1996 Toyota Camry Xle V6 from North America


Great car, but no power



General Comments:

This car has no power. I thought getting the V6 I would have more power I was wrong. The cars miles are super low. They are low cause I went out and bought a Lexus right after the Camry. I'm not sure I will buy another Toyota. Lexus is another story I now own 4. They are amazing cars. If you can't afford a Lexus go with a Toyota you will be happy, but once you drive a Lexus you can't go back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

2nd Aug 2005, 15:12

I am not trying to criticize your review, but the Camry V6 comes right out of the Lexus ES300. Lexus and Toyota are basically one company, just like Acura is Honda. I have to sell my Acura for tuition payments, I think I will carefully consider the Camry V6.

13th Sep 2011, 19:28

The Camry has a faster 0-60 and quarter mile time than the Lexus ES300. Driven both, and it feels about the same. In fact the Lexus was a '99 and the Camry a '96.

1996 Toyota Camry LE 2.2 from Dominican Republic


The best car in the world


The radiator blew at about 70,000 miles, as well as the water pump, but it wasn't the car's fault since a valve had to be replaced and hadn't been taken care of.

Nothing else has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

It is a great car, one of the most comfortable cars I have ever got into. The seats are great, very confortable, and provide very good support.

The engine is good and has good delivery, especially for a 4 cylinder car.

It is the best car ever, super comfortable, long lasting, low maintenance, and good fuel economy. It is very roomy, the audio sounds great, has good handling (could be better, but is quite good). It is also quiet, and feels very good (handles well and cruises comfortably) on highways.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

19th Jan 2006, 07:05

What would be your view of the greatest car in the world, please don't say anything with the words, chevy, ford or chrysler in it and I might agree with u.

14th Dec 2007, 22:37

The Mk-III Camry's are, for the money, very very good cars indeed.

28th Nov 2010, 19:33

My 1996 Camry shows 346000KM original engine. Changed two hom. joints and brakes, and reg stuff...

This is my second Camry, I sold the 1989 in 2004 to a friend, with 285000km.

If this is not the best car in the world, what is???

I drive hard and fast, I'm 43, I had my first at 29 years old and drove it like a sports car...


1996 Toyota Camry xle v6 3.0L V6 from North America


This is a very reliable car and I recommend you get one


As of now nothing has gone wrong, for it only had 20000 miles when I got it from my mother.

General Comments:

The Camry is a nice car and in this year the V6 model has the same motor as the Lexus ES300. The car could use a lot more power though. It lacks power for a V6. A lot of people with this car say the air has a funny odor, which mine has the same problem. I have heard from smelling like rotten eggs to mildew. Mine smells like mildew. The leather seats are firm and have good support. The cabin is noisy on the highway and the car gets rough once you get over 80mph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2004

1996 Toyota Camry V6 XLE 3.0 V6 from North America


Considering the interior problems, I am not likely to ever buy another Toyota


Within the first 10,000 miles, the left side speaker cover fell off.

At 40,000 the automatic antenna quit going down, so the motor whirs pointlessly every time the ignition key is turned off.

At 44,000 miles the left side sun visor broke off.

This has been a garage kept car, driven only 5-6 times per week.

General Comments:

The v6 is very peppy on the level ground. The firm seats are very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th October, 2004

1st Nov 2004, 10:16

So, in eight years some plastic trim pieces broke and the power antenna stopped working?

Yep, sounds like enough reason to NOT buy another Toyota all right.

27th Apr 2005, 19:55

All you need to fix antenna is a $25.00 mast. Simple repair.

11th Dec 2005, 09:04

I think you should try and sell or maybe even donate your car to an American manufacturer if, after 8 years, this is all that's gone wrong.