1993 Dodge Shadow Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1993 Dodge Shadow ES 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

Inexpensive, yet a great car to cruise around in

Faults:

Valve in transmission blew at 67,000.

General Comments:

This car has decent acceleration, purrs like a kitten, and is just fun to drive.

Handles great at highway speeds.

I like it a lot better than my Plymouth Acclaim, just a more fun, sporty car.

The stock Chrysler AM/FM cassette deck is subpar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

25th Oct 2001, 21:12

I noticed a lot of people saying the AM/FM cassette deck is subpar. That's what I have in my Shadow and what I did was replace the speakers. Believe me, it's the speakers, not the stereo.

New quality speakers sound AWESOME with the factory stereo!!

1993 Dodge Shadow ES V6 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

Very fast, very reliable

Faults:

Threw a belt.

Replaced alternator.

General Comments:

I bought this after my 1994 Sundance Duster was stolen because I wanted the same car.

I did the right thing. It's very fast, I love the room in the hatchback, and it's always reliable.

The bad thing is: apparently the previous owner had it repainted, and that paint job is now chipping away, leaving me with rust under the lip of the hatch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

1993 Dodge Shadow ES 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

Everyone I know that has one says they're great cars

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

I have owned nothing but Nissan/Datsun Z cars. I have had 5 280 ZXs, the best cars in the world. I have owned 3 300ZXs, I still own a 86 300ZX turbo.

I bought the Shadow because my sister has one and that was what I drove on road trips. It is a base model Shadow and every daily driver car.

It is my 93 Shadow ES, so clean you can eat off the engine. So far I drove this car everywhere and it's fun to drive, but not as fun as my Z LOL.

I would recommend one to anyone, I will be back next year to up date my reviews on my car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1993 Dodge Shadow ES 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired194000 kilometres
Most recent distance204000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

Great car for a low cost. Boo-Yaa

Faults:

Nothing really other than routine maintenance.

The brakes seized due to the previous owner not attending to them - made me crash the car once - no damage done however!

Needed fresh rubber as the old ones looked like slicks.

Fuel filter was original - clogged to hell.

3rd gear grinds at higher RPM's - hoping to address that soon.

General Comments:

Great car to own. The only problem is some minor rattles and shakes in which I hear are pretty damn common with these cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

24th Oct 2001, 14:45

If your car starts to shake at about 80 mph, you should check the front suspensions arms.

1993 Dodge Shadow Convertible 2.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2991
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carNissan Stanza

Summary:

If you have the opportunity to own a Dodge Shadow Convertible, buy it! You won't regret it

Faults:

Other than routine maintenance:

New clutch (about 50,000 miles).

New camshaft (about 91,000 miles).

New radiator (a stone was kicked up and put a pinhole in it -- 40,000 miles).

Oxygen sensor (about 50,000 miles).

Some bushing that cost $50, but once it was replaced, an annoying noise stopped.

Window motor (about 80,000 miles).

General Comments:

It's a convertible.

The best damned car I've owned -- where else could I get this much fun this cheap?

Always starts.

Left me stranded only twice in 116,000 miles: Once when I got two flats, another time when the camshaft went at 91,000 miles.

Chrysler radio is subpar quality.

Dealership service is lousy, but that's par for the course.

Uses about a quart of oil a week. Always has. Service folks seemed puzzled as to why.

I'd buy another one of these tomorrow. They're fast, reliable, a hell of a lot of fun, and easy to maintain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2001

6th Apr 2005, 10:04

If you read this; it is very common on the 2.5 to leak oil from the head gasket and valve cover gasket. This is the reason for the quart a month leak that most people complain of.

1993 Dodge Shadow 2.2 litre 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired157000 kilometres
Most recent distance161000 kilometres

Summary:

A good little basic car

Faults:

Replaced crackling speakers.

Rebuilt engine head.

General Comments:

It's a very nice little first car.

The only think I hate about it is the fuel gauge is WAY too sensitive. You turn a corner and the gauge goes up to full, or when you're on a hill the gauge moves towards empty. Stuff like that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2001

20th Feb 2001, 15:51

The fuel gauge is also enormous! In base models I guess they put it in place of a tachometer, which would have looked better than a gas gauge that was the same size as the speedometer.

1st Jun 2001, 07:04

I agree totally, I have a 1993 and it has the same problem with the gas gauge being huge. We know that the car has a small gas tank so why bother with the huge gas gauge?

4th Jun 2001, 21:07

What's worse with the big gas gauge is it makes it look like your gas goes down a whole lot faster then if it was a small one.

And I still think the Tachometer would have looked SO much better there!!

11th Jul 2001, 08:08

I have an ES and the gas gauge is actually quite small and I also have a tachometer, which I love.

1st Dec 2001, 02:20

I agree with the gas gauge, it's annoying, every time I turn a corner it looks like I'm either more empty or more full. My fiance says it's because it's a floating gas gauge or whatever. I wish I just knew exactly how much gas I really had.

1993 Dodge Shadow ES 2.5L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Horizon

Summary:

Nice looks, reliable, and affordable!

Faults:

Oxygen sensor.

Throttle position sensor.

Transmission went out at 63,000 miles.

General Comments:

She's been a very reliable car. The things that have gone wrong with it all happened within the first couple of months that I owned it. Since then, I have had no trouble with it whatsoever. It's a very cute little car that has a surprising amount of get up and go. I get a lot of compliments on it's looks. It's also a great car for a college student like me because it's so affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

1993 Dodge Shadow 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carNissan 280ZX

Summary:

I love my car (most of the time)

Faults:

Third gear went out (new trans).

Cracked head.

Blown rings.

Water pump (new motor).

General Comments:

As hard as I drive the car, I think it has held up good. Friends of mine say that I need a new car but I average a thousand bucks a year fixing it and that is still cheaper than a new car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 40 reviews