1997 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 5 of 21

1997 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Total crap

Faults:

My head gasket blew a few months ago and now I think the same thing happen today.

If I have to, I will go to court about this known problem. I am a college student and I do not have the money to get this fixed.

My gears are starting to slip, mostly 2nd and reverse.

Gas mileage is starting to go downhill and the rising gas prices are not helping me at all.

General Comments:

I would not give this car to my worst enemy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st August, 2005

1997 Dodge Neon 2.0 4lit from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 4lit Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1500210 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A good buy

Faults:

Air conditioning has a leak this year.

General Comments:

It is in general an overall good car. My car is 8 years old, and now I need a starter.

Can't complain, no other major problems. It still has the original clutch and all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2005

1997 Dodge Neon SOHC from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Wished I bought a Ford or a Toyota

Faults:

Head gasket blown, twice, first at 90,000 and second at 118000 miles. Head needed to be resurfaced 2nd time. Metal gasket used for 2nd head gasket replacement. Rear light covers are brittle and cracked. Headlight plastic cover is degraded. Rear main seal is leaking at 97000 miles. Radiator needed replacing at 97000 miles. Passenger side CV joint is worn prematurely. Windows (driver and passenger) do not seal against weather stripping and road noise is really bad.

General Comments:

This car gets good gas mileage, but the cost savings are more than offset by the repair costs, even for this do it yourself mechanic. It would seem better to finance another car than to keep repair the dodge neon after 95000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

1997 Dodge Neon 2.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance178000 kilometres

Summary:

A total disappointment

Faults:

It is a total disappointment. Head gasket needed replacement. Faulty electrical wiring, transmission problems, engine problems - I had all! Spent a fortune replacing timing belt, fuel pump, starter (twice), alternator. Now there is a leak in camshaft seal. Crappy interior parts - everything kept falling off after a while. Bought this car loaded, but within 100K Kms - power window, power lock and remote keyless entry doesn't work.

General Comments:

Wish I had done more research before buying this junk. I am really glad that now I can afford to dump this and move to something better. By all means - I will stay away from Chrysler/Dodge this time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2005

14th Apr 2005, 12:52

We must have purchased the one good Neon out there. It currently has, no lie, 303,220 kilometres on it. We had the head gasket replaced under a "hidden warranty" during the first year of ownership. Since then we have done the regular stuff. It still has the original exhaust with the muffler replaced only this past winter.

I should point out that our model is the 2 door bare bones version the only option is the CD player. It has an automatic transmission which believe it or not still pulls hard.

I am probably the only Neon owner in North America who can truly say that this car owes us nothing. Would I buy another one - no. We got the good one, everyone else got the bad ones.

Graeme - oh yeah, and it pulls my 14 foot runabout too...

28th Jun 2005, 19:52

I'm happy that you bought the only good neon out there cuz if I was the guy that bought the neon with all the problems I wouldn't be happy I mean, but if he would keep up with regular maintainance then I think that he wouldn't have so many problems.

16th Aug 2005, 13:39

That's actually not the case. I have always done regular maintenance - never late - ever. That's what ticks me off even more! And I did not take it to cheap mechanics either - always had it done either at dealer or CAA approved garages.

1997 Dodge Neon SE from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles

Summary:

Cute

Faults:

Was in much desperate need of a new fuel pump. Also some wires were touching and it burnt out a sensor and caused the car to die while driving it and then had trouble starting. It's perfect now since the wires have been fixed. Oh, and I lost a hubcap!

General Comments:

Awesome car and looks hot! Has great pick-up and a lot of speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th April, 2005

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 85 reviews