days to repair.

Breakdown in February 02, same electrical fault, the Electronic Control Unit was replaced after a 7 week wait.

General Comments:

Superb performance for the price. The turbo provides effortless power without needing to change gears, although you'll need a lot of restraint not to make full use of the 180bhp.

For motorway cruising a higher ratio for 6th gear would be useful as the sporty exhaust note can become intrusive on long trips. Of course you can always turn the stereo up.

The suspension could be stiffer, although it does make for an excellent ride. The seats are comfortable, but don't provide enough support for enthusiastic cornering (perhaps the optional leather seats would help).

Dashboard layout is excellent, the only minor niggle being the headlight indicator being partially obscured by the steering wheel.

Overall it's great fun to drive, but given the poor reliability I would buy something else next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th April, 2002

9th May 2002, 16:02

Sorry to hear of your problems. I have owned a Seat Toledo TDiSE for two years and eight months. The car has given me totally reliable service. The local main dealer is excellent.

You have obviously just been very unlucky. I genuinely respect what you have said. I would go off and buy another Toledo anyday.

2001 Seat Leon Cupra 4 1.9 TDI from Portugal

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance4390 kilometres
Previous carSeat Leon

Faults:

No wrong things.

General Comments:

SEAT LEON CUPRA 4 150 HP TDI (Nr.VSS2221M22R026172)

I own this superb machine since October 20, 2001 (previous car – Seat Leon TDI-110 HP).

I believe it was the first of this model in Portugal.

I was astonished with the performance of this beautiful machine (black is beautiful in this model, and the rear Recaro seats are really comfortable) but it is difficult to understand why a CD player is not included in a €33.330,00 (pvp in Portugal) car. As a mater of fact, if ordered to the dealer, an extra cost of €790,00 (installation not included) must be paid.

Are you faced with this kind of situation in other €pean countries?

Best regards

Mauricio.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2002

2001 Seat Leon S 1.4 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7400 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Very disappointed

Faults:

Car Faults to date 03/03/02:

Wrong number plate fitted on collection of car.

NEW car not valeted on collection.

Marks on body work paint, removed after a full hand wash.

Grease, dust marks all over dashboard.

Black marks on rear passenger door.

Black fingerprints marks over roof fabric.

Driver Seat belt damaged needed replacement - Reported 3 times still not fixed to date.

Glove compartment faulty - would not close.

Driver side wing mirror surround scratched.

Drivers side plastic door protector strip dented.

Faulty radio fittings - metal lip on radio not fitted correctly.

Water leak in boot.

Broken and marked roof strip needed replacement - damaged when car in garage for leak to be fixed.

Disgusting damp musty smell in car, constantly getting worse.

Water over inside of car windows, not just condensation like advised by dealer, the windows are saturated with water.

Water leak in car under both driver and passenger's seats, carpet wet.

Car always feels damp when driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2002

9th Jun 2002, 15:32

We have a Leon S and we've had exactly the same problems with damp, leakage and condensation!

The car is due to go in for these problems to be looked at - however, like so many other people, we have very little confidence in our Seat dealer.

2001 Seat Leon SE 1.9 TDI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6500 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Potentially a great car

Faults:

The car had a squeaky clutch which has now been rectified by the dealer.

The drivers seat belt has a fray in it and I am still waiting to have it replaced by the dealer.

One of the rear number plate lights keeps falling out and again the dealer still awaits the part (3 months).

BY FAR THE BIGGEST PROBLEM is the fact that water seems to leek into the rear foot-wells from somewhere, causing the vehicle to mist up and smell. I would like to hear from anyone with a similar problem that has been rectified as my dealer does not fill me with confidence.

General Comments:

This is potentially a great car, but let down by minor problems and bad after sales service - in my experience.

Comfortable.

Looks great, though a bit plasticy inside.

Performs well, yet frugal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2002

26th Feb 2002, 14:51

The water leaks are a common fault on the Leon.

Dealers are aware of it.

10th May 2002, 08:13

I've got the same water problems in the rear foot-wells. Next week my dealer will solve the problems. Besides the water problems I've got also a strange engine noise, something like a ticking valve.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews