1992 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1992 Toyota Celica Coupe ST 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired95700 miles
Most recent distance95954 miles

Summary:

I think I got ripped

Faults:

God, you don't want to know, but I'll tell you.

I just bought a Celica 1992 ST for $2995. It has 96,750 miles, and the defects are as follows:

Some metal thing stuck in my driver's side lock, the left side shows evidence of an attempted break in on the door latch and lock on the side (a piece is missing), the truck doesn't open correctly, but it opens and the top of the lock is missing, 2 little cracks in the front window (not spider ones) and it has the factory paint defect (it's coming off), oh and there's a little dent on the driver's side.

Other than that, the car is great. It has a fantastic stereo and CD player (I think that's why someone tried to break into it). It's also a salvaged car. Do you think I over paid? Take into consideration I live in the San Francisco bay area of California. Thanks =)

My name is Sinniemon.

General Comments:

Always check the car you are going to buy COMPLETELY!!!

This was my first, and I love it despite the defects. It can be fixed... or taped up! =)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

4th Jan 2008, 08:40

Your defects are owner produced.. You can't blame the manufacturer.. Plus your car is a salvage title.. Yeah you got ripped..

2nd Jan 2013, 10:43

Considering the car has around 90k miles, you'll get another 200k out of it. For $3,000 you've got a car that will last you longer than a $10,000 car. So don't feel bad. The listed damage on the vehicle is all easily repairable.

1992 Toyota Celica GT Sports Coupe Liftback 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired108500 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

Go easy on the gas or else you'll spin out your tires even when you don't want to

Faults:

There was an oil leak.

Other than that, nothing at all.

General Comments:

This is a great car, comfortable, reliable, and very fast.

I have beaten 1990's Preludes in this thing, Mustangs, an 84 Firebird, and even a Honda CRX!

All of my races are 2 miles long on a straight away. I have won 14/15 races and almost all of those cars were all soup-ed up with DC headers, cat back exhaust etc. And yet I still beat them!

The only thing I have lost against, was a 2000 Corvette (a given).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2001

13th Aug 2001, 03:18

Dude,

I've got this 1991 Celica and I'm new at all this racing and souping up vehicles. But to hear you say that you've beat the cars you did inspires me to slap on anything that ups the torque and race anything that rolls. In other words, how in the hell do you make the car go faster without the NOS?

C.J.

1992 Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD Carlos Sainz 2.0 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carCitroen AX GT Mk1

Summary:

High performance, though you might not notice!

Faults:

Windscreen washer pump failed for three weeks, and then magically started working again. Nothing else has ever gone wrong!

General Comments:

A very reliable, and very fast performance car.

The car crosses country quicker than any other car I've driven (bar an Impreza).

Steering feel is great, as is the feeling through the seat of how the car is behaving.

However, the sensations of driving are somewhat dulled in comparison with other performance cars (911, 205 GTi, Caterham etc). Driving is about sensations, so I'm changing it.

The other reason I'm changing it, is, whilst it is very very reliable, it's just too thirsty on fuel (22mpg and 26 on motorways), and it eats its way through a set of tyres (£400) every year, and needs servicing every 6000 miles (3 times a year for me!!!). Backstreet garages cannot cope with the complexity of the car, so this means main dealer prices.

Very comfortable and very reliable. I can think of no other car more suitable for reliable ownership to transport its driver around the country at high speed in complete comfort.

Personally, I'm going to go for something cheaper to run, that's still a lot of fun. A Mk1 MR2 is now on my wish list whilst I save for my dream car... a Caterham 7.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2001

3rd Aug 2004, 19:53

Brilliant from a guy whose last car was a AX GT LOL.

24th Dec 2004, 07:35

I have a GT-Four and I think trying to compare the handling to a 911 or Caterham is a bit harsh. The handling is good, just a little understeer, an uprated antiroll bar makes it great.

Plus the car is endlessly upgradable in engine and chassis.

And 99% of 2litre turbo engines are not complex.

2nd May 2005, 01:23

Steering feel is great, very reliable, very comfortable. Let me add: solid & predictable handling, excellent braking, nice looking, powerful & torquey turbo engine, very practical liftback trunk & folding rear seat, the image of World Rally Champions. ST185 GT-Four is the best Celica ever, even though it's heavy and parts are expensive.

30th May 2005, 11:29

That's interesting about the washer fluid pump. When I bought my 91 Celica convertible off a Chevy used car lot 2 yrs. ago the only thing that didn't work (other than the A/C) was that pump. I rode around for 18 months never trying it again and had resigned myself to fixing it one of these days. Then out of the blue I tried it again and the rest as they say is history. Now if only the A/C would do the same.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 26 reviews