1995 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 11 of 21

1995 Eagle Talon TSi 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles

Summary:

A high performance dream

Faults:

Turbo blew 4 days after purchasing the car (1400)

Air Conditioning went out after three months (yet to fix)

Engine mounts cracked, all three and trans mount, 90000 miles (still shopping for best prices)

General Comments:

Love my car to death, wasn't fortunate to get the All-Wheel Drive Talon, but as long as I have the turbo, I'm happy. I have smoked Civic's, Eclipse's, all kinds of Mustangs, a Trans AM, Celica GT's, and a few other Honda's. There are some more that I can't think of right now, I am looking at a record of 28 and 2. Both losses to Corvette's, but I knew I couldn't win. he only way the car could handle any better is if I had the All-Wheel Drive. Despite the stuff that has gone wrong and what can go wrong, I would get another Talon any day.

This is my first car so I'm not to sure about the good places to get regular parts and performance parts. If any one has some useful information please e-mail me at Rad0218@aol.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th July, 2003

8th Aug 2003, 13:56

You brag about beating cars I could beat on my bicycle. Celicas, Civics, Eclipses.. big deal. And as far as beating a Trans Am... what was it, a beater from the early 70s? I own Trans Am and I haven't even come across a Talon owner who even tried to race.

26th Dec 2003, 15:49

Ya no doubt... my T/A would smoke your little Tonka toy of a car. And why are you racing Corvettes, nice race. Good job.

5th Jul 2004, 10:01

I wouldn't be calling Eclipse's toys... My buddy has a 1995 Eclipse GS-T and I drive it all the time. It may not be able to take the 350's that the T/A's have stock, but it you put about 500-1000 into that tough 2.0L DOHC you'll be wishing that cars didn't have exhaust because you'll be bathing in it from the Eclipse.

18th Dec 2004, 19:29

Dude I so agree with ya...Eclipse/Talon's all the way.

1995 Eagle Talon TSi AWD 2.0 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired137000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

You'll love it, but it won't love you

Faults:

When I first bought this car my passenger side window was stuck up just a little too far and wouldn't roll down. I fixed it easily with a minor adjustment.

Dome lights come one when they want to.

At about 139,000 miles the engine started making a knocking sound. I thought it might be normal so I kept driving it, and it kept getting louder. At about 140,000 miles the knocking was really loud until the engine just quit and sludged to a halt. Turned out that I had spun 2 rod bearings and ruined the crankshaft. I didn't feel up to the job so I found a guy that would pull the engine and put a new crank kit in for $1200. It ran just fine after that, or until my next problem.

While driving to work one day, I was accelerating at a stoplight and my engine just shut off. I hit the clutch and tried starting it while still coasting, but nothing. So I had to pull over and I check everything over, only to find nothing obvious. I ended up running the two miles to work and getting a friend's truck to tow it home. It was definitely the nicest car anyone has ever seen on the side of the road.

I took it to a mechanic to look at it and he found it was getting no spark, but he couldn't test any part of the ignition to be sure. That's when I towed it to yet another shop and they found it to be the crank angle sensor. This time it's costing me 700 big ones.

General Comments:

Before buying this car I drove an '88 Dodge Caravan. That thing was totally unresponsive and wanted to tip over in the turns. What a shocker this car was. My Talon jumps off the line and corners so well that I can scare myself sometimes. Having about 140,000 miles on it, it is not as fast as it once was, but in the winter I can smoke anyone with it, seeing that it has all wheel drive.

This car is more fun than any other car I've driven. With a killer system, turbo charger, and all wheel drive, it just doesn't get any better.

The car's seats are very comfortable.

It's a real head turner. It's sleek and sporty. Beautiful car.

The gas mileage isn't at all what the factory specs claim. I get about 18-21 mpg on premium fuel.

This car is not for the frugal or college-bound student (me). So far, in only 7 months, it has cost me over $2000 just to keep running, and it hasn't even been running the whole 7 months.

Overall, a very fun, very expensive car that you will love and hate at the same time. My advice: Get a low mileage Talon, or just get a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2003

12th Jun 2005, 17:00

About the gas mileage... get the car in good condition and it'll be a lot better... boost leaks are the devil.

12th Sep 2008, 16:06

You're suffering from the dreaded crank walk!

There are a pair of thrust bearings on the crank. Mitsubishi on the G2 engines reduced oil flow in that area. If at idle you (or a previous owner) rides the clutch then you will wear these bearings allowing the crank to slop back and forth.

Eventually this movement allows the crank angle sensor to get shredded by the associated plate.

Don't just replace the sensor, actually pull the crank, get it ground. And next time, at a stop light, put it in neutral, with your foot firmly OFF the clutch.

I bought my Talon in '97 and am very careful on this and still have the original clutch and angle sensor.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 89 reviews