1998 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 5.2L from North America

Summary:

My truck

Faults:

Idle air control valve went. Replaced myself. Easy.

General Comments:

As far as I'm concerned, I will never own anything but Dodge or Chrysler products.

Amazing truck. Great handling (for a truck), comfortable ride. A lot smoother than my buddies Chevy.

Plenty of power and torque. The only down side is the fuel mileage, but it is getting better.

I put dropped a K + N filter in, high performance spark plugs and dual exhaust, and I get 500K to a tank in the city.

This is my truck, and no other will ever take its place.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2010

25th Mar 2010, 16:37

Really? You get 500,000 miles on a single tank of gas? And in the city too?! WOW! Now if only that were possible!

14th Nov 2010, 00:13

Uh, that's 500 Kilometers!

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 5.2 318 V8 from North America

Summary:

Dodge could have done better

Faults:

Water pump failed at 202,000 miles. REASONABLE.

Alternator failed at 204,000 miles. REASONABLE.

Radiator failed at 207,000 miles. REASONABLE.

Transmission was starting to fail at 210,000 miles. Slipping sometimes on take off and whining real bad in reverse. REASONABLE.

At 214,000 miles the engine block cracked between two freeze plugs, and started leaking antifreeze, not reasonable. The truck had pure antifreeze, and where I live never gets colder at night than maybe 38 degrees.

General Comments:

Pulls good.

AC was very cold.

Had good power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2010

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup 1500 5.9L from North America

Faults:

After about 50000 miles, I had to have the trans replaced. The dealer said that you have to flush the cooling system every 30000 or 3 years to keep the system from clogging up. $2600 bill for what could have been $150 prevent job. So flush those systems Ram owners, or pay the piper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2010

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup SLT 5.9 from North America

Summary:

Worthless

Faults:

Transmission blew up on Thanksgiving day 09, and ruined my kid's Thanksgiving. 130 000 miles.

General Comments:

The American people have to stop Dodge from selling us lemons; worthless vehicles that have problems we are not aware of at time of purchase, cause they don't break down till months later.

We need to get enough complaints IN TO HIGHWAY SAFETY TO GET THIS CRAP STOPPED.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2009

1st Dec 2013, 19:22

Bragging a bit. 1997 2500 Club Cab 4x4 V10, raised 3 inches on Mickey Thompson 16x10 forged with 35x13.50x16 Mickeys.

I replaced my thermostat with a 160 degree one two weeks after I picked it up new from the dealer. I now have 247,000 miles on it. Everything is original; not a hose, belt, alternator or water pump; nothing.

I HAVE WORKED THIS TRUCK.

Heat is your enemy. This is your problem. The factory has to keep super high engine temps to pass emissions. Mine is 8800lbs, no emission tests.

This is by far the toughest truck on the road. Grab it by the horns, you won't be disappointed.

Drop the volcanic temps and everything will last way, way, 247k longer.

Rick Womack

4th Dec 2013, 17:59

That's actually not true. It's mechanically unsound to run any vehicle below the running temperature it was designed for. In fact, the owner's manual even recommends to let the truck warm up for a few minutes before driving it when it hasn't been driven overnight or for a while. Driving it below the appropriate operating temperature prematurely wears out and bogs down some of the engine components.

6th Dec 2013, 13:59

How you can judge a vehicle you bought with 125,000 miles on it is beyond me.

9th Dec 2013, 15:31

I changed the thermostat on a car that was running at 150 degrees to a hotter thermostat.

1998 Dodge Ram Pickup Sport 5.9 from North America

Summary:

Wonderful

Faults:

Rebuilt the transmission, replaced the rear third member twice.

Replaced front third member, ball joints, and all u-joints.

General Comments:

All my repairs were from abuse and the stock parts that could not handle the pressure. Tranny has a shift kit and over sized torque converter, stock gears were replaced with 456 front and rear (true track locker and larger u-joints). Has a 6 inch lift with 35x12.50.

It is a great truck. Pulls my 20 foot boat, likes the mud, and I drive it to work daily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2009