1998 Volkswagen Jetta GT 2.0L from North America


I love my gas pig!


Rust bubbles have formed on the driver side door (four bubbles) and on the trunk lid (two bubbles) and around where the spoiler attaches.

Big rust hole by the gas filler neck area.

Transmission had to be rebuilt at 50,000kms.

$9,000 worth of warranty work (including $5,000 for the transmission rebuild) were put into this car in its first two years.

General Comments:

This car has been extremely reliable for me! Has yet to develop any mechanical problems.

The original Volkswagen battery even lasted six years!

The rust that bothered me I was able to get fixed for a very good price, so the body and paint are beautiful again!

The handling of the car is not as good as other cars I've driven, yet it is quick considering the engine size and automatic transmission.

The automatic transmission means that the car is not as good on gas as manual version, and in the past year fuel consumption has increased. I now do 11L per 100km in the city, which I am disappointed with and which is making me consider selling the car (for another, newer Jetta).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2004

11th Sep 2006, 06:38

This is the author of that review again... I drove the car up to 128,000km before selling it in February 2006. Overall, I loved the car. It did, however, cost me $8,000 in body work and repairs in the 2.5 years I had it. Not all of this was necessary though, this was just me being extremely fussy and replacing everything when it just began to maybe need replacing. The body work was to stay ahead of all the rust bubbles (Canadian climate). I sold it because the car was, frankly, starting to get old (8 years) and beginning to cost a lot (would have soon needed new exhaust and new suspension, etc.). I upgraded to a 2002 Jetta TDI.

1998 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America


Needs to be recalled


My Jetta GLS windows will not go down. A few months ago it started with the back windows, and now has moved to the drivers side, leaving me with one window that will go down. When I touch the control panel of my car it will alarm my car, causing it to go off while I am driving. There is also a problem with my car not starting in the rain which is a problem because I live in Washington! I have spent well over nine hundred dallors for a new exhaust system that keeps breaking down.

General Comments:

At first I loved my Jetta, but the problems on the list keep growing and growing. The annoying part is not being able to use my windows and the arlam constantly going off while I am driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

6th Jan 2005, 19:44

Just FYI, I had the same problem (my very own lemon). You need to check the wiring between the doors (all four). You will need a wiring harness. Nicole.

16th Jul 2005, 01:39

The exhaust that you put on has nothing to do with the preformance of the car...

6th Jul 2009, 01:25

I believe you may have just had the bad luck to get a malfunctioning Jetta, because I nor any of my friend that own Jettas have had any of these problems, and we all live in Tahoe, and it rains and snows here, and I just believe another chance would be a good idea. Sorry for all the trouble.

1998 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America


This car makes me want to die, slowly


Window broke and fell into the door panel at approx 40,000 miles. Three times.

The glue that holds the trim on the door melts, and the trim falls off during the summer.

Engine light automatically comes on at 60,000 miles to get you into the dealer. Wait a while and it turns itself off.

Clutch had to be replaced at 55,000 miles.

Alternator went out at at 65,000 miles, causing the battery to die.

When I jumped the car to juice up the battery, it blew the computer.

VW set up the cars to give false readings on rental fault scanners, so I replaced the MAF and throttle body on its readings when the dealer scanner said it was the computer.

Many many other minor problems.

General Comments:

The cars look good on the outside, but work very poorly on the inside.

VW dealers are the most evil demons of all the hells.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2004