1997 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 3 of 21

1997 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Cheap, unreliable, and a waste of money

Faults:

Water leaked in from trunk, smelled bad.

Overheated six months after buying used, replaced radiator. Immediately engine started shuddering. Going to cost another 400 just to fix enough to see what is wrong with it.

General Comments:

I HATE this car!

It smells musty.

The CD player is spastic and only works part of the time.

My overweight friend didn't fit in it.

The AC died.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2007

1997 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance170900 miles
Previous carDodge Monte Carlo

Summary:

I love the gas mileage

Faults:

I bought the car with 170,000 miles on it.

The things I have problems with are the factory paint is flaking off, and it didn't come with air conditioning.

General Comments:

I love the car and I love the gas mileage. The car is very spunky for its motor size.

I have owned the car for three weeks and have put 900 miles on it.

We have changed the exhaust and installed a custom stereo system. We now plan to have it painted, install a body kit, and buy some rims and low pros for it.

This car has become part of the family. Whenever any of us need to go somewhere, we always take the Neon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th May, 2007

1997 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Don't buy Neons

Faults:

I put about 1100 dollars into the car, but the problem was I was in an accident in OCT 21 2006, and it did not take the hit so good, and I got a lot of cuts and bruises.

Safety wise it is not good, because the car is mostly made up of aluminum and plastic, and I would not put kids in the front seat, because the air bags still have the gun powder to inflate the air bags, which sucks, so in other words, DON'T BUY IT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd November, 2006

3rd Nov 2006, 10:25

Whoever understood one word, please raise your hand...

5th Nov 2006, 13:39

I did! There are a lot of people out there angry about the safety of the Neon and the reliability of it. I looked at a Neon that was smashed up at a junkyard and noticed that the seat belts broke between the holster and the attachment to the floor, because it was made of seat belt tether cloth. If a car has those kinds of seat belts, then they should be pulled off the road! Period! My Japanese car's seat belts are attached to the frame of the car with some kind of metal housing.

1997 Dodge Neon Sport 4 door 2.0L 16 V DOHC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L 16 V DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 kilometres
Most recent distance158000 kilometres
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Very good car

Faults:

Head gasket (replaced by dealer before I took delivery.

Battery failed 70,000 Km.

Air conditioner compressor (warranty, no cost to me). 88,000 Km.

Sun roof failed (clacking sound upon closure), dealer and Chrysler would not cover, so I just keep it shut. 88,000 Km.

Front rotors and pads at 100,000 Km.

Freon leaked out. 140,000 Km.

Passenger side rear strut mount went. $60 and I did it myself 157,000 Km.

General Comments:

Very reliable. Changed oil every 3000 Km (1800 miles) because it was a city car. Got a can of Fuel injector cleaner with the oil change. Tuned up once a year. Replaced timing belt at 120,000 Km (nasty job, did it myself).

Seats are very comfortable (I'm 6'2", 260 pounds), Car is quick, handles well, excellent on gas (30 mpg city, 39mpg hwy). Factory AM/FM tape unit has real guts. Very surprising. Blows great heat in the winter, never failed to start. Wind noise is louder than the average car, but it is an econobox and has served me well. Thanks dodge!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th July, 2006

1997 Dodge Neon from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles

Summary:

150,000 miles and still kicking!! I will cry when I have to trade it in

Faults:

Needed to replace head gasket within 2 years of purchase.

Muffler replacement at 149,000 miles.

Alternator replacement at 149,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love my car!!!

My parents bought me this car the day I got my drivers license on August 30, 1997. It was used- 10,000 miles for 10,000 dollars. Neon's have gotten a pretty bad reputation- but I love my car. It is a soldier. The army should have bought these instead of the Hummers!! I've put 140,000 miles on it over the past 9 years. It's had not many major problems. It performs beautifully- even after 9 years and 150,000 miles. It makes me feel comfortable driving. I don't know how I will ever feel as safe in another car. The day I have to trade it in will be a sad, sad day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

25th Jan 2008, 12:36

I have maintained a 1997 Plymouth neon Highline for my girlfriend since September of 2001. It now has approx. 194,000 miles on the odometer. Despite requiring a lot of mechanical attention to several problems occurring between 80-140K; it has been an economical and safe car to operate.

I fully anticipate this car to surpass 250,000 miles with minimal repairs and contiued regular maintenance.

Furthermore, It's my opinion that any car capable of rendering over 200,000 miles of service to it's owner is worthy of investing a modest amount of time and money to maintain it's driveability.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 85 reviews