2001 Seat Leon Reviews - Page 13 of 14

2001 Seat Leon 20v Cupra 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

The best performance car this side of 20K ukp

Faults:

Broken foglamp, which the dealer refused to fix at first.

Inoperative cigarette lighter (exactly the same problem I had with my VW Passat (both VW group products).

Driver's door mirror does not fold in as far as the passenger mirror (dealer assures me that this is normal???)

General Comments:

This car is outrageously quick, and appears to be nothing more than an Audi TT with a different jacket on.

Room in the back is poor.

Understeers in the wet (could do with 4wd).

Wheels are very hard to keep clean.

Braking, steering and equipment levels are all superb.

An absolute bargain of a performance car, without attracting attention.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

2001 Seat Leon 20VT Cupra 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Bye bye Golf GTI

Faults:

The wing mirrors stopped folding in, the dealer was unable to fix.

A wing mirror was vandalized shortly afterwards.

General Comments:

The car is fast, very fast.

ABS is a little aggressive.

Tyres are expensive.

Wheels are difficult to keep clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2001

2001 Seat Leon 20VT Cupra 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carAudi Cabriolet

Summary:

Huge fun when it works!

Faults:

Accelerator broke at 1500 miles.

Ignition barrel broke at 4000 miles - car was in the garage for 3 1/2 weeks!

General Comments:

This car has thundering performance - it really is the one to look out for in the sub £18k price bracket. Can only be described as a "pocket rocket".

Totally let down by the hideous reliability and dealer service!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

13th Sep 2001, 16:31

You are certainly extremely unlucky.

I own a Toledo and have done almost 50000 miles. Never anything wrong with it. Marvellous car!

18th Oct 2001, 06:14

Sorry to hear your tales of woe but there's always 'a' bad one around. Unfortunately you got it. I've had it with other makes. You are the definite minority with this car. Sorry to hear it!

12th Jul 2002, 03:23

Minority?

There was a poll under Seat Leon owners and 50% of them had problems with water leaks.

My Leon is a lemon, and I know I am not the only one.

There are serious quality problems with the Leon and Seat does everything to cover it up.

2001 Seat Leon 20VT Cupra 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

It has the feel of a quality car, for not a lot of bucks

Faults:

Performed perfectly since the day I bought it.

General Comments:

The car was supplied with one wheel centre the wrong colour, grey instead of silver. It had not been painted. But the dealer dealt with this swiftly and has been very helpful.

This car is not a GTI flyer, but is a better long distance express, quiet, refined and always has power on tap. Without doubt the best car I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

22nd Sep 2001, 03:58

I am seriously considering this car but, can anyone tell me how many miles is does to a tank of petrol on motorway journeys. I have done the math on this one but would like a real world answer??

2001 Seat Leon 20 VT Cupra 1.8 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous carVolvo S70

Summary:

If you haven't driven one, what are you waiting for??

Faults:

Car was not properly PDI'ed by the supplying dealer eg. tyres were set at 45PSI, the centre console had a damaged trim piece (replaced), etc.

Car was delivered with a faulty rear centre passenger headrest which can't be removed.

Front passenger side main speaker has started to crackle.

Centre console illumination keeps disappearing for short spells and then coming back again! Probably a loose connection somewhere...

General Comments:

Basically what you are getting is an A3 1.8T Quattro without the 4WD, but with more equipment and at two-thirds of the price! A veritable bargain since it has the same high build quality!

The engine is starting to loosen up, and when it's fully run-in with traction control switched off, a sub-7 second 0-60 time won't be out of the question. I recently drove a facelifted BMW 325 and the Leon is comfortably faster. In addition to very fine ride and handling, what surprises most people about this car is it's long distance refinement. Although not everyone likes the styling, I have to say that I personally prefer it to it's sister cars - the Golf and the A3. The only weakness of the car is the poor sound quality from the cassette deck (although the autochanger is fine).

Despite a few niggles I've had with the car, whether you want a family car, a sports car, a removal van, or long distance cruiser, this car does it all!

Also it's predicted that this car will have very good residuals too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 21:14

I was wondering if anybody knows where I can buy a head unit to replace the Aura system my Leon came with. I need one with the same dimensions to mount it nicely.

Juan Buitrago.

Email: j.buitrago@codetel.net.do.

19th Aug 2001, 17:19

The head unit is actually a standard ISO slot size. You will need to get two pieces of trim to cover the holes on each side - available from dealer...

Rich.

Rakh1@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews