1988 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 10 of 12

1988 Toyota Corolla Levin GTV 1.6 4age from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 4age Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 kilometres
Most recent distance148000 kilometres
Previous carDaihatsu 360x

Summary:

A fun, quick and reliable coupe

Faults:

Clutch needed replacing at about 75000.

Brakes replaced once in the time owned.

Hand-brake cable will need replacing soon as it has stretched.

General Comments:

For the engine size, the car is a good performer.

The 4age is a strong engine and will rev freely all day.

I have had next to no problems with this car since I bought it.

I still enjoy driving it today and do not plan to sell it in the near future.

I have no complaints about the (Toyota) Levin at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

1st Dec 2010, 22:38

I fully agree with the review. I've owned a 1988 Toyota Corolla Levin since 1995, and it's a great car! Certainly have no intention of selling this car any time soon. Upgraded the engine from a big port 16 valve to a 20 valve Black top, and boy am I having fun. Hondas and Subarus hate me! Plan to give it a tweak with a pair of half race cams. Evolution beware! Just need to know the best supplier in relation to cost.

11th Jul 2012, 16:53

Hondas and Subarus hate you? Not here where it snows 350 inches a year... my Corolla can't be used 5 months out of the year unless I have chains on it. But my old Subarus keep chuggin', without chains, no problem...

From the mountains of California, sayonara...

1988 Toyota Corolla GTS 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance240000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Reliability and performance at a reasonable price

Faults:

Brake pad replacement at 239000.

Exhaust replacement at 239000.

General Comments:

All around a fun and very reliable car. With over 240000 miles on it, I commute everyday to work (200 miles round trip) and the car has performed excellently.

General upkeep makes this one of the best value cars on the road today.

Looks good and handles great on the highway and corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2001

1988 Toyota Corolla XL 1.3 from Costa Rica

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance265000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

Superb family-sporty sedan

Faults:

I had to repair the air conditioning system three times. Minor leaks and seals that failed.

I had to rebuild the engine after 250000kms of hard work.

Besides that, only scheduled maintenance.

I had to change the front seats cover, after 225000kms of having people on them.

General Comments:

This car is the best I ever had. I bought it like new and still like new. I have no complaints.

It is a very fast car and totally reliable. It has never let me down.

We raced about 2 years, like 4 years ago and it has a stunning performance. This is the main reason I had to rebuild the engine.

My wife and I are in love with this car and probably we won't let this baby go ever. As a matter of fact if I will like to buy another Corolla like '95 or so.

This car looks good and feels good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd June, 2001

2nd Sep 2004, 14:15

I have a 1988 corolla gt-s with 120,000 miles. does it have a fuel injection.

1988 Toyota Corolla LX from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Fox

Summary:

The world's greatest economy car

Faults:

Replaced the clutch at 100K miles.

Replaced the radiator at 130K miles.

Otherwise, just regular wear and tear.

General Comments:

This is the ultimate grad-student-mobile. Cheap, reliable, efficient. You can park it anywhere, and it takes lots of abuse without complaint.

I'm at 150K and still love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2001

1988 Toyota Corolla Station Wagon - FWD 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance297000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

Normal wear and tear.

Over 11 years/250000 km:

I have put a number of exhaust systems in. That is biggest fault with the Corolla.

Over the past 2 years:

I have put in a new alternator.

I have put in a new clutch.

I have put in a new radiator.

I have put in a new gas tank.

I have put in a new timing belt.

I have put in a new water pump.

General Comments:

I can't believe that I have only had to put in one clutch in over 250,000 km.

Now that I have put in some serious bucks in the last year or so, I expect to at least another couple of years out of the vehicle.

This is one car that will go forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

8th Mar 2004, 14:12

You can't believe You have drive over 250.000km with the first clutch. Our Toyota Corolla wagon 1.6 from 1989 has drive over 650.000!km and still going strong.

We have put the second clutch at 450.000km in it.

Once a Year the car will maintained and that's it.

My next car is Over ten Year a Corolla.

26th Mar 2006, 15:20

I have an 88 Corolla Wagon...400 000+ kms (owned since new) and still going with original clutch. I almost sold it yesterday, but then I had cold feet, cannot bear to leave such a wonderful car! I am going for a million kms.. then maybe Toyota will place her in a museum!

Future maintenance will be: Timing Belt, Radiator, and tires.

Go TOYOTA!!

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 47 reviews