1993 Dodge Shadow Reviews

1993 Dodge Shadow Base 2.2L from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carMazda B4000

Summary:

The 4 banger that can't be disliked

Faults:

Repainted at 50K - $575.

One side of the backseat latch broke.

Passenger door lock doesn't work from the outside.

Stereo upgraded and completely rewired.

Wiper motor gives an annoying squeal.

Valve cover gasket replaced at 63K - $150.

J-nut fell into the lower timing belt cover and shredded the timing belt at 63K - $550.

General Comments:

As tempted as I am to get a new car, this darn car keeps on tootling on. Has only stranded me once when a sharp piece of metal debris fell into my lower timing belt cover, and made mincemeat of my timing belt.

It's good on gas at around 25-30 MPG, and since getting it repainted, I get lots of compliments on it. It has that 1990's charm, and it has been through a lot.

Its front wheel drive and light construction also makes it mob through snowy streets like an SUV. I love it.

I bought the car with only 45000 miles. This car will last a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2011

1993 Dodge Shadow Base 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Anyone who doesn't think these cars are bulletproof, needs to give their head a shake

Faults:

Replaced mostly wear and tear items, as well as rusty stuff, such as:

Radiator.

Brake line repair.

Front end parts.

Rear hatch shocks.

General Comments:

It's nothing fancy, but it's as tough as they get. It can't be killed, they go forever, they're easy on fuel, and they're cheap and easy to fix. If you don't think these were some of the most reliable cars ever built, there's something seriously wrong with you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2010

28th Oct 2010, 04:12

I agree this is about the best car you can get if you're on a budget. You can buy them for about $500 and they run for a long time, getting the same fuel economy as a 2010 whatever pretty much. It's just not a very pretty car, but it gets the job done for sure. I still see plenty of these on the road everywhere, so that's a sign it's a decent car.

6th Dec 2010, 21:25

Mine seems to be the only one left around here these days, I'd say the rest are all rusted out since I live in Newfoundland. I love mine, runs whenever it's needed in the worst of weather. An absolute BEAST in the snow even without winter tires. At 171000km the 2.2 doesn't burn a drop of oil, and the only real necessary repairs I've made were fuel tank + lines, brakes, a battery, and ball joints.

I've had the Chrysler flaking paint problem, sanded and repainted with Tremclad, and it's good to go!

I don't think I'll ever part with her!

1993 Dodge Shadow 2.2L 4cy from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4cy Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles

Summary:

20 years from now it'll still be running...

Faults:

Transmission replaced.

E Brakes been fixed 4 times.

Headlights have been replaced.

Passengers side window pulled out of track, fixed twice.

Driver's side windows pulled out of track 5 times, once 5 minutes after I picked it up from the mechanic.

The vents stuck open, gets a little warm in the summer no a/c.

The car shakes when idle or stopped.

The windshield fluid dispenser thingys on the wipers don't work very well, except for getting nearby pedestrians or other vehicles with all the fluid.

The clutch is going.

Lots of plastic parts on the inside are broken.

Window crank fell off.

Somehow it flooded on the inside of the car.

Window seals.

Oil plug stripped.

Hood gets stuck down.

Back hatch doesn't stay up. Been hit on the head numerous times by it.

Hood latch won't let you open the hood, have to have pop bottle or another person just to get it open.

Rearview mirror fell off.

Bumper fell off, twice.

Grinds in reverse.

Burns through oil.

Paint and clear coat chip off...when it rains it's like I own a lizard. It sheds.

The fiber glass grille broke.

General Comments:

This cars been through 3 teenagers learning to drive stick on it, and based on how I treated it I'm surprised it still runs.

Great on gas, approx. 35 miles to a gallon, unless you go like 95ish then it drops to 25.

It may be kinda old, but I trust it more than some of the new cars on the market. It's hit 3 deer and still is in one piece.

It seems to like off-road driving better than being on the road. Convinced it thinks it's a Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2007

28th Dec 2007, 12:47

Actually, for a 14 year old car it only has one spot of rust, and that was because of magnesium chloride they use on the road to melt the snow around here, I didn't get it washed off so it ate a small bit off the car. I take good care of my car... so ya it'll be around then too. Shadows rule!

14th Oct 2009, 00:19

"It seems to like off-road driving better than being on the road. Convinced it thinks it's a Jeep."

I went off-roading in mine too. She loved it! The only thing that happened was a little scratch on the side mirror courtesy of a tree; after all, it was a snowmobile trail that most cars wouldn't have fit down LOL.

6th Dec 2010, 21:28

I take mine fishing all the time! A set of P195/70R14s and she's ready to go. Only the worst spots are too much for the Shadow!

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 40 reviews