1997 Dodge Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 21

1997 Dodge Neon Sport SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A good soldier

Faults:

Head gasket 50,00, brakes 70,000, AC 80,000.

General Comments:

I was doubtful this car would be as good as it is.

Approaching 120k and still runs fine.

I will get a Corolla or Civic next, but I would not diss this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2006

1997 Dodge Neon highline 2.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles

Summary:

For being a throw away car, it has been a good runner in 9 years

Faults:

2 oxygen sensors went out, one at 30,000 and one at 60,000 miles.

Head gasket went out at 150,000 miles.

Speedometer is weird, it works then it don't.

Fuel pickup/sender broke at 125,000.

General Comments:

I have read a few of these reviews, and now it is time I stick up for the little neon.

I will start by saying everything that I read is true (no electrical problems that I know of).

Up until recently, 150,000 miles, nothing has gone wrong on my little car.

I did end up changing the head gasket at 150,000 miles, cost... $1200!

Everyone said it would go out before 60,000 or right after the warranty expired. Ha!

Gas mileage is incredible, I once nailed 43mpg on 93 octane, before you needed to re mortgage your house for gas to go town.

The paint is great, I spotted some cancer last year. Not bad for 8 year old paint.

Not all are bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2006

21st May 2006, 15:22

YAY another person sticking up for the Neon. I have a Neon with over 230,000 miles and its still a going strong with really no problems what so ever. except starter went out like 3 times.

1997 Dodge Neon Base 2.0 litre from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance147000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Buy a Honda

Faults:

A week after I bought this car from the dealership, it began to leak coolant at 60,000 km's. The mechanic said it was the O-ring. Replaced O-ring, problem was still there. Turns out it was the "head gasket", a well known problem with these cars. Got head gasket fixed. at 80,000 km's brakes began to squeak at complete stop. Problem seems to never go away, yet another trait for these cars. At 85,000 km's I began to have electrical issues when I opened the drivers door, dome light fails to come on. Yet another regular neon occurance. Car ran flawlessly up until 135,000km's. Then all hell broke loose. Spark plugs are accumulating oil on the ends and no one seems to know why. Engine light is permantently on, covered with black tape. Car doesn't overheat, but definitely has lost its power. Tires are always out of alignment. Water is always accumulating on the rear floors. All in all, a complete nightmare. Oh, and the paint flakes off like nail polish. And the transmission squeaks and slips. Oh did I mention the speakers don't work. And the headlight casing is as yellow as the sun. I could go on for days, but whats the point?

General Comments:

The worst car ever conceived. Looked like a good deal at the time. Being a student, I wanted something that was good on gas and stylish enough to tour around in. What a mistake. The amount of money I could put into this car could be enough for a down payment on a house, but I'd rather just drive this pos the way it is and hope that it explodes. I have nothing positive to say about this car other than it is roomy enough for a homeless person to live in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd May, 2006

3rd May 2006, 15:41

You can buy a decent Honda for the same amount as a Dodge Neon, the values are way different. As soon as you leave the lot with any Chrysler product, the value crashes through the floor and the banks are laughing like mad.

However such as the new Magnum and Charger may change things at least for certain cars. The Neon however is known to be trash, leaking head gaskets poor quality materials so the value on those are pretty low.. one exception might be the turbo model offered in the last few years. I think it produces like 230hp, and it most likely will hold its value because of the performance offered.

4th May 2006, 08:43

The Magnum and the Charger will still drop in value as well.

Even the best selling Mustang is being severely discounted around here, something that wouldn't happen if a vehicle held its value.

4th May 2006, 16:30

"Engine light is permantently on, covered with black tape."

That's one interesting approach to vehicle maintenance.

To the poster above: I think the turbocharged SRT-4 engine is designed and built by Mitsubishi.

5th May 2006, 05:44

The Mustang loses value through rising gas price and sheer numbers sold. Charger and 300 seem to hold price very well which is sort of surprising. But this being a early Neon it will have it's shares of problems. In 2001 or 2003 they were redesigned and were much much better.

7th May 2006, 13:51

The concept of "vehicle value" was invented by car salesmen and finance officers to make stupid people think they were being smart for writing a $500 check every month. A vehicle has value as long as it moves under its own power and gets you where you need to go. If you are making a car payment to achieve that objective, then that is a concept known as "over-valued."

22nd Apr 2009, 14:53

Thanks for making me laugh! I bought a Neon new in 1997 and it was the worst money I have ever spent - I'm still mad about it.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 85 reviews