1995 Eagle Talon Reviews - Page 14 of 21

1995 Eagle Talon ESI 2.0 DOHC 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 16v Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

This car requires more $ than your girl!

Faults:

There just seems to be problems.

Door locks "use a 15 fuse, not 10".

Timing belt slipped.

Idle pulley disintegrated.

Tensioner pulley disintegrated.

Both pulleys went at the same time..?

Electronic control unit fried itself.??

Accelerator cable would stick, allowing the car to sit at fully open!

General Comments:

This car is a blast, but you need to know her limits.

The interior is nicely laid out, but you need to be very creative.

A system in the car can deafen you if you properly install it.

I have almost spent as much $ on the purchase as I have on the repairs.

Talon's are geared higher than an Eclipse; that's why I love to race them. Guaranteed win!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

1995 Eagle Talon ESI 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carEagle Talon

Summary:

This car is a lemon and a half

Faults:

Well when I first got my car, the first thing to go wrong was the radio, it just stopped working.

Then shortly after that the alternator belt just broke right off.

So I decided to go to Pep Boys to get that fixed well, since then I've been there 3 times, because my belts keeps coming off.

My muffler is about to come off, because it is all rusted from the inside out.

My transmission is slipping, and it is just about to fall out of my car.

None of my lights come on...ex. overdrive, coolant, low battery, gas

My overdrive doesn't work at all.

I had no front brakes when I got the car, they were paper thin.

My tires were as bald as can be and still are.

I actually went under my car and saw that my front axle is bent.

There was a nail in the tire when I got the car, it looked like it was hit in with a hammer.

The spare tire couldn't fit in the trunk because the car was hit from behind, and the back was all smashed in.

The headlights, well there weren't any there.

My blinkers didn't work, and well they still don't.

But I think that is all my problems, there are probably more, I just can't think of any.

General Comments:

I have some dents on my door, and back bumper, but besides that is looks great on the outside. Just don't look in the engine, you would laugh.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2002

26th Jan 2005, 15:31

Sounds like you drove her to the ground... not good to let things go...

21st Jun 2007, 20:41

Sounds like you got a bad deal when you bought the car. hope you got it for less than 100. lol.

1995 Eagle Talon ESI 2.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carHonda CRX

Summary:

It's always been reliable, but a pain in the neck

Faults:

My car had problems from day one, starting with chipped paint, door dings and spots in between the glass of the window.

The rotors were warped at 1000 miles and it took 3 separate visits and many more miles to repair.

The rear windshield wipers quit working (while it was raining) and the motor shorted out the front wipers.

My door handle on the driver side busted off in my hand.

My "check engine" light comes on and off as it pleases, even though no repairs seem to be in order.

The "engine coolant" light came on at will, also, but levels were fine and engine was running at proper temperature. Found out later that thermostat was broke, but thankfully stuck open rather than closed.

I lost my entire transmission at 60,000 miles, seems a pin that holds spider gears in place had a hairline fracture (from manufacturer) but Chrysler failed to repair it, since it was out of warranty.

Left front headlight must have a broken seal b/c it is foggy, as if water has caused a hazy layer on the inside ($180 to replace...phew!)

Seat belts in backseat got stuck down and would not work... dealer had to repair (at only 1500 miles).

Car reeks of "rotten eggs" (almost from day one) but Chrysler insists it is poor gas... but still does it today, despite what gas I use.

General Comments:

This car has a nice design, it looks sharp on the road.

Definitely a lemon... had I known better would have turned it in under the lemon law.

Handles turns nicely, but only after having wheels and tires replaced to something more sporty and lower in profile.

Seats are terribly uncomfortable, especially at long distances, definitely not a "comfort" car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

3rd Jul 2009, 05:28

I got a 1995 ESi for $500 with 187 000 km 10 months ago. I just changed the timing belt, thermostat, and water-pump, and the car now has 218 000 km and has not had one problem with the car, and I'm an 18 year old kid too!!

23rd Nov 2009, 13:06

A car usually smells like rotten eggs when the cat is getting clogged.

5th Dec 2009, 08:23

I own 95 Talon bought for 800.00. Three days later it blew a head gasket (blew up). Rebuilt motor after machine shop did their work. Now I drive it like I stole it. Learned that 95 Explorer rims fit on the car, with minor grinding of front brake brackets. Give it a good look with 15" rims. Side window motors seem to be the problem now.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 89 reviews