1988 Toyota Corolla 1.3 XL (EE90) 1.3 petrol from Portugal


Tank mobile


Rust after 10 years.

Starter engine death after 15 years of service.

Battery needs to be replaced every 5 years.

General Comments:

The car is very very reliable.

I use to travel a lot and this car never never never broke down. Fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th October, 2005

8th Jan 2007, 17:03

... a long time ago I was a Fiat 600D. Very nice machine, but... in 1973 I´m tried a 1300 Toyota corolla, and never change.

Starlet 1300S, Corolla EE90, Starlet 1500 Diesel, was my cars. Now I have a Corolla G6 and two diesel Yaris. (My wife and my daughter).

Problems?? Never, never, never, only a fuel and not so much.

Thanks a lot for the Japanese thecnics.

9th Oct 2007, 15:45

The Toyota EE90 is a superb machine if only I could get someone to supply the genuine parts to me. I'm on +254724255321..

27th Mar 2008, 04:38

Anyone who wishes to buy a Toyota ee90 XL contact 0736491473.

10th Jul 2008, 17:05

I am looking only for a block for my corolla and I am from greece. anyone can help??? thanks a lot.

1988 Toyota Corolla SR5 Coupe (AE92) 1.6-Liter, SOHC, 16v from North America


Excellent, reliable, good looking car, that's fun to drive and easy to maintain


When we first bought it, the trunk leaked. We solved the problem with some new rubber in the right areas.

The remote trunk release cable broke, but luckily it was just a small tab inside the trunk. It was easily fixed.

It needs an alignment, and maybe even a new front right axle. The CV boot split a little, which isn't good.

Most recently, the water pump decided to eat itself, so we had to replace it. The timing belt was also replaced at this time (it was about due.)

General Comments:

The wheels are quite ugly at the moment. The paint is coming off on all four, though, I have planned to repaint them for some time. They are great, almost 'vintage' looking steel wheels. I couldn't imagine anything else on the car.

The seats seem to be quite durable, as mine are obviously worn, but definitely not worn out. No holes, surprisingly.

The factory speakers in it were only 4in, so it would be pretty hard for an audio enthusiast to get great sound out of it. We get decent music coming out of a nice deck and some off-brand $8 a pair ***Mart speakers.

It isn't the tightest car - Definately no go-kart. I'd imagine some slightly shorter, harder springs may do it some good.

I just cleaned the engine not long ago.

With regular oil changes, and other maintenance, this car will easily last well past 200k miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2005

8th Jun 2005, 07:44

You should have no problems hitting the 200k mark... my sister is doing just that on her 90 Corolla Wagon. She routinely drives it many miles and performs all maintenance in a timely manner. Even after 15 years, not one spot of rust on the car. It was repainted in 2003, as the clearcoat was peeling off. The only real trouble spot on this car has been the A/C. She had it replaced and converted to R134 at around 120K. She plans on driving this car until it won't drive anymore.

1988 Toyota Corolla Twin Cam 16 1.6 twin cam from Australia and New Zealand


Little beast


Not much really, the starter motor has played up a few times. There are a couple of spots of rust, in the door sills and rear quarter (above rear wheel). Apart from that nothing major.

General Comments:

This is one of the better handling cars I've ever driven, feels as though its glued to the road in comparison to some other cars I have driven. Goes extremely well for a 1.6L, has beater the likes of AU Falcon's, Mirage's, Celica's and V6 Camry's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2005

13th Jan 2008, 03:24

Hi there, regarding your starter motor problems, I would say it is a good chance that it is heat soak from the starter being wedged under the exhaust pipe, apparently it is a pretty common problem. It made my corolla go a little spastic at times too.