1998 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 15 of 25

1998 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 2.0 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Awesome car, close to perfection

Faults:

Rear left window quit working.

One door lock knob broke off.

Everything else was general scheduled repairs.

General Comments:

Super safe, solid, powerful. The New Yorker Magazine rated it among the safest of cars, noting that it is certianly for proactive drivers.

Reliable, high quality, like a BMW for a fraction of the price.

Best car I ever had.

Fog lights help tons in humid climates.

Sound system fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

9th Oct 2004, 17:52

Did you try to get the window fixed, if so what did they say?

1998 Volkswagen Jetta TDI turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

A practical, fun, comfortable car

Faults:

It has lost acceleration rate.

General Comments:

For the amount of miles that are on the car, I haven't had to fix much.

When in fully-working condition, it's a lot of fun to drive. It has lots of torque.

It's very comfortable.

The diesel gets great mileage- about 49 miles per gallon.

The majority of the parts have outlived their "life expectancy," including the turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2004

1998 Volkswagen Jetta TDI turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired37 miles
Most recent distance69843 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Adopt one of your own today

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with this car.

The only thing I noticed is cosmetic and it's just the wear on the brake boot. The leather didn't hold up real well, but is easily replaceable.

It goes back to our dealership for all service appointments. and maintenance. checks and has had no issues.

General Comments:

We have 3 diesel Jettas (82,89,98) and a 93 Eurovan, this one is by far the favorite of the crew. It's never sluggish and starts great in the Pennsylvania winters. The fuel mileage is excellent55/60mpg highway 50/town.

This car still rides like it was new.

A very smooth ride and it handles like a dream.

We have decided to keep this car till the end.

We are the home for wayward Volkswagens.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

25th Apr 2006, 20:01

No Jetta TDI gets 60 mpg on the highway - this is exaggerated.

26th Apr 2006, 12:27

Absolutely exaggerated.

15th Oct 2006, 16:57

Sorry, I currently have my 2nd 1998 tdi Jetta (ex-wife took first one in divorce) and they both get 48 city mpg, and 58 mpg highway, at 70 mph. When I went to 205 40 17's the economy went down to 38-41 mpg, 8 months later I put the original 14 inch rims and got my 48-58 mpg, and yes on occasion it hits 60 mpg.

1998 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired84681 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

I really bad migraine

Faults:

Had to replace the stereo. Cost $260.00.

Left rear window fell down into the door. Three days in the shop. Cost $300.

Check engine light continues to go on. VW Dealership can't locate problem after two attempts, at $90 a pop. They suggested we start replacing parts. That scares me.

Driver door lock actuator failed. This caused the alarm system to malfunction. The car thought I, (the owner) was going to boost it. Very embarrassing at 10PM Cost $286.00.

Car was in shop 6 weeks for alarm system failure. It is still not working properly. Had to literally give my left arm.

General Comments:

This Jetta handles very well.

I thought the car was so great when we first had it.

Now the entire family thinks the car is possessed. The power windows go up and down randomly. The alarm system goes off while you are driving down the road. The auto door locks quit working. The dome light doesn't work. One day all the windows were stuck in the down position. I had to drive 15 miles across town in 20 degree weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2004

21st Apr 2004, 10:01

I am having the same problem with the check engine light. The dealership identified it as a O2 emission control problem. I saw one posting from someone who said that the dealership suggested replacing one part at a time to find out what the actual problem is...yikes!

Driver side window grinds as it comes up. Seems as though I should expect the rest of the windows to go as well based on others comments.

Passenger side door lock snapped off.

Heat shield is rattling... VW told me there was nothing I could do.

Clutch is riding high.

Brakes at 25% (80K km)

Replaced back struts (60K km)

Replaced tires (40K km)...who needs performance tires on this car??

I was really happy with this car. Now, after a checkup indicating that I needed 2000$ (CDN I might add) worth of work done... I have changed my mind.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 92 reviews